We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramen soop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katana-ya

Katana-ya
430 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)
415 771 1280
Improve this listing
Ranked #335 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Noodle, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Union Square
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ramen soop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

A small and authentic place, Quick service. Large selection of Japanese dishes, sushi and soups . Delicious noodle soup.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    78
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“The best ramen we've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I went to Katana-ya after a long day of exploring the city and we were so pleased with the Katana-ya ramen! The ramen was in miso soup and came with gyoza, roast pork, chicken, mushrooms, seaweed, half a hard boiled egg and corn. The portion was massive and it was absolutely delicious! We also ordered some sushi - spicy tuna and eel and avocado rolls, they were very good too! Katana-ya is highly recommended for authentic, delicious Japanese food and the prices were affordable too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Had better ramen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Long wait, small place, was not impressed with the ramen. It's good to get the sides with the ramen (as an appetizer). It's near Union Square.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“First sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

As I have no point of reference this was good. I read other reviews and this place was close to my hotel. The service was great and friendly. Almost no edit time and I was able to get my good to go. Well try something else next time :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A Great Ramen Store Near Union Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had lunch at small Katana-Ya which is located just one block away from our hotel Villa Florence, and one block from Union square on Geary, very convenient. Ramens, our favorites, are very tasted and “large”. Not expensive though (around $15). Sake, nor icy or hot, is decent. Nice place to visit. (We had visited this store several times, all had good experience.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katana-ya also viewed

 

Been to Katana-ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katana-ya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.