We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty. Cheap.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Rock (Pine St.)

Sushi Rock (Pine St.)
614 Pine St., San Francisco, CA (Chinatown)
(415) 399-0882
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,929 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tasty. Cheap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Baldwin Hotel and had two meals here.

Good quality and tasty Japanese food at very reasonable price (similar to Singapore pricing). My whole family was very satisfied. I especially enjoyed their Saba fish, both the teriyaki and shio versions.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food, very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Normally seeing a Japanese restaurant in San Francisco's Chinatown should give one pause - and this place is right in the middle, on the 2nd floor of the corner of Grant and Pine. Despite this, me and my family stopped here for dinner recently. Being Asian, I'd like to think we know our Japanese food.

On entry, the place looks very hip and modern, which is a nice contrast from the old school buildings and restaurants surrounding it. The sushi and Japanese entrees are very good and very reasonably priced. As mentioned by other reviewers, you get miso soup (a bit salty), seaweed salad, and ice cream for free. The portions are huge. We ordered a small size shrimp tempura entree for my 5 year old son and that consisted of a big bowl of rice and 6 large pieces of shrimp. My daughter ordered the small chicken teriyaki and got a full size plate with at least 3/4 lb of sliced chicken meat on it. The spicy salmon hand rolls were excellent.

Ordinarily I'd recommend that when you're in Chinatown, find a hole in the wall place for good, authentic Chinese food but I have no problem recommending Sushi Rock if you're in the area and in the mood for Japanese food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“1st Sushi Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in @ Sushi Rock on a whim because I wanted to try REAL sushi. Wasn't disappointed in the food @ all. Delicious! Decor is kind of odd, but the service was good. Excellent saki selection!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable Sushi near The Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This sushi shop is across the street from the Grant Plaza Hotel and is a welcome break from the Chinese food of Chinatown. Not cheap, but good and reasonable, AND CLOSE!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
“Passable sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Good rolls and good prices. Would be better if they had all-you-can eat.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Rock (Pine St.) also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sushi Rock (Pine St.)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Rock (Pine St.), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.