We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental San Francisco
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed for two nights in August. Ok and clean, location is ok a short walk from Union Square. Helpfull consierge, service great from them. We stayed in a clubroom, but the clublounge felt cold and had a smell we didn't like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    626
    188
    66
    42
See reviews for
267
602
147
595
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in late August and initial impression was fairly good. On our last night we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant & that’s where the enjoyment ended. We were treated incredibly badly by the hostess – she suggested we could have room service since we were staying there – we were not rude to her & were dressed appropriately so there was no reason for her comments. We still insisted on a table & whilst the food was good, she had spoiled the evening for us. We advised the front desk upon checkout next day, who put us onto a room service manager who said he would get the food & beverage service director to contact me the next day. 3 weeks later, I’d heard nothing so I went into their website & filled in a feedback form requesting contact – that was over 2 weeks ago & they still haven’t had the courtesy of responding.

Should you choose to stay here, if there are any issues, complain loudly then & there as that appears to be the only way you will get a response – we witnessed this first hand in the restaurant when another couple complained and were immediately offered an apology & compensation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICSF-Management, Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our sincerest apologies that the entirety of your stay was not excellent. The Director of Food and Beverage, Tobias Gessner, would like to speak with you directly; his email address is as follows:
tobias.gessner@ihg.com

Again, thank you for your constructive feedback.

Warmest Regards,
Intercontinental San Francisco Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sask.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

it's a few blocks outside of Union Square, but worth the walk. The concierge was kind enough to recommend a hop on, hop off pass that they were able to sell us at half price. Which was a great means to get around town. Staff were very kind, happy and helpful. The rooms facing the Bay and city were fantatstic. Floor to ceiling windows, (corner room) wrapped right around the entire room. Go see Alcatraz.Highly recommend the Intercontinental on Howard & 5th

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

No sure if this is now the practice, or I'm the unlucky one.
My last stay there in August and current visit do not have welcome fruit. I do not get even my bottle of water on some nights as well as the club access.
Service is also bad. Last visit in August with a bad experience at check out. This time, I have the bad experience with their valet parking service. I called concierge that I would like to have my car pulled up and when I went downstairs after 10 minutes, the car was not there yet. :(

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear dinernothappy,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for a conference and thoroughly enjoyed it. Last year, for the same conference, stayed at the Marriott on 4th which was great, but not this good.

Intercontinental's rooms (mine was on the 21st with a great view of the city) are marvelous. Mine featured a king bed, ample desk space and a great bathroom. My favourite feature being the shower - a very large, walk in affair with multiple heads.

Hotel bar is relatively lively with a good selection of drinks, including grappa. The restaurant which I only used for breakfast was very good. Expect the usual high prices ($50 for breakfast) but worth it.

Concierge services sorted out my travel back to the airport. Bell desk held on to a personal delivery. Every member of staff I encountered was very professional and efficient. For the Moscone Centre, the location is perfect (one block).

Parking (which I didn't need) is just under $60 per day, valet only. To be expected here in the city.

Corporate rate was $335/night.

Room Tip: The higher floors afford a better view of the city (mine was 21st). The king rooms are spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Loved this hotel. Friendly welcome at reception, gave us a corner room without asking! Perhaps they took pity on us after our 11 hour flight! The room was so quiet and spacious with fantastic views. The Club Lounge was well worth the extra. Loved their afternoon teas and drinks in the evenings. Great location.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this property during one of the biggest conferences in San Francisco. Upon walking into the hotel, I was greeted with pleasant smiles and great customer service. The check-in process was flawless! I was even upgraded and given “Club Level Access. “ I figured that I would visit the club level sometime during the week. The front desk agent was very professional and pleasant. My keys were given and I was on my way. Upon walking towards the elevator, I was very much impressed with how clean and spotless the public area was. I figured if the PA is this clean, I can only imagine my room. I finally got to my room on the 33rd floor. As I walked in, I noticed the beautiful scenic view!! Stunning!! Well, I wasn’t disappointed with my room. The room was spotless! Wow.. now this is what I call clean. During the week, my room was serviced and given turn down service upon my late arrival back to the room. I really enjoyed the DTS. The room was made up for the tired traveler to only take off their shoes and get into their night attire and call it a night!! Well done! On my last night, I finally made it down to the Club Level. The set up was nicely done. However, the choice of spirits left for consumption can use some help!! There was only 3 selection left. Whiskey, and honestly I can’t even remember the other two. The cheese platters should have been refreshed. So, I called it a night. I figured that I would go down for breakfast in the morning. The next day, I went down for a quick bite. The presentation of the food was nicely done..Kudos to the team!! I arrived at the front desk to checkout. I’m a Starwood guy and love my SPG status. I requested that my stay points be converted into miles. The process should have been flawlessly done, but it appeared that it was more complicated for the agent to process for the guest. I was told to go online and start to process. Ok… Anyway, this little hiccup was not going to overshadow my wonderful stay!! Kudos to the Housekeeping team, Security, 95% of the Front Desk team (-5% for the hiccup on points conversion to miles) and management! I will recommend this property to all of my traveler friends when coming to SF!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.