We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where you must stay in San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Court San Francisco to your Saves list
Stanford Court San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel) (Nob Hill)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ada, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Where you must stay in San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Over the years, I have always thought fondly of this hotel, which a company I worked for in the 1970s was instrumental in creating out of a office building. What is nice about the place is that it was redeveloped by a master developer with extremely experienced consultants. That means that nothing was left to chance, Even now, the lighting and amenities ( a fountain under a stained glass covered couryard in the arrival area), beautiful rooms ( the junior suite is a great deal for anyone planning to stay a week or so), the lovely arched entrance and everything. There is also a very good world class restaurant with great dishes tuned into northern california culture ( the lamb is prefect every time).
The best thing, not immediately apparent, is that you are on the top of nob hill, at a street car ( trolley) intersection, and you avoid all of the complications of shall we say, increasingly larger hordes of people groups below knob hill on union square. You are right across the street from the Fairmont and near the Mark Hopkins, places where you less discerning friends will be staying at.

Room Tip: try the junior suite. There are only five of them or possibly 10 in the plan for the hotel.rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    660
    187
    63
    43
See reviews for
271
550
93
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location, from the airport it is about a 50 dollar cab ride, I was greeted warmly by the front desk, and proceed to my room.

Many reviews have said the rooms were small, but mine was very large and nice! I guess it depends on where they place you.

When I looked out my window I can see the bay in the distance ( see photo) and then I could see the trolley cars. It was very cool to hear the trolley cars at first. However, the big downside about my room with the view was the street noise from the trolley cars and the traffic. That was a BIG downside of my room. Beyond that my room was VERY nice, clean, modern, large, and comfortable.

I did eat at the restaurant , honestly GO OUT!!! Its not that great, not bad, just not great. I was just too tired to go for a walk.

The location is good, you are literally 5 minutes from China Town and 10 minutes from Union Square. Its a walk down the hill, the downside is the walk UP the hill. The hills are a killer, I took a cab back :)

My only main complaint was the concierge, was not the best. He didn't really have any good research on the city, I would encourage you to research places to eat/sights to do before you come.

The hotel is great, nice location, clean, and I would recommend it,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The history of the hotel (and the area/Nob Hill) adds to the ambiance of this place. The hotel is very quaint, very welcoming and comfortable. The staff was awesome. The woman that checked me in actually walked to my room with me to verify it had been cleaned (I checked in early). She gave me the history of the hotel and the other hotels in the immediate area. The rooms were comfy and not too huge. The size isn't an issue. In fact I don't like over sized rooms-what's the point? Wasted space. The Aveda ammenities are nice to have as well. I didn't have any issues with noise as I was facing the inside (not the street). Sure, no view here but it was quiet. Parking was fine. It's also within walking distance to some great restaurants and coffee shops etc. Then again, pretty much every place in San Fran is a "good location". I really like being up on the hill. The ONLY reason I did not give this five stars was because I did not have the opportunity to eat/drink. I plan on staying here again and will be sure to enjoy the restaurant. Great place to stay! Easy to find/get to, and really comfortable with GREAT staff.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise request a room that doesn't face the street. No view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After much research, we decided on the Stanford Court mostly for it's location. The club level room was nicely appointed, but definitely on the small side for 3 people (we had a roll away for our son in addition to the king bed). Club level offerings were plentiful for breakfast- oatmeal, bagels, pastries, fresh fruit, along with juices and coffee/tea. The lounge itself was so pleasant-very bright with beautiful city vistas, and lots of tables and comfortable chairs. The afternoon snacks and honor wine bar featuring some great California wines was worth the upcharge in rates.

The close proximity to the Cable Cars was one of the reasons we chose this hotel, and it was fun to see them right out the window. It was also a quick walk to great shopping and dining down the hill to Union Square.

The parking charges were a little steep, but equivalent to any other big city. Valet and bell staff were very courteous and quick.

This is a solid choice in a city with many hotel offerings. Give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ok, the hotel isn't cheap. But it is 4*. We were upgraded as we were on honeymoon to an end king with some view of the bay.
Beds were super comfy and room was spacious. Service great, as always with Marriott.
Short distance to central city and cable car stop is right outside!
Food and drink is pricey but good at the hotel but lots of other options locally. Our tip book seven hills restaurant one eve, it is amazing and roll up one lunch yank sing for manic dim sum experience.
Get a muni pass to ride bus, trolley and cable cars lots more cheaply. $21 for 3 days unlimited or $6 one way without. Book Alcatraz in advance and Hearst Castle if you're planning to travel down the coast as we were turned away due to tour groups!
There is only free wifi in the lobby here, it's $15 per day for room access, standard for Marriott. No iPod docking station but a radio/cd alarm.
The free cucumber and strawberry fresh water in the lobby is a nice touch.
It's chilly in sf so take layers and a jacket (waterproof or umbrella) temp varied between 20 and 9 when we were there.
Overall a great quality stay, with guaranteed Marriott standards. We had a great time and a good stay here.


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have been visiting this hotel at least yearly since its opening around 1972. The hotel was at one time a mansion which was elaborately converted into a hotel. In its early days of operation the hotel was considered by travel magazines as one of the top luxury hotels in the USA. It has changed hands and , I believe, even chains, and has been renovated but not to the original luxury standards.
Still, the location, on Nob Hil,l is hard to beat. The street outside intersects all cable car lines, two Union Square to the Wharf routes and the California street cars. It is also near convenient bus lines and is easily accessible to most sites by taxi.
Rooms are still very nice and service remains at a high level. Outside rooms have magnificent views and the cable car bells and track can be heard during cable car operating hours, The cars do not run late at night. Personally, I find the cable car sounds are not obtrusive but add to the charm.

Room Tip: Outside rooms, especially 7th or 8th floor, have better views. Those concerned about cable car soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Me and My husband stayed here in August.
We had a beautiful large 'standard' room, with a king bed a huge telly, a separate sink area including an iron, board, hairdryer and coffee making facilities and a large bathroom with bath and shower.
The room its self had a large window which looked on to an internal courtyard, it did not bother us as we didn't stay in the room much.
The room and hotel were cleaned daily and we had no issues. Clean towels every day.

The breakfast in the hotel is reasonable. It cost us about $30 everywhere we ate so it was fair priced.

It is about half a mile from the main shopping and restaurant area in San Francisco. The walk back is quie steep but manageable or you could jump on a trolley which will take you up the hill for about 3$.

PS take warm clothes, San Francisco isn't as warm as we thought!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Court San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.