We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Club lounge and we will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental San Francisco to your Saves list
InterContinental San Francisco
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
NEW PLYMOUTH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Club lounge and we will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed there from 6-10th May 2011. On arrival and without asking we were offered the appropriate Ambassador member''s upgrade to a junior suite and found ourselves on the same floor as the Club Lounge. the limited view from the room was made up for by the easy access to the lounge which has interesting views over the local suburb.
There we had great service from Luis and Bridget throughout our stay. The extra cost to have Club lounge access was well worth it..Two free computers are available in the lounge for guests.
There was a very good range of breakfast options, the afternoon tea was lovely and the evening drinks selections and canapes were superb. Very helpful advice from Bridget lead us to a very good restaurant near the hotel for one of our meals out. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Become an Ambssador Club member
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    676
    200
    69
    47
See reviews for
292
634
154
653
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Do not undrstand comments like location not good etc. Hotel is exactly 5 min walk from Market street and 3 minuets from biggest shopping center in SF. For downtown area it is really good location. Personally didnt see any police outside and was feeling pretty safe in the area. On our arrival it was strong rain and Obama was staying in the hotel so we couldnt get with the taxi to the entrance but we had to take longer walk. Also security was strong but very nice, they allowed photos with them if asked. Room was standard Intercontinental, large and well equiped. Yes you pay for internet but it is maybe as I come from Europe my feeling is that more expensive hotels charge for connection and budget once dont, everywhere I go I pay for internet. One annoying thing was very poor water preassure on 23rd floor though nothing I would die from. Concierge was very nice with few good advices and help wit restaurant reservations. Price per room was very good via internet, around 145 USD per nite, something you can dream in Europe for this level of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Went down for a Giants game and wanted a place to stay within walking distance of AT@T Park. I have back problems so I was looking for a short and safe walk. The last time we went down for a game we stayed the Hyatt Regency on the Embarcadero . Just as a side note, we had a fine stay there and the walk to the park along the water is a nice one. However, the Hyatt was booked. The Intercontinental has a package deal which includes parking and breakfast at a very reasonable rate . Rates and room location I suspect depend upon what the convention activity is like at the nearby Moscone Center. I thing we booked on a slow week. We were given a corner room which provided a really nice open feel to the room . The bathroom is huge with it's own floor to ceiling window . I looked in one of the regular rooms and it was the same as the corner room with the exception of the extra window space. Nice gym . Indoor lap pool. Oh yes, great beds. The walk to the Giants' game was less than a mile . Believe me , the cab hassle after a game is so overwhelming you'll appreciate being able to walk to your hotel. Can't get over how much the neighborhood has changed. We went to a day game , but would have no problem making the walk at night. Not only has the area really become very pleasant there are plenty of people leaving the park after a game so there's a real safe feeling. Hotel staff was great. Only one real complaint--- we had guests join us for breakfast once during our three day stay. Since our deal included free breakfast I had no idea what the cost of the buffet style meal was. My friends ordered two espressos with their brunch and the tab was roughly 95 bucks. The buffet was fine ( okay there was a fruit fly problem on the pastry, but that didn't bother me as much as it did my wife) , but certainly not worth that kind of money.My fault for not asking . Overall I really enjoyed the place. FYI for baseball fans there is a ''W'' hotel a tad closer to the park and the Saint Regis is also nearby . Don't know about the ''W'' but for what you pay for a room at the Saint Regis, tickets and a car should be provided for the game

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

selected hotel because it is new and tall buidling/hoping for some nice views. Room nice but bathroom without bidet or towel rail. Main nuisance the price of breakfast and even worse that there was no option to take it in a designated restaurant area. All you got if not in room was a lot of (overpriced) options - maybe the management should visit Europe or Asia to learn how to offer breakfast - esp as it is an international chain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Just checked out this morning. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, if you are careful walking at night. If you go one block in the wrong direction, it gets pretty seedy and a bit scary. We met two police officers at the end corner the hotel is on last night, who were there to ensure tourists didnt go any further in that direction.

The room was beautiful, with floor to ceiling windows that provided a spectacular view. The towels were horrible for such an upscale hotel. They were rough, thin, and frayed in spots, not at all what I expected. The room, even on the 23rd floor wasa bit noisy from all the sirens throughout the night. All in all, the room was really good.

The staff on the other hand, were rude, snobby, and unhelpful. The gentleman that checked us in early was rude and haughty, the Concierge that we asked for additional information on the Barberry Coast walking tour was unhelpful, and the bartender that didnt know what Blueberry Tea was had no interest in googling it to find out, or offering other alternatives and eventually just walked away from us.

Like a previous post, I certainly wouldn't pay these folks again for the privelage of being rude to me.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jengchi, Hotel Representative at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. I have reviewed your comments with our Front Desk to ensure that we continue to improve. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me at jengchi.hung@ihg.com if you would like to provide any additional information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I've been there during "web 2.0 expo" with my collegues. The hotel is close to the Moscone center and it's very close to the center town. The rooms are great. Great lcd tv. The breakfast it's simply fantastic. Thera are a swimming pool. The wi-fi conncection it's not free in the rooms and you have to pay (more or less 49 dollars per week)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel and had a very positive experience. I am an Ambassador member and was upgraded to a corner suite with a beautiful view and spacious, clean room. The staff were helpful and the location was located just next to the Moscone Convention Center. It's a short walk to Market street and Union square. When taxis were scarce there were always town cars available. I also ate at the hotel and the food was always great. My only negative experience (which was really bad) was at the hair salon recommended by the hotel. It was called the Soma salon just around the corner from the hotel. The owner does not know how to style women's hair - it took over an hour and he had body odor. It was the worst experience! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.