We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and close to Union Square” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adante Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Adante Hotel to your Saves list
Adante Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$7 off lowest room rates
Ranked #168 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good price and close to Union Square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The price tells you that you are not staying somewhere really posh, but if you are looking for a clean room and a roof over your head this is a good place to stay. We had a suite for $109 each night. Although the breakfast was only toast, frozen waffles, coffee, and OJ, it was FREE. That saved us a lot of money as we were a family of 4 staying for 3 nights. The staff was very helpful.

Location was convenient since you could walk about 4 blocks to union square and catch a nearby cable car or street car to Fisherman's Wharf. It is on the edge of the "good" part of town, so you don't want to go any further on Geary street than the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    139
    162
    80
    72
See reviews for
55
151
51
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nothing wrong with the Hotel but management refuse to answer my emails and return the security deposit. Cant help feeling "RIPPED OFF"
It is considered polite to answer emails, how long does it take.
It is also polite to return security deposits in a timely manner, not make the deduction a week after I have left the city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Thanks to a huge conference at the Moscone Center, I was forced to book this hotel for a 2-night stay. The price was great, less than $100 a night. It's on the edge of the Tenderloin District, so you generally want to avoid heading south or west on Geary in the dark, but it's within reasonable walking distance to the Financial District.

The building is older, the room was small, the bed was marginally comfortable, and it had an old tube TV. But, overall it was nominal. There's no hourly rate, and there's no a "la carte menu" on the hotel room door (but there are several "massage" parlors a short walk away). As far as I could tell, no one died in my room... I think.

Like so many of these little hotels in San Francisco, if you just need a place to sleep at night, and you don't leave your valuables in your room, this place will work.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a "good room" here, try another hotel, it's not that sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is not so bad, but I would not rate as my favorite. Apparently the elevator that was criticized by many reviewers have been replaced with a modern one. The room I had was small but perfectly fine for a single traveller. Everything was clean, so no complaints.

The reason that I give only 3 out of five is the breakfast and the neighborhood. The breakfast is a joke, I really don't have high expectations, but having toast with marmalade for seven days was a bit boring. And, since breakfast is served in the relatively small hall, sometimes people even had to stand due to lacking enough chairs.
The location is not bad, but it is just one corner off where one would stay. There are a lot of crazy people around, and although you walk one minute and it is already a different world, after a week I was happy that I don't have to be around that place any more. Having said that there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel, and Union square is 5 minutes by foot.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again if this would be the cheapest option close to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Worn down place with very small rooms. Location is conveniant but I wouldnt want to bring family to this neighbourhood after dark. Paid $180 for standard Queen room for 2 nights. Not worth it, keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We paid $240 for one night in our single Queen room so I expected more. It is definitely not a boutique hotel as described. The room was tiny and decor was outdated. The wifi was absolutely horrible. It seems to be in the wrong part of Union Square, even our cab driver said our hotel was "in the hood". There are tons of homeless people begging in the area, which of course is normal in big cities like this. The upside is there are lots of restaraunts closeby and it is close to great shopping and other tourist activities. The staff was friendly, but weren't that great about giving us recommendations for things to do.
They didn't have brochures or city guides in their rooms like the other hotels that we stayed at did.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A simple hotel which offers standard rooms which are not very large but ok for the price we paid. Good location; only a few meters of Union Square (5 minutes walk max). The wifi didn't work, not in the lobby, not in the room. This was a shame and even after contacting the helpdesk of the supplier it still didn't work ! Only 1 elevator which was very busy during the morning hours ...Hotel offers free simple breakfast to be taken in the lobby (not very cosy) Public parking next to the hotel at a reasonable price (for SF standards)Friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#123 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#122 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel Union Square
#165 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Opal San Francisco
#130 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Union Square
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#176 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#89 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Address: 610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Adante Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a premier boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theatres and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante boasts a residential influence, a romantic setting and deluxe amenities like high speed Internet in every room. The Adante Hotel's 93 guest rooms are charmingly appointed and each is adorned with original hand painted European style murals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adante Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.