We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little charmer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate Hotel
Save
You added Golden Gate Hotel to your Saves list
775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Little charmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I loved this place, so cute, such a beautiful setting. Great location walking distance to many of the great sites. Our room was very small (maybe a little too small) but very quaint, tastefully decorated. Breakfast each morning, teas/coffees and yummy croissants to start the day. Loved the old elevator in the building and the resident kitty cat who would greet us when we returned. Only concern we had was that there are fire scales outside each room, we were on the third or floor so thought it was safe to keep curtain closed but window open, after getting out of the shower I could see someones feet standing on our fire escape right outside our open window looking in eeek. (Couldnt see me because curtain was shut but i could see their feet) After that window remained closed and locked. Prob an isolated incident. Would still recommend to others :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    176
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
291
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Here for a day to see this city. Home style hospitality, friendly atmosphere. Close to Union Square and great restarants in the area. This 100 year old hotel is modern witty free wifi and quaint with a three claw footed tub. As one guest shared with me, this is the only place he stays in San Francisco. Check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas (near Houston)
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Charming family-run hotel. We had great rooms and service - one reviewer mentioned the view, but we were having too much fun to worry about that - the resident cat visited our room (at our invitation) and the resident dog would great us in the morning. I have recommended this place to several friends who have all enjoyed their stay as well. Close to Chinatown and and easy walk to cable cars. Do yourself a favor and give the big chains a miss and stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I recently had a wonderful stay at the Golden Gate Hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful and the other guests were delightful. We were given great tips for ethnic restaurants, the location was outstanding and the bed was very comfortable. We would not hesitate to return if we have the opportunity to travel back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here several days in March and were warmly welcomed by Halim and all the staff members. It was centrally located, walking distance to cable car, Union Square and Chinatown. It was charming and we loved the unique touches of the antique elevator and decor.
My only suggestion would be to add some fresh fruit and yogurt options to the delicious muffins and croissants at breakfast. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was friendly welcome late at night, and the whole stay was a real pleasure. The room was small but very cosy, with a fluffy down. Nice to come back "home" to a cat and homemade cookies. The people running this place are very kind, so are the customers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights -- was in for fun and a work conference. Rooms are small but very comfortable. I had a room at the back (away from Bush Street) which was quiet. Location is ideal for Union Square -- there is a cable car stop on the corner! Staff were amazing -- always ready to help with directions on how to get to your destination or with a recommendation for restaurants or activities. Breakfast was croissants (the almond ones were delicious!)/muffins and coffee or tea. They also had an afternoon tea with fresh baked cookies. Pip (the resident kitty) helped to make it feel more like home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.