We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adante Hotel

Save Saved
You added Adante Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adante Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Rialto, California
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Even if its cheap they gave my room away after I booked and paid for the rooms . Had to share one room with friends we traveled with. We all shared the shower after each other and a washer fell out and the shower didnt work anymore. Didnt get compensated for anything . No sorry for giving my room away to another customer. This was the worsed hotel Ive ever seen and been in . I only booked it because Hotel.com recommented it to me because my other booking was full at another hotel . Just looking at the inside of the lobby it gets worse as u get to the elevator. If 4 adults get in it it will not move let alone may stop on its way up.The room looked very old and not in good condition. This hotel should be knocked down and replaced with a new one.HORRIBLE STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Dont do it. I warned you with my review . Dont stay at this hotel . Its a living night mare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    115
    124
    58
    60
See reviews for
35
126
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The room was larger and nicer than I normally have in similar discount San Francisco hotels. The location was convenient and I did not notice any problems with the street people. The breakfast was just minimal but okay. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The wireless worked fine even though I was on the seventh floor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

If you want to experience San Francisco the "old fashion way," then this is a great hotel. It's close to Union Square, cable cars and tasty, corner street diners. The rooms are small and I found myself taking the stairs over the elevator, but that's part of going old school. Overall, it was a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Rooms are ok. Not exactly dirty, but carpet smells really bad. The main problem is the location. Although close to some atractions, the area is really bad: dirty streets, lots of beggars, prostitutes and drug adicts around the corner. I would not stay there again, since there are plenty of nice neighborhoods in San Francisco offering hotels with similar prices. San Francisco is a beautiful city, so don't stay in such a dodgy area like Tenderloin District! I'd recommend North Beach (italian area, full of great restaurants and cafes).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deauville, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

the staff was excellent. the rooms were a bit damp. the breakfast was very scarce. but there's a great Vietnamese cafe right opposite to the main door of this hotel. rooms were generally ok, internet connection stable and free. just nothing special.

Room Tip: for additional $10 you could get a better room with Jacuzzi - but it didn't look like new (:
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I never had a proper sleep during my 3 days of my stay here. The room was awful. The room service doesn't happen on time and sometime they do forget to do it. It happened to me on the first day, I went to the manager and complained about it. He was so rude and told me I could vacate the room if I wanted to. This is the first time any hotel manager has every talked to me like this. I would definitely NOT recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. Even if it means you need to spend few more bucks, its wise to stay at the near by Marriott or Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottrop, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Cheap and friendly, rooms ok, Wallgreens close by, 5Min to Union Square (by foot), Very loud at night time, a lot of homeless people outside.
Free breakfast, nice furnishing in breakfast area, very friendly stuff. Good breakfast: Orange juice, coffee, milk, tea, cocoa, muffins, toast, jelly and butter, bananas.
A lot of breakfast possibilities close by. Gospel church SLIDE 10Min by foot.

Room Tip: Very good for this little money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adante Hotel

Address: 610 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Quality Inn At Union Square)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Adante Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adante Hotel is a premier boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco, just three blocks from Union Square, cable cars, theatres and world class fine dining. Catering to both business and pleasure travelers, the Adante boasts a residential influence, a romantic setting and deluxe amenities like high speed Internet in every room. The Adante Hotel's 93 guest rooms are charmingly appointed and each is adorned with original hand painted European style murals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Adante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adante San Francisco
Adante Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adante Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.