We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine , But Lacks Wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental San Francisco
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
brazil
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fine , But Lacks Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

It is hard to put my finger on the reason I am not giving this hotel five stars. The staff is friendly , the beds are fantastic . Nice location. Great bar on site.

But I felt like the hotel , for the price , lacked personality. I like hotels. This hotel fit requisites , it just wasn't memorable. On this trip , we also stayed at the Omni in San Francisco , which had fewer on site amenities , but more character.

The Intercontinental is in San Francisco , one of the most sophisticated , charming cities in the US. It should be more . I think the lobby is too sterile ( and I am a fan of minimilism when done well) . The bathrooms don't have an inviting ambiance.

As i said , the beds and furnishings are very , very nice and the staff very pleasant. The concierge in particular ( a woman, her name escapes me) was very helpful. The pool and gym are lovely.

But I probably wouldn't choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear brazilgirl,

Thank you for sharing this review of you stay. I'm glad we were able to meet all of your requirements and that you found the hotel comfortable and the staff friendly. I apologize we did not live up to your expectation of character and did not wow you. We do hope to have the opportunity in the future.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    697
    203
    70
    51
See reviews for
297
656
158
678
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel itself is a classic beauty. Our room was comfortable and spacious. The staff were neither unfriendly nor warm. We did have to wait over an hour to get our car from the vale, however, the manager made no hesitation in refunding our parking fee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jana12142013,

Thank you for leaving this review of your stay. I do apologize for the issue you experience with the valet am glad we were able to take care of it to your satisfaction. We do hope you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to give you a truly impressive stay.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Intercontinental maintains their high standard of comfort and services. It was a big pity that when I asked for higher floors assignment, I was told that rooms with 2 queen size beds only come in lower floors. Our room was good, but had absolutely no view at all. It was only at check out that I was told that if we had chosen rooms with 2 double beds instead of double beds, then it could have been on higher floors!!!! It was a big pity for our 5 night stay in San Francisco City particularly over the July 4th weekend which we could have seen the firework displays from our room. This was in addition to not receiving the room upgrade as promised for ambassador gold members. The breakfasts that we got as substitute was fortunately very good.

Pool area was good but not as clean as I like it to be.

Location not the most convenient for the price you are paying unless you are there for a convention at Moscone Centre.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Globetrotter512,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate all guest feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your overall stay as well as our breakfast service. I apologize for the confusion with your room selection we do try to give guests all the available information. We hope you will contact our hotel directly for reservations upon your return and allow us to assist in making your stay truly amazing.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were first time visitors to San Francisco. We arrived to the hotel at 10:30am intending to check our luggage and return later in the day to check in to our room. We were pleasantly surprised to be allowed to go our room right away- thrilling after having already been on the road quite a bit that day! We had decided to splurge on a king corner room and it was absolutely worth it! The room was clean, updated, and wall to wall windows were amazing. The bathroom was clean and had decent counter space. Large hotel but never had an issue waiting for elevator. We visited the concierge twice for travel advice and though we dealt with different individuals, we were met with friendly and accurate advice. Unfortunately you have to pay an insane amount to park here. We found a combination "deal" through the actual hotel's website that gave us a decent discount off of the parking.

In traveling the city: Walk through Chinatown to enjoy the sights, but wait until you get to Little Italy to eat! Franchino's restaurant had wonderful food and perfect character. There is an amazing little deli two storefronts down from Franchino's. Do NOT do the red and white tours in San Fran harbor! The audio 'walkmans' that they give you are lousy. My husband and I had trouble, as did many people around us. Then I read their reviews online and saw that many people complained about the audio. Neptunes at Pier 39 was delicious! Try the lobster mac and cheese!

Room Tip: The corner rooms with the floor to ceiling windows are worth it. They are also higher up to allow s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear RLKjax,

Thank you for sharing this review of your stay. We're delighted you had a wonderful time with us during your visit to San Francisco and that you appreciated our beautiful guest rooms and great views. Our friendly and dedicated colleagues strive to ensure every guest enjoys their experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon for another wonderful trip.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

On the positive side, this is a beautiful hotel and the room was nicely appointed. Negatives for me, which lowered my rating, were location (not central), no IHG Plat upgrade (not even a decent view), and everything is very pricey. Probably would only return if I needed to be in that specific area,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear KAP,

I apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We do strive for all guests to have an enjoyable stay. We are located in downtown San Francisco just minutes from Union Square and the Market Street shopping district. We would love the opportunity to assist with public transportation to your desired location and to book a room with a great view you would love. We hope you will stay with us again and allow us to give you a truly InterContinental experience.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After a long flight from Europe, we were welcommed by a nice and beautiful lady/girl. The hotel seemed new, and was as clean as one expect a hotel to be. Location was perfect for shopping, due to its promoxity to the city's main shopping district. All over, Intercontinental is a hotel I can recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Terrinda,

We love to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us. It is the highest badge of honor when a guest says they would recommend our hotel and we thank you. We are proud of our clean property and central location and hope you will come back again soon to experience all of our amenities to their fullest.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We got this property on Hotwire and were immediately and pleasantly surprised by the warm and wonderful staff, the cleanliness of the property and the location. We couldn't have asked for a nicer stay for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica D, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear DMS1878,

Thank you for leaving this quick note about your stay. We're so glad our beautiful property and friendly staff made your time us that much better. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Monica Dropkin
Area Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.