We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adante Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adante Hotel to your Saves list
Adante Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't waste your money!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Checked in and lobby seemed nice. Almost died in the elevator on the way up; tried charging 230$ for a euro trash hostel environment. Not safe at all... No locking windows and the doors don't even fill the door jams! Getto and after saying screw this after simply walking in and then out, they refused to refund our money ripping us off for 230$!!!! Stay at a corporate hotel in this area!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    119
    136
    67
    64
See reviews for
38
135
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a few blocks from Union square, we walked the whole city from here no problem. Yes, there are homeless people about but you are in San Francisco, there are homeless people everywhere!! You get a good feel for the real city that way and that's what travel is all about!
It's not flashy or modern but in my experience it's clean and it's a bed and shower for the night if you are simply looking for a base to explore as much of the city as possible!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is strange. It features paintings and murals of animals, all a bit garish, but amusing just the same. They certainly give the hotel character, as does the lift which is a challenging and shaky experience! Everything was highly acceptable and I would have given it a higher rating, EXCEPT that the breakfast tables were dirty and quite unpleasant. There didn't seem to be any attempt to clean them between diners.
This hotel is very central for Union Square, cable cars etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The location close to Union Square is good, but the hotel is a different story. But the price is not too steep, so I guess you just don't get more than you're paying for. And if you are out all day climbing the hills of San Francisco, do you really need a fancy and expensive hotel room?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

After reading other reviews, I was a little afraid of what I was going to encounter. Most of the reviews comment on the surrounding neighborhood. If you aren't used to big city, then the area might be a little questionable, and I would probably be a little uneasy walking around at night alone as a female. But, it is less than a block from 2 very nice 5 star hotels, so its not like it is in that bad of an area. Just industrial/downtown/big city/not clean streets. The hotel is self was fair. If you are looking for the lap of luxury, this is not it. This is a hotel that would be very easily in the double digits price wise anywhere else, but given the location its not. I would have been completely appalled at what I got for the price we paid for the room, had I not looked at a ton of other hotels in the area, and this was the best price by far. My biggest complaint is that it DOES NOT HAVE AIR CONDITIONING. It has a fan which turns off on a timer approx every hour. The room temp is fine until 2 people take a shower, blow dry hair, and iron clothes...then its sweltering and difficult to cool down.
All in all, this is a fine place to stay, are the views of the rooms good, not really, but neither are the ones in the hotel rooms that are twice as much one block down (trust us, thats where our friends stayed...a view of a wall).
Oh, and be prepared to wait for the elevator!

Room Tip: Room 701 is a handicap room (we assumed based on the bars and shower chair in the closet) and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

AVOID!!!!! Backpacker hostels are of much higher standard and heaps cheaper.

We checked in for three nights, the moment we stepped in the room we wanted to leave, but unfortunately we would still have to pay for the night, so we checked out the next day instead. The room was scruffy. Old worn furniture with laminate peeling off, broken side table lamp that has been glued together, but still with holes in places. Worn disgusting carpet, No air cond, only a ceiling fan. Windows can't be opened much so there is no natural ventilation. There was a ceiling fan above the bed, but here is the kicker, it only works when the light is on!!! Useless when you want to sleep. What a joke!

The rest of the hotel... They have a reasonably big lift, but it can only accommodate four people, there are warning signs there that you will get stuck. The free breakfast, pre-made waffles and toast... bad.

Staff was very rude! There was only a receptionist available to talk to. Apparently no manager on duty. When asking to speak to one, the receptionist phoned him or her, but would refuse to pass the phone to us. Reason why we wanted to speak to manager directly is because the receptionist wasn't passing our message across as to why we are not happy. She was a very unpleasant person who was arrogant and laughed at our suggestion that we want to complain further.

Worst hotel we ever stayed in. They charged $250 a night,I would be fine with the state of the room if it was $50 a night. Unfortunately sometimes you don't know what you're getting till you arrive at the hotel after you make a booking. We moved to another place that charged a third of that and was nice.

AVOID!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 day. The room was ok.
When i got home ( 4 days later ) I checked my bank account i got charged extra $2 from this hotel i wondering what is $2 for? I called them and a receptionist said $2 for bottle of water. What? I did not drink or take any water from the room. Are you kidding me? It's unacceptable! I need my refund! ( if i would drink, i would pay for it but i did not why i have to pay? ) and he told me to write an email then they going to check with a housekeeper. So i emailed them on wed 08/21/13 no any reply until fri 08/16/13 i emailed them again with difference email address but now no reply .. nothing.. It is possible that they did not get my both email? ..This is the way this hotel doing business? Oh! I should say
" This is the way they steal money from your pocket! "

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Address: 610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Adante Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a premier boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theatres and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante boasts a residential influence, a romantic setting and deluxe amenities like high speed Internet in every room. The Adante Hotel's 93 guest rooms are charmingly appointed and each is adorned with original hand painted European style murals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adante Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.