We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and super comfy beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Court San Francisco to your Saves list
Stanford Court San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel) (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
up to 30% off + Wi-Fi
Ranked #48 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
New York City, New York, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and super comfy beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We had one day/night to spend in San Fran and found this place as a last minute deal. Really great location in Nob Hill. Staff was super friendly and our room was perfect. Would stay again next time were in town for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our staff was very happy to hear of your comments. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    575
    166
    56
    38
See reviews for
224
467
79
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed on two consecutive Sunday nights in November and had the pleasure of having the two Seans/Shons at the front desk. I can be a demanding guest and I asked to change rooms to a quieter room the first night and they moved me upstairs and away from the streetcar noise. On the second night they new the game plan and they went out of their way to make sure I was accommodated with a nice upgrade

Many Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We are so pleased to hear of your experience with our staff. The Sean/Shon duo is instrumental to our success and we are happy about your acknowledgment! We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the first time staying at the Stanford Ct since I used to stay quite often in the early 2000's.The hotel is quite different in it's design and layout, but that is not necessarily bad. The lobby was very nice. A sleek, clean design with an open air feel. The staff were all very nice. My issue was the lack of food options for breakfast. There is a little pasty/coffee area, but the coffee was sub-par and it didn't open until 6:30am. The bar at night was nice, but almost empty both nights we were there. We felt conspicious sitting alone there so we passed on it and went to the Top of the Mark.

The rooms were spacious and bed pretty comfy. They used to room service coffee, but no more. just the standard coffee maker with really awful coffee, so we didn't even drink it. The shower head was so low I had to stoop, but that's not a huge deal.

Overall, not the hotel I remember and the lack of hustle and bustle made it seem isolated. I would likely try other hotels in the area next time I come to SF.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Overall, I thought the hotel was very nice. It was a central location and the people who worked there were very nice. My only critique would be to bring room service back. They have a built-in restaurant, but no room service, which I found surprising.

Food that I had was good at the restaurant. Rooms were great. Loved the bed! So comfortable. And overall, you get the feel of a premier hotel for a cost that won't burn a hole in your wallet.

I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for it up front. I always recommend asking the person checking you in if there are any other opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is a beautiful, sizable boutique hotel on Nob Hill. The public areas are especially nice, with a number of free computers and lots of seating of all kinds. My room was of a good size for a solo trip. The shower was easy to use, and there was a lot of counter space. Although the room had lovely sheer curtains, I would have preferred heavy drapes instead; they would have helped with the noise from the street, blocked the morning sun, and added some privacy. Service is very good. There is currently no restaurant, but there are many choices nearby. This hotel is at the intersection of the Powell and California Street cable car lines, which is fantastic, because without a ride, it's an extremely steep walk up to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I would definitely stay here again, very nice hotel and I enjoyed 4 nights here. The room was larger than expected since many hotel rooms in SFO are cramped. Very clean room with a nice desk and comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean as well with tile and granite, but the shower head was a bit low for me (I'm 5'9").
Staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. I liked that they have 6 computers in the lobby for anyone to use and the hotel wi-fi was fast and reliable. I used the gym nearly every morning, it was clean and the equipment is all in really good condition. They also have a bowl of apples and some headphones there in case you need them.
The location has beautiful views, the only down side is that if you're walking it's at the very top of the hill at Powell and California streets. Going down is easy enough, but if you can't get a cab or jump on the cable car, it's a pretty good hike up to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a nice, clean, moderately upscale hotel. I love the location on Nob Hill as it is central to where I need to get in SF. The staff was friendly, the rooms are comfortable (albeit some are quite small), and the amenities are nice (towel warmers, Gloss toiletries, extremely comfortable beds, ample outlets).

The restaurant dining was limited and the area has many options if you are willing to walk a few city blocks. Your only off-site options within two blocks are also in hotels like the Fairmont or Mark Hopkins. Not a big deal for me, because I'd rather explore all the foodie sites SF has to offer than hotel food anyway.

We did have one minor billing issue upon checkout, but it was resolved promptly and courteously upon inspection.

Room Tip: If you are noise-sensitive, get an inner courtyard facing room. If you don't mind a little cable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Court San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.