We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall with one minor negative point” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Court San Francisco to your Saves list
Stanford Court San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel) (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
up to 30% off + Wi-Fi
Ranked #46 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good overall with one minor negative point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very nice, the staff excellent, the rooms were spacious and the bed very comfortable. The negative point: the noise. My room was facing onto an alley which had trucks reversing and making deliveries and collecting garbage from 5am onwards. Also, the air conditioning was very very loud.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Anon809,

Thank you for your comments. I can not wait to share your kind words with our staff. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences you faced during your stay with the noise in the room. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    576
    166
    56
    38
See reviews for
225
467
79
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Traveled here on business. Enjoyed the walk to the convention center each day. The return is up hill and good exercise. The hotel is located near a few nice restaurants and some shopping although it's necessary to walk a bit to get to more options. Food in restaurant was very well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Cdoctor2,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the walk everyday as most people dread walking back up to the hotel. It definitely is a great opportunity to get your exercise each day. I really appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

"Rochelle" welcomed us on our arrival and what a welcome. Warm, not overboard, just plain old friendly, informative and made us feel at home, not fake at all. This didn't change, all throughout the hotel, we received nothing but understated old fashioned genuine service, from the bar to the housekeeping staff.
We upgraded at check in to the presidential suite, although a little rough around the edges, the view was great and we watched the sunset and sunrise everyday. The room was quirky, old English gentleman style, roomy and everything you need (except the awful red tv cabinet) we had a really good night sleep in the marshallowy bed . housekeeping done a good job and the room was always very clean, they did keep forgetting our complementary water and toiletries, but delivered them on request. Drinks in the bar appeared expensive, but the wines were served in a Mini carafe and worked out to be 2 glasses and really good quality, with the service they are well worth staying home for. Try the lemon soufflé pancakes for breakfast - you may want to share a portion. I recommend this hotel to those unpretentious people who appreciate good service and understated luxury in a perfect location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Cliff70,

Thank you for your comments. I really appreciate you adding your experience. I can not wait to share your kind words with Rochelle. I am so glad you got to try our lemon soufflé pancakes as well. They are a must have if you get the chance. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

All I can say is wow! We have travelled extensively throughout the world and stayed at all range of hotels but usually upper end like the Ritz. This hotel, hands down, has the best service I have encountered. It was unbelievable without being overboard. Whoever hires/manages/trains the staff at this hotel should be running the company. The Ritz could learn a thing or two about service from this hotel.

First, the manager at the front desk was amazing. I cannot remember his name, a younger gentleman with a goatee. He was incredibly helpful and called us by name during our entire 5 day visit.

Second, the concierge was unbelievable. Ric really knows his stuff, was helpful at every turn and was even two steps ahead when our flight got cancelled helping us rebook, reschedule our car, etc. How nice is it to have a concierge that knows his job, likes his job and is really helpful!

Third, the restauraunt staff and the chef were so warm and friendly. Helpful and provided good food during our stay. The housekeepers were smiling, friendly and always said hello.

Fourth, the hotel itself is very nice and well located. The hotel is modern and well appointed. The rooms are nicely decorated with a very inviting feel. The rooms were impeccably clean and service was great. We had a courtyard view room which made it quiet and nice. The outside rooms may even have a nice view of the city and bay. The hotel is right at the top of nob hill and just outside the front door is the x marks the spot where the cable cars cross. This makes it so easy to get wherever you want to go: Fishermans's Wharf, Union Square, Chinatown. Perfect. And if the cable cars are not running you get a little exercise.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. A modern, clean, nice, warm, friendly and knowledgeably staffed hotel in the heart of the city. We would absolutely, definitely both stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone who is visiting San Francisco.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a courtyard room. It will be very quiet. If you want a view ask for an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Travelleraroundthewo

Thank you so much for all of the positive feedback. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have such great staff at our hotel. Ric is truly a gem of the hotel. He takes pride in knowing everything San Francisco has to offer. I greatly appreciate you adding your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

You can't beat the central location of this property. Right on Nob Hill, it was an easy walk to Chinatown and Union Square. With two cable car lines meeting next to the hotel, you could get to all the destinations you'd wish with ease. I stayed with a friend at this hotel for two nights, and had a wonderful experience. Our room was clean, fresh, and beautiful. Because I am a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, I was upgraded to a junior suite. We had so much room; it was a great value for a hotel in a major city like San Francisco. When we were pressed on time during dinner, our waiter downstairs quickly brought us our entrees and our check without missing a beat. The concierge was essential in helping us decide how to get to a concert we were attending in the quickest way possible.

If you are looking for a four star experience in San Francisco, I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear jlhcorley,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to Marriott being a Platinum member. I greatly appreciate you adding your experience with us. I am so glad to hear how helpful our staff was in accommodating you during your stay with us. I cannot wait to share your kind words with our staff. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I went to SF for a weekend away. The service was great - from a bellman to front desk staff and housekeeping, everyone was always smiling and very courteous. The hotel facility seems like it was recently renovated, so i had no complaints. The rooms look small in the pictures, but when we actually check in, we were surprised at how roomy it was (king bed room). The location of the hotel can be described as GREAT or BAD, depending on how you view it. It is great because there is a cable car stop right in front of the hotel. It can be considered as bad because it is located on one of the steepest hill in SF. With frequent breakdown of cable cars, you may end up walking up/down the hill (which we ended up doing with our luggage). However, other than the steep hill, it's really close to all the shopping and restaurants.

Overall I'm glad we stayed at stanford court. We had a very good time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear jojo0215,

Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. I completely understand that the hills can be challenging. The cable cars are a great option considering you can catch all three just footsteps from our door. I cannot wait to share your kind words with our staff. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The location of this hotel can't be beat. Right in the heart of Nob Hill, way up on a hill with views of the Bay Bridge, Grace Cathedral, this hotel is great for someone wanting to explore SF. The room is small but clean and modern and comfortable. You'll of course pay for the location but its worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_REN_SF, Front Office Manager at Stanford Court San Francisco, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Hanibatutu,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very fortunate to be so centrally located on Nob Hill. We encourage all of our guests to get out and discover something wonderfully new. I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Court San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.