We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adante Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Adante Hotel to your Saves list
Adante Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$7 off lowest room rates
Ranked #161 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ripped off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nothing wrong with the Hotel but management refuse to answer my emails and return the security deposit. Cant help feeling "RIPPED OFF"
It is considered polite to answer emails, how long does it take.
It is also polite to return security deposits in a timely manner, not make the deduction a week after I have left the city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Thanks to a huge conference at the Moscone Center, I was forced to book this hotel for a 2-night stay. The price was great, less than $100 a night. It's on the edge of the Tenderloin District, so you generally want to avoid heading south or west on Geary in the dark, but it's within reasonable walking distance to the Financial District.

The building is older, the room was small, the bed was marginally comfortable, and it had an old tube TV. But, overall it was nominal. There's no hourly rate, and there's no a "la carte menu" on the hotel room door (but there are several "massage" parlors a short walk away). As far as I could tell, no one died in my room... I think.

Like so many of these little hotels in San Francisco, if you just need a place to sleep at night, and you don't leave your valuables in your room, this place will work.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a "good room" here, try another hotel, it's not that sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is not so bad, but I would not rate as my favorite. Apparently the elevator that was criticized by many reviewers have been replaced with a modern one. The room I had was small but perfectly fine for a single traveller. Everything was clean, so no complaints.

The reason that I give only 3 out of five is the breakfast and the neighborhood. The breakfast is a joke, I really don't have high expectations, but having toast with marmalade for seven days was a bit boring. And, since breakfast is served in the relatively small hall, sometimes people even had to stand due to lacking enough chairs.
The location is not bad, but it is just one corner off where one would stay. There are a lot of crazy people around, and although you walk one minute and it is already a different world, after a week I was happy that I don't have to be around that place any more. Having said that there is a bus stop just in front of the hotel, and Union square is 5 minutes by foot.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again if this would be the cheapest option close to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristof F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Worn down place with very small rooms. Location is conveniant but I wouldnt want to bring family to this neighbourhood after dark. Paid $180 for standard Queen room for 2 nights. Not worth it, keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We paid $240 for one night in our single Queen room so I expected more. It is definitely not a boutique hotel as described. The room was tiny and decor was outdated. The wifi was absolutely horrible. It seems to be in the wrong part of Union Square, even our cab driver said our hotel was "in the hood". There are tons of homeless people begging in the area, which of course is normal in big cities like this. The upside is there are lots of restaraunts closeby and it is close to great shopping and other tourist activities. The staff was friendly, but weren't that great about giving us recommendations for things to do.
They didn't have brochures or city guides in their rooms like the other hotels that we stayed at did.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teethgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A simple hotel which offers standard rooms which are not very large but ok for the price we paid. Good location; only a few meters of Union Square (5 minutes walk max). The wifi didn't work, not in the lobby, not in the room. This was a shame and even after contacting the helpdesk of the supplier it still didn't work ! Only 1 elevator which was very busy during the morning hours ...Hotel offers free simple breakfast to be taken in the lobby (not very cosy) Public parking next to the hotel at a reasonable price (for SF standards)Friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Brigitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly. However the rooms are horrible, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything! Our toilet over flowed around 11 pm one night and I was asked if I would like a plunger after further explanation about the extent of flooding we were offered another room 2 doors down. This was ok until very early the following morning the fire alarm started beeping on and off. I was informed it was just flat batteries. Thank god we were leaving that morning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#116 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Super 8 San Francisco/Union Squa...
#154 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#124 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill Hotel
#126 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#89 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Chinatown
Grant Plaza Hotel
Grant Plaza Hotel
#151 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Address: 610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Adante Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a premier boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theatres and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante boasts a residential influence, a romantic setting and deluxe amenities like high speed Internet in every room. The Adante Hotel's 93 guest rooms were recently updated with a sleek modern appeal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing