We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standford Court exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanford Court San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Stanford Court San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanford Court San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel) (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off + Free Fast Wi-Fi
Ranked #60 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Standford Court exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Had never been to San Francisco, and booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratiings, the location, and the cost, which was the most reasonable I could find in the desired area. The accommodations were even nicer than I expected. Our standard two-bed room, Room 760, was spacious and lovely, and at check-in they made a point of putting us on the quiet, or courtyard, side of the building. Still heard the occasional cable car or elevator bell, but that didn't disturb. All the staff we encountered were gracious and helpful, in particular the concierges Their restaurant recommendations were spot on. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant, and though pricey it was exceptional. If you're planning to use public transportation to get around, you can't beat the location. The cable car lines converge here, and it's in walking distance of Chinatown.

Room Tip: Room 760 was quiet, spacious, lovely, and in any room you can't beat Marriott/Renaissance beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    498
    156
    53
    34
See reviews for
194
390
68
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights on 7th April 2012 with my husband and parents. Really nice hotel. Great service, rooms are not very big but a lovely, comfortable queen size bed and very clean overall. My main advice is that, whilst the hotel itself does not disappoint, be prepared for the fact that it is located on the top of a VERY VERY steep hill which is not for the faint-hearted! Walking down is not a problem, but walking back up the hill is not easy and my parents could not manage it (they are in their 70's). The location of the hotel is great as it is only a short walk down the hill to Union Square and it is also right on the tram line to Union Square and Fisherman's wharf. We only used the tram once as the $6 cost for a one-way ride meant it was cheaper for the 4 of us to get a taxi (although you can purchase 1/3/7 day tram passes which is better value). Had it just been myself and my husband we would have walked to places more often. The other thing I would like to pre-warn you of is that upon check-in we were informed that, in addition to the cost of the two rooms, $500 per room would be held on our credit/debit card for the duration of our stay to cover incidentals. I was very unhappy at this because there was no mention of this in the booking confirmation I had received. When I raised this point I was told that it is common in the USA for hotels to do this. I pointed out that we didn't have a spare $1000 on a debit/credit card to be held for both rooms, that this would now be eating into our spending money for the trip and felt it was very unfair to not mention this in the booking confirmation. Had no choice but to pay it which was quite a stressful start to our holiday. Other than this hiccup, we had a great stay at the hotel and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If your room is overlooking Powell you will here the bells of the trams throughout the day and eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I previously wrote a review of this hotel. I liked this hotel and was willing to stay here again, but found out one additional piece of information which could may your stay better.

First, the basics: This is a very nice hotel with clean rooms, comfortable beds, full service, a nice bar, a great staff and, as is the Renaissance standard, Aveda bath products.

On my first stay, I had a room with the bathroom to the side, which meant the door to the hallway was a few feet from the bed, without a sound buffer. Hallway noises were a problem. This time, I was given Room 635, which had a better layout. When you walked into the room, there was a long, narrow bathroom which ran the full length of the room, creating a buffer between the bed area and the hallway. The noise problem was non-existent in this room. Make sure you get this room type, rather than the other.

The view from this room was quite nice. You could see all the way to the bay.

As I walked down the hall, I could tell which people were in the other room type. Their conversations could be heard in the hallway.

One odd thing which isn't really a problem, but was humorously odd... Upon exiting the elevator, there is a sign instructing which way to go for which room. Rooms 601-633 had an arrow pointing one direction, while the other instructed to rooms 636-659. At first I figured 635 must be right there, but it wasn't. I finally realized that because 635 was equidistant in both directions, there was not directional information. (There was no Room 634.) So while I recommend the X35 rooms, just know you'll be on your own to find it after exiting the elevator.

Room Tip: Room 635 was a winner for me. (See Review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed for a week in mid April with my wife and two early teen daughers on points. My request for a room with two queen beds was honored and the room was large and big enough as you don't want to spend too much time in it in a city like San Francisco. Others have written about having a need to be on the inner courtyard versus the street side due to cable car noise, but I don't think this matters one way or the other if you close your windows to sleep at night.

Had access to exec lounge on 6th floor and the breakfast was good / decent for all. Gets busy around 7:30 to 8:30 AM but otherwise is not crowded. The dessert hour in the early evening was dissappointing as all that is offered is some cookies and no special cakes etc.

There is a very good gym on the first floor - free weights, nautilus equipment, plenty of cardio equipment, stretching area, stretching balls.

Location is great to shopping in Union Square, access to Financial District and even walking distance to North Beach (little Italy). Recommend Uncle Vito's for good italian food in a no nonsense setting and the Sears Family Restaurant nearby.

The staff were excellent throughout. On Thursday nights they have a two person "band" play accoustical mixed music in the lobby bar. Will stay here again. Only reason for not scoring 5 stars is that it is not a 5 star hotel with all of the typical ammenities that a 5 star property carries, but there is no fault with this property at all. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room facing Califiornia street will have view and cable car noise. Room facing Powell street will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while visiting San Fran for the first time for 4 days. The location proved to be excellent as it was an easy walk down the hill to Union Square for shopping and dining (although not so easy of a walk up the hill to go home if you don't want to take the cable car). It was also a nice scenic cable car ride over to Fisherman's Wharf and a quick walk to Chinatown. The service was excellent at the Stanford Court, they even brought us a mini fridge for our room. We also found that down by Union Square there tends to be a lot of people begging for money on th streets but up on Nob Hill there were none. My only complaint was that the rooms were very small, although it is an older building and in a downtown area, so that is probably typical. I think the views and location made up for the small rooms.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper don't stay on the cable car side of the building. I enjoyed the view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Stsnford while attending a conference. Having also stayed at the
Mark Hopkins in the past, this hotel compares very favorably. The lobby area is nicely done with lots of marble and a huge gilt mirror. Service was attentive and courteous. The rooms were very quiet (asked specifically for this), the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom area was easy to use, both in terms of space for toiletries and lighting. Walking up Nob Hill can be daunting, but taxis were easy to find. Easy walk to all the major department stores and boutiques.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The hotel upgraded us and the room we got was stunning, on the 7th floor with beautiful views of the city! Staff are excellent. Hotel is in a great location & would definitely return here!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stanford Court San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Court San Francisco

Address: 905 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Formerly Renaissance San Francisco Stanford Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Court San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanford Court San Francisco is fresh, fashionable and at the center of everything savvy visitors want to see and do. Enjoy sweeping views of the city, the bay and the majestic Golden Gate Bridge from our convenient location atop historic Nob Hill. Discover the best of San Francisco's charm and character while enjoying our contemporary boutique hotel as your home base.An ideal location, we are conveniently situated in Nob Hill close to premier shopping, dining, and attractions in Union Square. We are steps to the historic cable cars, a short walk to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the Ferry Building.393 newly-renovated rooms and suites, offering cool, contemporary accommodations. Three cable car lines running directly in front of the hotel, waiting to whisk you to San Francisco’s hottest neighborhoods and landmarks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Stanford Court San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Stanford Court Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance Hotel San Francisco
Renaissance San Francisco
San Francisco Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanford Court San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.