We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanyan Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stanyan Park Hotel to your Saves list
Stanyan Park Hotel
750 Stanyan Street, San Francisco, CA 94117 (The Haight)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Claremont, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Most of the hotels/motels in SF are tourist or business-oriented in SOMA, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Nob Hill and along Lombard (Rt. 101 to the GG Bridge). The Stanyan Park is perfectly located for those of us who have family in residential neighborhoods near Cole Valley, UCSF Medical Center, Upper Haight, Twin Peaks, south side of Golden Gate Park. Saves on parking and taxis (even if you get one to arrive in timely manner). Contrary to other reports we have found it quiet and comfortable with a working elevator for all of the dozen sojourns over the past 5 years...Yes, a little dowdy, call it faded shabby chic Victorian. Very clean. Substantial continental-plus breakfast and, within walking distance of museums, Whole Foods, Academy of Science and Cole Valley's wonderful street scene with easy Muni access to Market Street and downtown San Francisco. It is NOT a marble palace...but an extremely convenient place to sleep and visit relatives....

Room Tip: Facing away from Stanyan Street has less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    21
    14
    11
See reviews for
22
38
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Stanyan Park is a nice Victorian hotel located across the street from Golden Gate Park & at the end of Haight Street, so a great location for tourists. The rooms are small, minimally equipped and very clean. If you opt for a "deluxe" room, you are facing the street & with that you get noise & the chatter from the kids who call the park home. They've created a skateboard area right across the street from the hotel.
Recently the hotel added an afternoon tea & a wine & cheese happy hour to go with the already included "breakfast". Unfortunately these amenities are basic at best: Costco/ SAMs Club food & $2.50 bottles of wine (I saw it at the market across the street).
We go to San Francisco 4 times a year & this hotel is 3rd in our choice of hotels close to our sons house. If the others aren't available, we stay here. It's safe & clean, just don't expect top shelf amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

By husband and I stayed at the Stanyan Park for 4 days and the elevator was out the whole time. We are in our 60's and in reasonably good shape but carrying heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs is not our idea of vacation. There was only 1 staff person, they could not leave the desk so we were on our own. No one offered to help and we were not offered any compensation on the room which was overpriced by anyone's standards(unless you live in SF or NY.) When the elevator is working, the Stanyan Park is an adequate place to stay close to Golden Gate Park but it could use some maintenance and repair. The breakfast is nothing fancy but quite nice for a "continental" breakfast. I actually WOULD stay here again --if the elevator was working and the price was right, but I'd look around first. I think there must be better choices.

Room Tip: Try to get something away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This has the potential to be a lovely, niche hotel. For us runners, it is superbly situated on the corner of Golden Gate Park. It is not their fault that this means it's the corner where all the homeless and hobos hang out, who can be noisy at night. It was kept beautifully clean, and the cleaner was very smiley and friendly which was in contrast to the other staff, who lacked any warmth or even in some cases the ability to smile and say good morning.

Our main beef was breakfast. Carbohydrate choices were mostly stale bagels, packaged waffles and pancakes, grape jelly that had run to liquid, cheerios and packets of processed and flavoured oatmeal. The 'hot' choice was terrible, bacon tasted like it had been cooked a week previously, the sausages were pink and completely unappetising, eggs were hard boiled and cold. One morning I saw two male guests come in pick up the silver covers, take one look and walk out the door..the healthiest option was the fresh fruit and of that there was plenty…If I had had the time I would have walked next door to Whole foods and brought my breakfast there…We will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We booked what they call a Superior Queen sized room. It was tiny (roughly 8 ft by 12 ft), all the windows faced right into a wall or another window looking right back at you, roughly 3 ft away, so we felt completely boxed in. Walls are paper thin, so you hear exactly what's going on in the room next door. Please give the Stanyard Park Hotel a skip, it offers extremely poor value. We've stayed at many hotels all over the world, and this rates as ridiculously overpriced for what you get.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Stanyan Park. Our room faced Golden Gate Park but it was super quiet at night -- no problem at all with street noise! The staff was helpful and attentive. The bed was firm and the pillows soft. The "continental breakfast" in the morning is way more than that -- it is a full spread of delicious pastries, some hot food and the coffee is quite good. We checked out early and had to leave our suitcases with the concierge and they were most helpful and agreeable about holding our suitcases until we returned later in the day.

I look forward to staying at Stanyan Park the next time I'm in San Francisco. It's a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the park and it was quiet all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed with a relative in a room with two twin beds, overlooking the park for 5 nights. The room was comfortable as long as you can sleep in a twin bed. It didn't bother me at all, and I found the room with old-fashioned, historic feel charming. There were some nice touches like breakfast, afternoon tea and an evening glass of wine.

The location is fine but the restaurants that are within walking distance are on Haight Street and while I was assured that it was safe, we were not comfortable walking on Haight after dark and so the choices were limited. Food trucks congregate right outside the hotel on Thursday night which we would have loved to have known about, but alas did not.

I think without the view of the park and the windows which brought in alot of natural light it would not have been nearly as nice.

As far as the staff at the front desk, it was really hit or miss. Some were nice and some were downright surly.

I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: I think without the view of the park and the windows which brought in alot of natural light it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanyan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanyan Park Hotel

Address: 750 Stanyan Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Haight
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Stanyan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanyan Park San Francisco
Hotel Stanyan Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanyan Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.