We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Pricing Policy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Save Saved
You added InterContinental San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Sycamore, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Room Pricing Policy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Would have given 5 stars but the pricing policy caught us off guard. We had a corner room with a king bed and paid five different rates: Tuesday and Wednesday $445.55. Thursday, $341.05. Friday, $369.55. Saturday, $303.05. Sunday, $274.55. When hubby inquired he was told that room rates were based on hotel occupancy and was dismissed with a "it's on our website". I didn't find the policy there...must be well hidden.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    793
    562
    172
    65
    38
See reviews for
244
553
140
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental SF for the first 2 nights of my California honemoon 2 weeks ago, and everything about this hotel was absolutely perfect. The location was fantastic, and the views from our room on the 29th floor were breathtaking....Full view of the bay, financial district and bay bridge light show.

The service in this hotel may be the best I have ever experienced. From the doormen to the desk clerks to the bartenders, everyone there went out of their way to make sure that we were having the best stay possible...and not just becuase it was our honeymoon, it appeared that everyone else was getting the same type of treatment.They even threw in a special congratulations present for our first night as a married couple, and it was just the crowning touch that sent this stay over the edge.

Bottom line, this hotel is 5 stars in every way possible. Both my wife and myself cannot say enough good things about our stay here.

Room Tip: stay as high as possible for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from 4 days in SF visiting family and watching the America's Cup. I chose this hotel for its location (close to Market Street, BART, and Union Square). It is also a little removed from all of the hustle and bustle. I felt very safe and welcomed here. All staff were very accommodating

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds, which is hard to find in San Francisco. The room is ok for a family of 4 with young kids, size is slightly smaller than the Ritz Carlton. The kids share the queen bed. It is conveniently located next to the Convention center and Metreon, close to the shopping mall, Children's museum, a short walk to the Union Square cable car station and the Union Square shopping area. There is an indoor swimming pool that is ok for lap swimming, perhaps slightly shorter than 20 m in length. The on site spa is good. We did not eat at the hotel. There are plenty of good places to eat in the city. Benu is a short drive away on the same street, you can actually walk there. The Chef at Benu used to be an executive chef at the famed French Laundry. The food and dining experience are first class, but it is not for kids (takes about 3 hours to dine there, and you need to reserve ahead of time). We have a babysitter watch the kids, and this hotel is perfect since it is so close by. The Metreon has several take out options, and there is a nice dessert take-out place too. There is a Target in the Metreon where you can buy whatever you forgot to bring. The tap water in San Francisco actually taste pretty good, there is no real need to pay extra or lug the weight of bottled water. Zuni Cafe is a short tram ride on Market street, a great place to have lunch. Our kids loved the food there and also at the Slanted Door (a restaurant at the Ferry building).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Room is spacious, clean, well lit. Bed is soft. I like the eco friendly arrangement. Bed sheets are not changed everyday unless requested. Minutes to attraction and shopping area. Staff are friendly and professional. Good recommendation on where to go for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in downtown, San Francisco for two Giants baseball games. It was only 5 blocks away. The room was beautiful and very clean. The breakfast buffet was awesome! And the best Irish Bar, The Chieftain was right next door. What more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are the world's pickiest travelers, especially about hotels, and we loved this hotel. Even though we booked on a third party website for a low price, the awesome reception clerk gave us exactly the type of room we requested--quiet and high floor. The bed was among the most comfortable of any hotel we've stayed at. Our luxurious room was very spacious with plenty of outlets for laptops, etc. Bathroom was beautiful. There was a very small amount of street noise at night, which one would expect staying downtown even on a high floor. But we slept like babies anyway. No noise from neighboring rooms. Staff was beyond friendly and courteous.I loved the lap pool--very clean and not crowded, and enjoyed morning and evening swims. The fitness area was lovely. We were in town to attend two America's Cup races and the location of the hotel was relatively convenient for us. We took Bart to/from SFO--short walk from hotel, and taxied or "Ubered" to the marina for the races. We walked to the "B Bar" at Yerba Buena gardens--good food and unique cocktails. Happy hour was crowded but after that it was great. Pricey but worth it for the vibe alone. Walking in the direction of the Moscone Center and Yerba Buena gardens, the neighborhood was not at all seedy. Walking in the other direction, to a good Vietnamese restaurant called "Tin," the area was seedy but didn't feel dangerous. We'd return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.