We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate Hotel
Save
You added Golden Gate Hotel to your Saves list
775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartsville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

GGH is a great bed and breakfast. Pip greets every patron but hardly moves from the fireplace! The employees are helpful in navagating the city and great with recommendations. We have met some wonderful people over breakfast and high tea! Definately worth looking into if you come to SFO!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    183
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
75
305
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Golden Gate for 3 nights and loved it.
The Golden Gate is in a great area close to Union Square, Chinatown, shops, restaurants,bars and the cable car.
We had quaint but small rooms at the back on the 3rd floor which were quiet, clean and had lovely decor.
The bathrooms were tiny but but clean.
The king size beds were comfortable as were the pillows.
The rooms had TV and free Wi Fi which worked better in reception.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the resident cat and dogs were a joy to be around.
Breakfast was tea/ coffee/ OJ, muffins and croissants in the communal dining room go early as there is a queue.
All in all this is a lovely place to stay and we would all highly recommend you stay here when in San Francisco, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel on the upper floors as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I and my extended family have been coming to the Golden Gate for years, and I can't recommend it more. Several of my nieces and two nephews have met Pip, the resident cat, my sister and her family have stayed there as did my late mother. It is very people friendly, and I have yet to have a bad experience. It's location is perfect for Union Square, Chinatown or the cable car line. It is only about a half a mile from the Powell BART station for the carless guest, and there is a convenient garage just across the street for the driver. On my last visit I was alone and noticed how easily the other breakfast guests and hosts included me in their conversations. A wonderful interlude in a busy round of Christmas visiting!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I found this wonderful B & B (not a hotel really) more than a decade ago because I was charmed by the idea of the cat (!) and have stayed there every visit since, whether coming from Colorado, Dubai or Kazakhstan. I have friends in the Bay area and choose to stay at the Golden Gate and pay so I can experience the city rather than take a free stay in East Bay. I have never been disappointed. The rooms are Old World comfortable, the breakfast fine and given to conversation with other guests, and the hosts could not be more welcoming. On one stay, the cat even chose to sleep in my room (I am an ailurophile). The location is ridiculously great: close to Union Square, Chinatown, Grace Cathedral and more. I could go on forever about this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I loved the Golden Gate Hotel and we highly recommend it. The proprietors were warm and friendly, the orange cat 'Pip' was always there to greet us. Our room was fresh and clean, the bed had a comfortable mattress, cozy down quilt and squishy pillows. We stayed in a room with a shared bath, but never had to wait and the bathroom was always spotlessly clean. The warm croissants and muffins in the morning, served with butter and jam and excellent coffee and tea were the perfect way to start the day. In the afternoon there were oatmeal raisin cookies, and I loved the jelly-bellies on the stairway shelf. The whole ambiance was wonderful, from the antique elevator to the interesting collection of photos on the hallway walls. The location is perfect, just a few blocks from China Town, Union Square and Bart. The Golden Gate is definitely a San Francisco find.

Room Tip: Rooms with shared baths are on the side of the building and ours was very quiet and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you're after an authentic San Francisco experience, this is it. Beautiful european-style B&B with really friendly owners. It has a real home from home feel - the tea is served in teapots with tea cosies on and there's even a cute hotel cat called Pip! The location is superb – close by to some good restaurants (try Roxanne's on the corner nearby the hotel), and the waterfront is only a couple of blocks away. The street is quiet and clean. Three tips for an authentic experience: 1. Go and see the cabaret show Beach Blanket Babylon. 2. When you go on a tour of the Redwoods, book with an independent company (the Golden Gate will let you know the details) 3. Walk, walk, walk everywhere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having now come back to this hotel on holiday for the 4th time in 5 years it's only fair to write a review on how good this place is.
It's location is perfect - only a few blocks up from Union Square and a few yards away from the cable car line it is far enough away to be a quiet retreat - especially with a room at the back.
Although it's a hotel it has the intimate B&B feel with a continental breakfast and teas and cookies in the afternoon which gives a chance to talk to other guests and share their experiences.
San Francisco is an amazing city and this place makes it all the more special, can't wait to go back and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if we did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.