We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still one of the best five stars in Soma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental San Francisco
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“still one of the best five stars in Soma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

we keep coming back here: location great, staff very professional, hotel nice and green, with the times. small complaints, always the same and unfortunately never addressed: hot water way too hot in both shower and faucet and hard to adjust to non-scalding temp., house keeping cleaning up sometimes only late afternoon. 888 Bar, while nice and while finally, the counters sloping towards customers (causing spilled drinks in laps) have been fixed, now the barstools are way too low for comfort. aside from these minor issues: best place to stay in Soma

Room Tip: the higher the floor, the better the views, on all sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Fredontheroad,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're happy to hear that every time you stay with us you enjoy our beautiful hotel, great location and friendly staff. I have passed your comments about our water temperature, housekeeping hours and bar stools onto our management team for further review and we appreciate your mentioning these.

We hope to host you again on your next trip to San Francisco to show you an truly InterContinental experience.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    676
    200
    69
    47
See reviews for
292
634
154
653
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel practically shares a common wall with the conference center and allowed going to my room and back to the conference center easily during the day by a 2-3 min walk. 6 min walk to market street and ethnic food court in the basement of shopping center housing nordstrom, janie and jack, and other higher scale stores. Rooms good size. Bathroom counter generous to spread toiletries, hair dryer, etc without feeling cramped. Sheets, pillows and towels smelled clean and fresh with no residual odors. Bath /hand soap with pleasant fragrance but left very slimy residue akin to that incomplete feeling of inadequate rinsing when using "hard water". Luce restaurant convenient for business lunch but poor vegetarian offerings

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Amb333,

Thank you for leaving this review of your stay. We are delighted that our great location made your time at a conference so convenient and that you enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms. We hope to welcome you back again even if you are not attending a conference.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed here last weekend with my boyfriend to attend the Giants game. Our first impression was the location, it was about a mile to the ball park, and very close to Union Square! Giants and shopping! Score!! As soon as we drove up, we were greeted by Nester (Bell), he was very engaging, offered immediate assistance, and was very nice to talk to. Our front desk host was JD. He was very accommodating to allow us to check in early and scored us a high floor room with a view! Over all the hotel is very clean, the bed is comfortable, and the views are amazing! Concierge desk was very helpful, and bartenders had quick service and were engaging.

I wish I could have given it 5 stars but the restaurant is ridiculously over priced. $25 for bacon, eggs, and hash browns?! Really!!!

Will stay here again, but won't be visiting the restaurant.

Room Tip: Free wifi is you sign up for their free membership program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Amerse04,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We're so happy you had a wonderful time shopping and attending the Giants game. I have passed your kind words onto Nester and JD and thank you for mentioning their exceptional service. We hope to welcome you back for another baseball game and more shopping and hopefully soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel was great for easy walking in to the city but without being right in the centre of it all. Staff were pleasant and the room was clean and tidy. We booked a club room so had a separate lounge which was nice. The club lounge was adequately stocked with a variety of snacks throughout the day although some days if it was quiet you were made to feel as if you weren't supposed to be helping yourself to food and drink. Be wary turning the wrong way out of the hotel. One way leads to town, the other way quickly leads to the ghetto

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear RichGoesRoaming,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, particularly our great location, beautiful guest rooms and Club Lounge. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the bay area.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My first trip to this bustling city.
Three nights at this modern hotel situated within walking distance of Union Square with an abundance of shops and access to the cable car to whisk you off to Fisherman's Wharf with all its touristy attractions.
Huge bed and bath rooms spotlessly clean with all the amenities you'd expect.
Very efficient bar staff. Didn't use the restaurant preferred to eat out downtown.

Room Tip: I was on the 28th floor (out of 30 I recall) so absolutely no noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear PGG6450,

Thank you for leaving this quick note about your stay. We're glad you enjoyed your first visit to San Francisco and that you found our beautiful guest rooms, great location and friendly service to your liking. We hope to see you back in San Francisco again soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Where do we begin?!!!!! This is definitely the hotel to stay at when visiting San Francisco. In fact, the name should be the POLITE hotel instead!! Every staff member greeted us from beginning to the end of our stay. Checking in was a breeze and we were well taken care by lovely Kelly at the front desk! We were in town celebrating our anniversary (July 18th thru July 21st) and we were treated extremely well. She is absolutely fabulous and has amazing customer service skills. We wanted a quiet room and she made sure we had just that (#2501). Room service was very prompt and extremely pleasant and mindful. Then there is the amazing Luce restaurant...WOW!! Keith is the most knowledgeable and amazing server ever! Both he and his team "Champion" are a dynamic duo!! Keith is extremely attentive, familiar with any and ever type of cuisine and man does he know his wine!! Keith, we will only have lamb tartar when we're at Luce and you're working!! Elena was a very sweet hostess and is part of a great team! We will always stay at this hotel when in San Francisco and will recommend it to all friends and colleagues!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear S.V.,

Wow, we couldn't have asked for a more gracious review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are honored you chose to spend such a special occasion at the InterContinental San Francisco. I have passed your kind remarks along to Kelly and the front office team as well as Keith, Elena and our food and beverage team. Thank you for mentioning how much they impressed you, we love to hear when we make such a great impact.

We hope to see you again, maybe to celebrate next year's anniversary?

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My BF and I were on our way home from a trip to DC and decided to spend a couple nights in San Francisco to round out our trip. We chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced and in a decent location.

Perhaps if we hadn't been coming from the Williard Intercontinental in DC we wouldn't have had such high expectations, but man, was this hotel a disappointment.

The service tha twas so exemplary in DC was nonexistent here. We entered teh hotel lugging a bunch of huge bags and obviously struggling, but no one came to help us take our bags or even open the freaking door. When I walked in I must have given the gentleman standing behind the smaller front desk a look because he just said "Oh, I thought you were going to go through the revolving door". Ummm, no. Not when I'm lugging 3 pieces of luggage myself, heck I couldn't even fit in that door!

Then when we went to check in, we had to stand waiting for a solid 8 minutes because the ONE person working reception was busy with someone and then as soon as another person walked out he was distracted by a query from another guest. It was just frustrating because all we wanted was our room key so we could lay down for a bit.

Unfortunately, service continued like this for the remainder of our trip and for that reason, I don't intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Christine S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay. I apologize for the frustrations you had during arrival and thank you for bringing that to our attention. We would like the opportunity to speak with you further about this stay and hope you will contact our Guest Service Manager, Nick Noble, at nick.noble@ihg.com. We look forward to connecting with you soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.