We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Hill, in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stanford Court San Francisco to your Saves list
Stanford Court San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel) (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
up to 30% off + Wi-Fi
Ranked #47 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Top of the Hill, in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Older property, lovely and updated tastefully and luxuriously! Beautiful lobby, rooms and club lounge with fantastic city view.

Anna, the evening manager (?) in the Club lounge was absolutely AMAZING. Truly understands the concept of EXTREME hospitality! Morning fellow did not--did his job that is all. But Anna went above and beyond to make sure we were welcome and it truly did feel like a "club"!

This property has an exceptional Concierge, "Ric" who is one of the famous golden key "chefs d'or"--he knows about it all and his wisdom and understanding of our wants and budget was amazing.

Desk staff checking in was superb. Doormen lovely. Really, everyone, save the morning duty in the club lounge was above and beyond our high standards!!

Location is terrific, right on the trolley line---but if you prefer to walk, take comfortable shoes for walking back UP the hill!!

Room Tip: A higher floor. If you do not want to hear the pleasant bell of the trolley, request an inside court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    571
    166
    56
    38
See reviews for
224
465
79
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and loved it. The location on Nob Hill means you can walk to great restaurants (but seriously do not make the mistake I did and wear heels...the hills are no joke). It is across from the fairmont and next to the intercontinental. Breakfast is so freaking expensive (in $20 range) BUT is worth it...the lemon ricotta souflee pancakes with raspberry sauce are delectable and they give you the recipe. Another favorite was the dungeoness crab eggs benedict. The service was great. The rooms are on the small side. $50 per night for parking sucks, but the rates at other hotels are comparable. Our view was ok but not spectacular. Location on cable car line is very convenient. We didnt drive anywhere. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here on Marriott points, so I can't speak to the value. Altho we have previously stayed near by at the Mark Hopkins.

First: location for touists is great. Near 2 cable car lines - Powell & California. Walking distance to China Town, & Union Sq. Very safe neighborhood.

Hotel is modern with bar, nice happy hour with small plates. A breakfast that sounded good (altho we never went)...noty your microwaved buffet stuff. A REAL breakfast. Nice wines. Workout room was larger than most...maybe 8+ cardio (elipitical, bike, treadmill), a cable weight machine, free weights, about 6 weight machines. All in good working order. Staff was very helpful...and they have a great Google-like interactive touch screen map in the lobby (about 3 feet by 5 feet) which was great for seeing where you wanted to go.

Down side: We were in room 511. It was QUITE small. I have plenty of experience in big U.S. city hotels and know the rooms are small. But the problem here was bad design: no towel bars near sink for hand towels...furniture in bedroom was too big (in room coffee pot & cups were stored under nite stand...which took me awhile to find). No safe. Pluses: reading lights by bed!! Both regular lamp & small pin point halogens! Iphone / radio at bed side. Several outlets for charging on desk. Nice shower head.

But WHY was the side chair SO BIG?? I bumped my hip bone several times just getting around the cabinet with TV/mini bar to get to bedroom. And flat screen tv is at a 90 degree angle from the bed. Not sure one could actually see it from the bed. Diidn't see a swivle...but maybe it's there.

Maybe our room was small cuz we were on points?? Dunno. But otherwise the hotel was great. We were only there 2 nights and didn't spend much time in hotel so it was fine.

Would we go back? Maybe...depending on points and price

Room Tip: one side of bldg faces California street and one side faces Powell. Both have cable cars that run u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. I had researched TA reviews in advance on most of the top three dozen hotels. I concluded that Nob Hill was where we wanted to be based on those reviews. Of the handful of hotels, I chose the Stanford Court for several reasons. First, it was the highest ranked on TA. Second, of the big names, it was the least expensive (the others being the Ritz, Intercontinental Mark Hopkins, and the Fairmont). Third, I kept reading two consistent things: it was clean; and the staff were friendly and helpful. Both of those aspects were proven correct during our stay. I was especially impressed by the concierge, whom were very engaging and eager to offer advice and answer questions, no matter how trivial or complex. The room was clean as well. A couple of surprises included the lounge, which was top notch and had great local brews on tap (as well as good appetizers, cocktails, and a wine list). We did not eat a full-blown meal here because we had other meal plans, but I would have no reservations dining here as the service and food quality of the appetizers were great. Also, the rooms and halls were very quiet during our stay. You could get anywhere via cable car as all three lines converged in front of the hotel. The cable cars were a bit less frequent than I had envisioned (about every 20 - 25 minutes) and occasionally quite full, but we were always able to board. We were able to walk all the way back from the Embarcadero to the hotel (just once - very steep the last two blocks). China Town is two blocks east. If you walk two blocks east, turn right and go south a half block, pop into the Peony Reflexology Spa and get a foot massage. Very fun and relaxing. We also walked to Union Square three blocks downhill. Catching cable cars back up the hill (Powell Street) is a bit more difficult, but is only $6.00 for a taxi. The Tonga room across the street in the Fairmont is a fun excursion for a cocktail as well.

The only negative I had is the carpet in the hallways need replaced. I had seen that in a few reviews and thought that seemed a bit over-zealous in a TA review, but when you see them, you'll immediately think "ugly carpet trophy winner". They are not only an awful yellow, but they appear dirty and in need of replacement. Certainly did not detract from our stay, but they did stick out like a sore thumb in an otherwise very well maintained hotel.

I'd stay here again if I returned which is the real test of a hotel. Thanks Stanford Court for a very nice stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

There are many hotel choices in San Francisco and I believe this one has two advantages, very good rooms and a great location on Nob Hill. We have stayed here twice because of the large rooms at reasonable rates and the great location. The location at California and Powell streets gives one easy access to all of San Francisco via the cable car system, which is outside the front door. The outside rooms have great views of the city and bay, while the inside rooms over look the inside court. The rooms we have stayed in here were large and very well appointed with many good features and the bathroom is also very large. The service is always good with very helpful staff. All in all a very good hotel experience that we will use again. A TIP about the cable cars, with the California St. line and Powell St. line at the hotel's front door, they can be expensive to use at 6 dollars a trip, so walk down Powell St. to the Walgreens drug store and get a 3 day Muni Passport for 21 dollars, which you can use on the Muni system cable cars and street cars. Even if your in San Fransisco for 2 days, do the math, it's still a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Another stop in this lovely hotel on top of San Francisco.
My room this trip has just one bed but ample room to move around and relax. Large desk in the corner, big TV which can be seen from any angle of the room and lots of storage space within the bathroom area, which has large marble basin and separate loo and bath/shower area, which can be neatly closed off via sliding doors.
Decor has recently been updated and generally has a crisp modern feel - my only concern is the hotel's corridor carpet. Bright yellow with large coloured spots! Umm not sure who's idea that was...? Also it is already looking warn in places and mixed with the peach walls ruins an otherwise great refit.
This hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of the city where you can walk down in any direction to get to where you want to be, only advice, save some energy (or the fare ride!) for the walk back up!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is located in a prime area which is close to Chinatown, Union Square and not far from the Embarcadero and the Ferrys.We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and found most of the staff to be helpful. There was one episode with the concierge where his attitude was less than helpful, but the doormen, bell men and the other conceirge Ric were helpful and polite. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. TV was a nice size and the bathroom was fine. The one thing that really bothered us was there was no free wifi anywhere in the hotel, not even in the business center. That was annoying. We were looking forward to eating in the restaurant that was shown online that overlooked the street and was glass enclosed only to find out that it was closed and not being used anymore. Small exercise room. Overall the place was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Court San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.