We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Court San Francisco to your Saves list
Stanford Court San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel) (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off + Free Fast Wi-Fi
Ranked #48 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I used to stay here on business trips; it soon became one of my favorites. Happy to say little has changed since Renaissance took it over. Still the same attentive service, particularly from the concierge. Still the nicely appointed rooms and welcoming, comfortable lounge. Still expensive!
This time as a tourist I paid more attention to the location, which I found to be a pleasant surprise.
My wife and I like to walk! Had only one meal here, breakfast. The oatmeal was excellent.
For a less expensive breakfast, try Rosanne's, three blocks down on Powell.

Room Tip: We like the rooms facing east. Noise of the cable car affirms you're in SF. No noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    563
    164
    55
    38
See reviews for
218
461
78
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel is very well situated right in the heart of the city, on top of the famous Nob Hill, where everything started here for San Francisco History and Development. Nearby, at walking distance, is the City Cathedral, Union Square, Cable car museum and also Chinatown. Very good rooms, very nice and helpful staff. Nice view over the city from here. The breakfast was awesome, but you have to pay separately for it. A little bit expensive at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the typical hotel that has nothing to mention. A very normal one, with high price. Do not park your car in the Hotel, they will really surprise you with the price tag. Normal service and many people going around. Other hotels in San Francisco are a better choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel,excellent location,make sure you have strong legs for the steep hills cause cable cars are always full,15 dollars for a glass of wine in the bar is almost as steep as the hill,got a lovely room with an amazing view of the city and a great comfy bed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

One can't start from a much better location for exploring SF: a few blocks to Union Square (although almost equally much vertical feet), Nob Hill, and Chinatown. North Beach (Little Italy) also less than 10 minutes by foot. The Cable Car Museum is all but next door.

The rooms are small as it is typical for older properties, but have a certain charm and are nicely equipped. Had a "view" to the courtyard, Not much to see, but quiet.

Only disappointment was that the hotel was unable to sell me stamps or mail a letter. I was told to head to the Fairmont Hotel gift shop up the hill (which was closed). I did not know that it has become that exotic to want to mail something. Bell man had BART schedules handy and was helpful, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed athe the Stanford Court on June 23th for one night. Check in was easy and although my room was not quite ready, it was soon thereafter. We got a run of the house room with King Bed. Still had partial view on 7th floor.

The bed was very comfortable and the A/C was quiet and efficient. We did not eat at the hotel but cocktail service was good albiet a bit expensive. Ice tea was $4 a glass. I would stay again in a hartbeat!

Checkout was easy and they gave you plenty of time to check out. Car service to the airport in a new GMC SUV was $60 and ready when we were

All in all a nice place to stay but at a moderate price. California street is hard to beat!

Room Tip: High rooms have less street noise. There is a happy Hour with some drinks reduced. Right at the cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jupiter FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

After checking in I was put in a room on the first floor on the Powell Street side -it was like the cable car was in the room with me. I called down to change rooms and was on hold for over 5 minutes waiting to talk to the front desk and no one ever pick up again after I wad told" Hold I am helping a guest " anyway I grabbed my bags and went down to the front desk and changed rooms to one that faced the interior court - much better from a noise perspective. average rooms - though I was happy with the amount of outlets form my gadgets I needed to charge- easy to find and plenty - which tends not yo be the case in most hotel rooms - a nice touch in our tech savvy world these days. The club lounge was nice and the choices for breakfast were enough with eggs - hot and hard boiled and oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, and pastries and cereal, plus coffee and juices. There is a business center as well. It's in a central but not overly touristy spot but there was not a lot of character here on the inside - just another chain hotel. Next door is the Inter Continental which has a bar on the top floor- Top of the Mark that has great views from a very high spot in the city.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep well - ask for a room on a high floor or facing the interior courtyard -this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Otel, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Court San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.