We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good vs Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco500

Coco500
500 Brannan St, San Francisco, CA 94107 (Mission)
(415) 543-2222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coco500 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $5 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mission
Cross street: 4th Street
Transit: SF Muni Lines: 10, 15, 30, 45, 47
SanJose
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Good vs Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This can always be a tough call. My wife really like hers and said it was very good (local Sardines) and I liked mine and it was good (Duck Lasagna). Both were fairly priced. It is definitely worth the visit. We went there for an early dinner after a musical in SF. Nice bar where we had a drink while we waited for our 5:30 dinner. It really beat the heck out of driving back to SJ during rush hour traffic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    23
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go for the green beans!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We recently returned with a visiting friend and, as always, enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Two of our favorites are the battered green beans (tasty and unlike green beans anywhere else!) and the mushroom flatbread--addictive! Their pastas are always good and several of us enjoyed fish that evening including the special rock cod. Service is friendly and efficient. It is a popular place and so the noise level tends to increase as the evening advances.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The restaurant is very clean, good lighting and open design with lots of windows. The server was educated and friendly. The host was a bit snooty, this was the only negative. The prices are high, but worth every penny. I ordered the tagliatelli pasta with pork dish, it was great, also the green salad was perfect!! The agua fresca was plum/citrus and was fabulous. This place is worth the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Yummy, light, fresh and so delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I work nearby so we came for lunch, and loved it. The food was so fresh and light and so delicious. We had the fried beans wich were very good but the flatbread with squash blossoms was incredible. I had fish of the day on a bed of whole wheat grains and loved it, Fish cooked perfectly my friends had the burger which they raved about as the best ever and another flat bread with tomatoes and goat cheese personally I prefered the squash blossom flatbread. Service was perfect. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

With only an hour to spare before catching a train, we enjoyed light fare consisting of yummy tomato gazpacho finished with avacado garnish, deep fried green beans, the tastiest wood-fired flat bread pizza with cherry tomatoes and goat cheese, and broccolini done with a miso, tofu and soy mash. All items were interesting and expertly prepared by in-house chef. Friendly, quick service. Plan to visit again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco500 also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Coco500? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco500, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.