We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great happy hour special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frjtz

Frjtz
590 Valencia St, San Francisco, CA 94110 (SoMa)
(415) 863-8272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,035 of 4,919 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Belgian, Bistro, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: 17th St
Transit: 16th street Bart
Description: The taste of Benelux in the heart of the mission. Belgian frites with over 22 dipping sauces, 6 types of steamed mussels, amazing crepes, daring salads and succulent burgers, Frjtz is an amazing oasis of gastronomical comfort, great music, soothing art and an ambiance that will make you a disciple for years to come. A favorite place to bring your date, parents, children and your gay uncle. Oh yeah and we have a nice selection of Belgian beers in addition to delicious wine.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great happy hour special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

They just closed on Hayes, I was so sad :( you have to go for happy hour it's such a great deal for fries and a beer.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    10
    15
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We came to try the fries, we had a hard time deciding on which dipping sauces to try, loved it so much we were in the neighborhood again and went back for a burger and fries, after that meal we had a hard time walking back to the hotel :). The restaurant is kept clean and so are the bathrooms, cool spot to stop by

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This place has two locations in San Francisco--Hayes Valley and Valencia. It's an order at the counter place and good bang for the buck. The interior is fun and interesting at both locations. The Belgian fries are terrific with many different sauces to choose from. Sandwiches are excellent also--all named after famous artists. They also serve crepes. I would recommend this restaurant to people who want quick service, yummy fries, and low prices. Also, it's a great place for kids.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Reasonable and casual spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

If you are in the market for a reasonable meal, this place fits the bill. Known for their mussels (which arrive steaming), they are also known for Belgian fries (potatoes) with your choice of toppings, crepes (both savory & sweet) and hot sandwiches or burgers with mixed greens on the side. Sandwiches are interesting and toasted--the Sisley with roasted pears, cheddar/gorgonzola, avocado, chipotle mayo on focaccia was tasty and enjoyable. Mixed greens on the side were fresh. They have salads and eggs/omelets as well. The space is nicely done, open and inviting. Kids would be fine here. For the price, this is a nice option for lunch or casual bite to eat. They have two locations.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If you are a pom fritz fan....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I grew up in Holland and this is as close as I have found to the street food of my child hood. Pretty good mussels, too.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frjtz also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Frjtz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frjtz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.