We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adante Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adante Hotel to your Saves list
Adante Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$7 off lowest room rates
Ranked #166 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here on a quick business trip. Location was great. Hotel was really really old, but they are in the middle of painting and sprucing the place up. Free internet worked well. Free breakfast was pretty sad, toast or waffles. No protein and no real coffee (weird instant). Ended up grabbing something at a coffee shop before heading into my meetings. Its a value hotel, so I don't get the reviews that knock it because they don't have a bellhop. If you want that, stay at the Four Seasons or something. This was perfectly fine as a crash pad on a business trip for 2 women. We both felt our rooms were clean and safe. My only real picky thing was my room had a hot tub in the shower, and just a personal thing but I think that is a bit gross. I admit to wearing flip flops in the shower.

Getting up and down the elevator in the morning can be a bit of a trick as housekeeping is using to get up an down stairs as well and the laundry carts fill up the whole thing. The stairs weren't an option for me because I have a really bad knee, but the workers there mentioned they were thinking they'd need to put in a service elevator. Don't know if that would happen, but it would really improve the guest experience if they did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    139
    160
    78
    72
See reviews for
54
150
51
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The price tells you that you are not staying somewhere really posh, but if you are looking for a clean room and a roof over your head this is a good place to stay. We had a suite for $109 each night. Although the breakfast was only toast, frozen waffles, coffee, and OJ, it was FREE. That saved us a lot of money as we were a family of 4 staying for 3 nights. The staff was very helpful.

Location was convenient since you could walk about 4 blocks to union square and catch a nearby cable car or street car to Fisherman's Wharf. It is on the edge of the "good" part of town, so you don't want to go any further on Geary street than the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nothing wrong with the Hotel but management refuse to answer my emails and return the security deposit. Cant help feeling "RIPPED OFF"
It is considered polite to answer emails, how long does it take.
It is also polite to return security deposits in a timely manner, not make the deduction a week after I have left the city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Thanks to a huge conference at the Moscone Center, I was forced to book this hotel for a 2-night stay. The price was great, less than $100 a night. It's on the edge of the Tenderloin District, so you generally want to avoid heading south or west on Geary in the dark, but it's within reasonable walking distance to the Financial District.

The building is older, the room was small, the bed was marginally comfortable, and it had an old tube TV. But, overall it was nominal. There's no hourly rate, and there's no a "la carte menu" on the hotel room door (but there are several "massage" parlors a short walk away). As far as I could tell, no one died in my room... I think.

Like so many of these little hotels in San Francisco, if you just need a place to sleep at night, and you don't leave your valuables in your room, this place will work.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a "good room" here, try another hotel, it's not that sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is not so bad, but I would not rate as my favorite. Apparently the elevator that was criticized by many reviewers have been replaced with a modern one. The room I had was small but perfectly fine for a single traveller. Everything was clean, so no complaints.

The reason that I give only 3 out of five is the breakfast and the neighborhood. The breakfast is a joke, I really don't have high expectations, but having toast with marmalade for seven days was a bit boring. And, since breakfast is served in the relatively small hall, sometimes people even had to stand due to lacking enough chairs.
The location is not bad, but it is just one corner off where one would stay. There are a lot of crazy people around, and although you walk one minute and it is already a different world, after a week I was happy that I don't have to be around that place any more. Having said that there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel, and Union square is 5 minutes by foot.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again if this would be the cheapest option close to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Worn down place with very small rooms. Location is conveniant but I wouldnt want to bring family to this neighbourhood after dark. Paid $180 for standard Queen room for 2 nights. Not worth it, keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We paid $240 for one night in our single Queen room so I expected more. It is definitely not a boutique hotel as described. The room was tiny and decor was outdated. The wifi was absolutely horrible. It seems to be in the wrong part of Union Square, even our cab driver said our hotel was "in the hood". There are tons of homeless people begging in the area, which of course is normal in big cities like this. The upside is there are lots of restaraunts closeby and it is close to great shopping and other tourist activities. The staff was friendly, but weren't that great about giving us recommendations for things to do.
They didn't have brochures or city guides in their rooms like the other hotels that we stayed at did.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#120 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square
#163 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Opal San Francisco
#131 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#170 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Address: 610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Adante Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a premier boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theatres and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante boasts a residential influence, a romantic setting and deluxe amenities like high speed Internet in every room. The Adante Hotel's 93 guest rooms are charmingly appointed and each is adorned with original hand painted European style murals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adante Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.