We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in SoMa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Save Saved
You added InterContinental San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in SoMa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I checked in without reservations at 3am on a Saturday morning, to which they had a room available and extremely prompt and helpful in getting, even leading me to the hotel room. It was a wonderful room, very nice and comfy beds, extremely nice bathroom and very up to date. All of the hotel staff that I interacted with were so nice and very helpful with all of my questions. The locations of this hotel is great as well! Next to a very nice mall with over 200 stores, and honestly not a far walk to Chinatown, Lombard Street and the Fisherman's Wharf. Plus, walking through the streets, you get to see sites that you would not necessarily see if you took a taxi. I got some amazing pictures that perhaps only locals get to see! Although the streets are steep, it is well worth it! The only drawback was that the gym was a bit small, with not a lot of equipment. Other than that, this hotel is perfect!

Room Tip: The rooms on the corners, obviously without being said, have the best views, with floor to ceiling w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    792
    562
    172
    65
    38
See reviews for
243
553
140
513
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orient, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Intercontinental San Francisco is a beautiful building in the SOMA district. It has a spacious, contemporary lobby and lounge/restaurant. It is very convenient to Market Street for the BART or MUNI transit systems.

The staff is exceptional (and is pretty much responsible for not getting a rating knock down from the negatives noted below). Front desk staff was friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Housekeeping was cordial and professional. Front door (door man, valet, bell staff) were ever present and quick to provide assistance. Restaurant staff was attentive and friendly. Concierge was knowledgeable and efficient and always greeted you with a smile even when just walking by.

The room was spacious and immaculate. The bed was extremely comfortable and sleep, aside from noise in the hall, came easy. Bathroom was clean and amenities were very pleasing. Towels are large and plush. Coffee and tea were replenished daily. The rooms have Keurig (single serving) coffee makers. Easy to access outlets strip on the desk. Large screen television. Large desk/work area. Ample dresser space.

The one big negative here is that the doors slam louder than any hotel I've ever stayed at. Somewhat annoying at 11 p.m. Don't know if the walls are too thin or the closers are adjusted incorrectly but they definitely need some cushioning.

The other negative about this stay is the charge for internet. If a Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn Express can provide free high speed internet, an Intercontinental certainly can. I have the same beef with Hyatt and Hilton. Their upscale brands, which you pay more for, charge extra for internet.

The only negative about the location itself is that it is extremely difficult to get a cab most of the time. Off the main 'drag' and away from the hustle and bustle. None stand by except during morning check out for lucrative airport runs. By comparison, when I've stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Chicago, they never have fewer than 10 cabs waiting, usually 20+. I don't think I've ever stayed at a downtown hotel that didn't have 2 or 3 standing by.

The workout room is roomy and very well equipped. Kept clean and orderly. The indoor pool is very nice. It is a lap pool. The Jacuzzi is great...powerful jets and perfect temp. We had both to ourselves while there.

The restaurant is very clean and nicely decorated. Roomy with fairly good acoustics so conversation is easy without being intrusive. Staff is very attentive as mentioned before. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. A better variety than most comparably priced hotel buffets...huge variety of fruit, two different scambled egg preparations, grilled tomatoes, oatmeal 'brulee', three different sausages, yogurt parfaits, smoked salmon, pastries, breads, etc., etc... Did not eat lunch or dinner here so cannot comment on those. The bar was very busy each evening but did not partake there either.

Checkout was quick and efficient.

Overall, a great experience. Reasonably priced for the market.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Very nice location. Just a couple of blocks from Bart (subway). Also such a nice hotel everything you could think of. Only thing the internet should be free when you are paying over $200 a night. Only two blocks from an F car stop that will take you anywhere in SF

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Background/Location
My husband and I stayed here for two night (9/5 and 9/6; Wed and Thursday). We are from the east coast and were in town for a motorcycle trip. The InterContinential was within walking distance to where the motorcycle had to be picked up from and other activities our group was participating in (AT&T park, The House of Prime) and pretty easy to get onto 280 for travel. I chose this hotel over the group hotel because it was in a nicer area and I will pay a premium if it keeps me from getting accosted by all manners of riff raff. Didn't care about the proximity (or lack there of) to Union Square. A bit difficult to grab a cab in the area - Howard is not a heavily traveled street.
Staff
The staff was nice, although from the looks on their faces when we walked in (high vis motorcycle gear *not leather* and hair fresh from our sophisticated styling helmet), we would have been asked to leave if we hadn't been staying there. Motorcycle was self-park in the valet garage for $25 a day - well worth the cost of having the bike somewhere secure. Better than the eye popping ~$55/day for a car.
Room
Room was clean and spacious. I didn't pay for a view. I did not expect wireless to be an extra $15 a day charge, which seemed rather outrageous, but fortunately we had a great cell signal. Towels were very thin and of a poor quality. Bed was comfortable and we slept well.
Bar and hotel restaurant seemed to be rather crowded, but did not actually stop in for food or beverage. Mel's is just around the corner for a quick and edible breakfast in a 50s style diner.
I would stay again if I had a similar itinerary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of our trip. It is a very nice hotel. The staff was very helpful and very friendly as well. I was very impressed with everything about this property. I would highly recommend staying here if you are in the area. The views are amazing as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very comfy beds. All staff was exceptionally friendly. Short walk to Union Square. Surprisingly quiet rooms (street noise didn't keep me up as it often does in SF). No coffee maker in the room and they charge for wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed Sept 2, 2012
Gold Ambassador Member

There are two highlights that ensure that the Intercontinental San Francisco remain in the top list of San Francisco hotels: Michelin rated Luce restaurant and the Club Lounge.

I was looking forward to dining at Luce but due to feeling jet lag I had to sadly cancel my reservation. However, the club lounge which provides food throughout the day more than satisfied my appetite and my need to relax in a space while catching up on news. The hotel room was great but having the need to be around people I chose to hang out in the lounge for a large part of the day.

While not as fanciful as the lounge spread at Mark Hopkins, this hotel nevertheless offered a very impressive spread. The tea time service was excellent. There was one minor issue that I had with the lounge which I actually took the time to discuss with a staff member there. There was a family there with two young children that were not being properly supervised by the parents. They were very loud and disturbed the relaxation that I was enjoying. At one point the father requested a deck of cards from the staff so that the kids could "have fun". The parents attempted to quieten the kids with a game of go fish but to no avail. They continued their loud play along with the occasional kids fight.

I suggested to the staff person that the hotel consider a minimum age policy in the lounge as a means of ensuring that all guests can enjoy the lounge in peace.

Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay at this very nice hotel. Staff were friendly and professional. I intend to stay there in a few months but will be calling ahead to inquire on the club lounge policy regarding noisy kids.

Room Tip: Get Club Lounge Access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.