We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise in a premier location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Court San Francisco to your Saves list
Stanford Court San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel) (Nob Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in a premier location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Stanford Court in August 2013. It was our first stay at the hotel and it was a pleasant surprise. Our room was spotless and had a stunning viewing looking down to the bay. The location on Nob Hill can't be beat with Chinatown, cable cars and restaurants only steps away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    659
    186
    62
    43
See reviews for
270
548
93
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Selva Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for an Orange Friday SF Giants night game, and traveling to and from the game was really easy. We enjoyed the hotel's location, as we also ate outside the Ferry Building.

Our room was quiet, richly decorated, and the beds were the most comfortable imaginable!
The views from our room were spectacular, as we could see the bay.

We enjoyed some drinks in the bar in the lobby area with some friends after the game, and the atmosphere was very relaxing.

During our stay, all staff treated us with friendliness, and immediate attention! If you needed a taxi, they would get one for you. Everyone seemed genuinely nice and friendly.

We would highly recommend the Stanford Court Hotel in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noank, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Our three night stay cost over 2K as the Oracle and Americas Cup were happening. Lower priced rooms were not available. The upside is that the Powell/California cable car was right outside the door. China town was down the hill. The room was spacious, two sinks in bathroom. Everything was lovely. Car park was 57 a night. Hey, you can't do this everyday. But glad we had the chance to see the lovely city. The SC had very helpful concierge, and bell men. Bar tenders were attentive. Breakfast cafe was handy with limited choices, but fit the bill. If you can afford it- great location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Stanford Court Hotel as we were attending a Giants game & didn't want to drive the long distance home. From the Car Attendant to the Doorman & the staff at the Registration desk, everyone was so friendly AND smiling showing us that they obviously like their jobs. The hotel is so close to the cable car line you can just hop on outside & off we went to the Ferry Bldg.
Our room was very well appointed & spotless. The bed was very comfortable & the pillows & bedding outstanding!! Breakfast is prepared fresh and we had the Quiches & they were delicious.
We will definitely return to this hotel as it was truly a wonderful experience, and the location couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and heard absolutely no noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I booked the Stanford Court through Priceline Express Bookings. We usually stay right in Union Square. I was a littler nervous because of some of the not so positive reviews and the distance to Union Square.

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. From Marit at the front desk to the maint engineer who fix our AC.

It was nice to be away from the noise of Union Square. Don't forget to check out the Tonga Room across the street.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting The Stanford Court on a recent business trip. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the lobby is tastefully appointed. Breakfast foods are available in the mornings, I enjoyed different selections on each day. The hotel is located at the intersection of cable car lines, providing easy access to all parts of San Francisco. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sur, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A good hotel, very well situated for enjoying the city atmosphere and near highlight spots in walking distances . Very nice people working in the hotel and helping you,specially Audrey, in reception, and Raul, the doormen. Comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Court San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.