We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate Hotel
Save Saved
You added Golden Gate Hotel to your Saves list
775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you're after an authentic San Francisco experience, this is it. Beautiful european-style B&B with really friendly owners. It has a real home from home feel - the tea is served in teapots with tea cosies on and there's even a cute hotel cat called Pip! The location is superb – close by to some good restaurants (try Roxanne's on the corner nearby the hotel), and the waterfront is only a couple of blocks away. The street is quiet and clean. Three tips for an authentic experience: 1. Go and see the cabaret show Beach Blanket Babylon. 2. When you go on a tour of the Redwoods, book with an independent company (the Golden Gate will let you know the details) 3. Walk, walk, walk everywhere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    165
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
72
273
37
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having now come back to this hotel on holiday for the 4th time in 5 years it's only fair to write a review on how good this place is.
It's location is perfect - only a few blocks up from Union Square and a few yards away from the cable car line it is far enough away to be a quiet retreat - especially with a room at the back.
Although it's a hotel it has the intimate B&B feel with a continental breakfast and teas and cookies in the afternoon which gives a chance to talk to other guests and share their experiences.
San Francisco is an amazing city and this place makes it all the more special, can't wait to go back and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if we did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Unforgettable experience in this charming, quiet, spotlessly clean and centrally located hotel. Most welcoming and helpful staff too, personalised hospitality that made you feel like home! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Golden Gate is in the perfect position for exploring San Francisco; access to buses, cable car, BART and shops, including Macy's, all within a few minutes walk. It's a bit of a push up Powell St from the BART with suitcases, but hills are an integral part of the city so no one can complain about that. We shared a twin room on the second floor, accessible by lift. The room was nicely furnished and cheerfully decorated (as was the whole hotel) with comfortable beds. Original bathroom with marble sink unit and good shower (once we'd worked out the vintage taps and shower setting). All the staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast was downstairs at shared tables and it was enjoyable to chat to other guests, though over a four-night day the croissants and muffins became a little repetitive. Excellent coffee, tea and fresh orange juice in constant supply.

My only slightly negative comment is that we had booked quite some time ahead and requested a quiet room if possible as we were coming from a long-haul flight and arriving in the evening. Our room was at the front, overlooking Bush St, and the traffic noise was enough to need the windows to be kept closed. This made the room quite hot and stuffy; there was a silent ceiling fan but it wasn't really enough to freshen or cool the room. I believe the hotel was full, so we didn't ask to change rooms. I learned from another guest that the rooms at the back were very quiet and I would ask for one of these on a future visit.

I would definitely recommend the Golden Gate, and felt that the rates were good considering the facilities and location - though it must be remembered that tax is added to the bill.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We chose this B&B based on TA reviews. The location is very good, walking distance to BART/Muni, Union Sq, cable cars, Embarcadero, Lombard Street (if you're brave!). We had a warm welcome and were able to leave our bags with them as our room was not ready at 9am. It was ready by 12pm. Nice sized room, very comfy king bed. We had a private bath which was nice.
Pip the cat is rather nonchalant about being stroked and did not visit us at all, much to my partner's disappointment.
The breakfast is croissants/joice/tea/coffee and is delicious. the afternoon cookies are also great. The little breakfast room is small but we had no problems finding a table.
The wifi reception was very poor in our 4th floor room at the back, we had to go to the lobby to use it. they have a laptop for guest use in the lobby with a printer.
We asked for a quiet room and were given one at the back of the house, thank goodness, as whilst the lift is cool, it is VERY noisy. ask for a room away from the lifts (this means you will not get a front facing room,)

Room Tip: Request a high floor and a quiet room away from the elevator if you want peace from the antique lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just above the hustle of Union Square is Lower Nob Hill, the location of the Golden Gate Hotel. It is a clean, nice place to stay. I was willing to share a bathroom and shower which knocked down the price to reasonable. The room was small, about 8 x 8 feet but it had a small TV, closet and a double bed. The bathroom and shower was right outside the door.

Breakfast was from 8 AM and consisted of croissants, coffee, tea, and orange juice. I found that if you are an early riser as most East Coast people are or if you have early meetings at another place, the breakfast is too late. It would be nice to start at 7 AM. People were nice to talk with.

The place was faintly musty with old pictures of San Francisco and the family on the walls. There is an antique elevator that extends four floors serving their 25 rooms. The house cat, Pip, has free reign of the place, but if you are allergic to cats, you may consider another place. Their wifi is free but painfully slow and spotty, an area that needs to be fixed.

Room Tip: If you are willing to share a bathroom, you can save a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richpho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Walked through the door and was immediately greeted, shown our third floor room, and met the cat. The hotels is old, but good. The rooms are well decorated, wireless internet, and comfy beds. The walls of the elevator shaft are awesome, painted with some interesting art. With a cage type elevator, you'll have no problem checking them out.

A must stay in SanFran.

Room Tip: Ask the staff, they definitely know the best area eateries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hotel

Address: 775 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.