We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Stanford Court San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel) (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off + Free Fast Wi-Fi
Ranked #60 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2004

My financee and I stayed at the Renaissance Stanford Court (12/01 to 12/05). What a great hotel for a great price. We did priceline and paid $75/night. As soon as we arrived, the person behind the desk voluntarily upgraded us to a deluxe room. The bed was so comfortable and the bedding set was so great we want to buy the same set for home. The whole staff was simply the best. From the turn down service with chilled water at your bedside, to the complimentary town car service, you will be glad you stayed there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    491
    498
    156
    53
    34
See reviews for
194
391
68
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2004

Got this hotel for $70/night through priceline, and we were quite pleased. Room with 2 queens was very spacious, comfortable, and quiet, and service top notch. The Stanford Court will not be everyone's cup of tea--it's kind of old fashioned and the rooms and furnishings are deliberately retro, down to the pocket doors leading into the bathroom and the ancient mini tv/radio in the bath area. everything has been updated recently, but in kind of a glamourous hotel of yesteryear way. it does NOT look like a westin, at all, but i liked it quite a lot. several nice luxury touches, like the bathrobes, turndown with chocolates, free shoeshine. another plus is that on weekdays they have complimentary town car service within the city. beds were excellent and the service/lobby area were grand. it's a bit removed from the bustle of union sq, but not too far out of the way. i liked the fact that the surrounding area was quiet and not teeming with panhandlers, like some areas of union sq can be. we parked on the street nearby without any problems.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2004

I visit San Francisco twice each year and always stay at Stanford Court. The rooms vary - some are really wonderful but the others are fine - they are all in good order and well appointed. It is delightful to get your morning tea/coffee with your wakeup call and the staff is uniformly helpful and professional. My friends and I particularly like to have a first cocktail in the lovely lobby bar and the doormen and valets are always quite benevolent to my friends in terms of parking briefly in the lot right in front of the door. The location can't be beat. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2004

We stayed at the Stanford Court on 18th Sept for 4 nights, I have to say the location is very good, we did not bother with breakfast in the hotel as we knew it would be very expensive so we found a few restaurants near by which were very good value. The view from the room was exceptional but the room was looking tired and I was a little disappointed for the price we paid and the description being luxurious. The bathroom and dressing area really needed to be knocked down and re-designed, it was nice however to get tea and coffee in the mornings. I think really what you pay for this hotel is the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2004

The pluses, the Stanford Court has a great location, we had a wonderful city view from our room, and the mattress and linens were top notch. Unfortunately it went down from there. The rooms are tired looking, even though they have recently been re-painted and wallpapered, along with new rugs and drapes. The furnishings are old and tired, a cane and rattan headboard just doesn't cut it in a "luxury" hotel. Some basics like an in-room safe and mini-bar are nowhere to be found. Coke and Ice Machines are located on the 2nd floor, not very convenient. A circa 1980's TV took up half the bathroom counterspace. Bathroom and dressing areas are tired and worn. Breakfast at the restaurant is top dollar, in the $30 (with tax and tip) per person range. I guess the room rates are reasonable for San Francisco, but the hotel is need of renovation. Even the lobby and lobby bar are tired and seem like they haven't been renovated in years.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pa.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2004

Our stay at the Renaissance Stanford Court was great. The pot of coffee that comes to your room with your paper was a nice touch, as well as the heated towel rack in the bathroom. Room Service was good and they provide you with extra towels if needed. The entire staff is very helpful, and the bellmen called to check on our shuttlle to the airport. The Concierge was helpful in giving directions and restaurant ideas. The lobby lounge has a nice menu, as we had dinner there our last night.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2004

My partner and I stayed at the Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel on the Labor Day weekend 3-6 September 2004. We arrived at 9:30pm after a long flight from Australia.

On check-in, we were greeted by a very helpful clerk who said that the hotel was extremely full due to the Labor Day weekend. That meant that our preference of King Bed and Non-Smoking room could not be met, which was frustrating seeing we had requested this when booking six weeks earlier. We eventually settled on the smoking room with the King Bed, which the clerk assured us was one of the "bigger" rooms.

I can say that we were disappointed on entering the room. Whilst the smoke smell was not too bad (2 non smokers), the general quality of the room looked tired and old. The canopy over the top of the bed was broken, and our hairdryer didn't work and needed replacement.

We tried to use the in-room internet via the television, and after 2 minutes use found that it did not support Google's gmail. We had to ring and request the charge be removed from our account, and also found out that general internet would then be $2.50 for five minutes in the business centre, which we found to be very expensive.

We drank in the bar after returning from dinner on the Saturday night, and after one drink we were told the bar was closing (12:45am) despite advertising that it was opened until 2am. We were really trying to support the services of the hotel but felt let down.

The location atop Nob Hill is excellent, however the cable cars were so full that we walked a few times up and down the hills. Good exercise!

Overall, a stately hotel in its time, however the Renaissance Stanford Court really needs to lift its game if seriously aiming for the business travel and high end leisure market. If the rooms were refurbished and the facilities more accessible, we would probably stay again due to the location.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Court San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.