We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate Hotel
Save
You added Golden Gate Hotel to your Saves list
775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Cute, quiet, and perfect location. The owners are lovely, accommodating and they have excellent decorating taste. We also did the shared bathroom and it was perfectly fine. Our room had it's own sink and shower and the bed was ridiculously comfortable. I'm missing it already.
Stay here and you will not regret it!! Pip is a cutie too :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    176
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
291
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend recently. It's a small hotel, our room was small but very adequate and very clean with a comfy bed. The owner is helpful. We had a room with a shared bathroom and that was perfect as the bathroom was just outside our door and we were never left waiting for it. If u don't want to spend a fortune on accommodation (like us) then this place is quiet, really clean and located in the heart of the city. We were really pleased with our stay. Oh and they served a light breakfast if u wanted it.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the back of the hotel and we never heard a sound! Do try to get a room away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

stayed with my husband for 4 nights. we booked a room with a shared bathroom but arrived to find a shower in our room. quirk of the hotel plumbing which enhanced our stay! very comfortable room. if a little small, breakfast was muffins, pastries. staff lovely. tea and cookies in the afternoon and a friendly cat to top it off. great location, right near union square, trams on the doorstep. only slight downside was our room was really warm, but the fan did help.

Room Tip: room 403 is the only shared bathroom room with a shower in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for many of the main attractions but is situated on a quiet street. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and continued to be attentive and friendly throughout our three night stay, (especially Pip the cat who was especially attentive!) The room was a good size with a private bath, they had provided some nice extra bathroom essentials and everything was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nicely decorated and well lit. After a day of walking up and down so many hills I was really thankful to go back to a room which was comfortable, clean and quiet. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the the Golden Gate Hotel in San Francisco in June 2013 and we would recommend it to other travelers. Our room was a room one with a private bath on the 3rd floor for $175/night. The room was small but cheerfully decorated and the bathroom had a clawfoot tub. The elevator is an iron cage that is of some historic note. Downstairs, the front parlor serves as a breakfast room, which does get a little crowded. Tasty plain and almond filled crossaints are served with coffee, tea or juice for breakfast. Pip the inn cat was cool and he came to visit us in our room the first night (a furry welcome)? Spencer was the staff member on duty when we checked in and out, and he was very helpful about directions, catching the cable cars, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the double room with shared bathroom for 5 nights. It was a great deal for the price - breakfast of tea, coffee and croissants included as well as afternoon tea. Free wifi was fast and reliable. Rooms were quiet. The shared bathroom was never an issue and we never had to wait. The location was great for getting around town using public transport. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here May 2013 and found all staff most helpful and attentive. Although our room was small , it was quiet, clean, and we had the best night's sleep on the bedding. The historical lift with it's decorations is amazing. We landed on the Memorial weekend and that meant you may need to wait for a breakfast spot but the the staff ensure you are not neglected. Being small I always feel the ambience and fellow tourists make your stay so much more welcoming. Great position to walk to all attractions San Fran has to offer.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to stay clear of the lift access door for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.