We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most disgusting place that I have been” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Capitan Hotel

El Capitan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Capitan Hotel to your Saves list
El Capitan Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2361 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94110 (Mission)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The most disgusting place that I have been”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Negative
- There is one parking downstairs but you need to pay so big amount of money to stay there + you can leave a car for a night parking,because there is a cleaning in the early morning.
- Rooms are so dirty as hell + you don't have a conditioner or fan
- The toilet was full of s.h.i.t + so dirty..so I could go to the toilet..I was shocked
- You can't lock the toilet
- The bathroom is so dirty,it's better to be dirty than use that bathroom

It's not a hotel at all it's a hostel when you share bathroom,toilet and kitchen with others.

If you want to save you trip - Never stay in this hostel

I've been staying in more than 24 motels in USA for my long trip route 66,but this one was one of the baddest hostel in the USA.

Room Tip: Please dont use that hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    6
    5
    17
See reviews for
Families
0
8
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Ok, I lived in this hostel for the summer. If you're looking for something fancy, then I suggest going elsewhere. If you're not bothered by the amenities of where you're staying and you're just looking for a cheap, clean place to stay during your trip to SF, then I would recommend this place. The staff are friendly enough. Beware there are a few dodgy characters in this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is perfect if you're on a budget and are not looking for anything fancy. Check-in was very easy, no fuss. My boyfriend and I got the room with a full bed and a shared bathroom. Yes the rooms are pretty basic and crappy but if you're just looking for a place to sleep it's perfect. It's right in the center of Mission. Close to food, bars, BART etc; They even have complimentary coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The only possitive thing I can say is we got a refund ...
No parking option (but to be honest, there isn't one almost anywhere in SF), dirty rooms, poor bathroom...

Wouldn't stay there ever again, nor recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I have traveled all over south america, so im used to the usually cheap hotel, but this crap is by far de worst place i have ever stayed anywhere in the world.
The guy on the reception is the more aggressive person i have met in the city, after showing us a room that clearly smelled like some one just had a pot party, he showed us to another crappy room. The bathrooms absolutely disgusting, and it seems that they haven't cleabed them in more than a month. Dirty toilet paper on the floor and the shower was full of hairs and pieces of paint. The next morning, my toes were burning and i realized it was that i got a feet fungus form taking a shower. And on top of all that, I found a bed bugs on my shoes and suitcase, leaving all my things infested and me sick and paranoic. So i go to talk to the manager and after fighting for an hour he is not even going to give me a discount even after i show him the bed bugs. So now after i arrive home, i have to go to a laundry to spent money, wash all my things in really hot water (which is gonna ruin some stuff) and spray everything with insecticide, to not infest my room.
And all thanks to this [--] hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Terrible place to stay, the room was dirty and smelled really bad as did the beds.
I tried to run the tap for some water but all that came out was a brown fluid which you definitely couldn't call water.
There was no aircon so it was very difficult to sleep.
I really advise against staying here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The first thing you notice is that the carpet throughout the hallways is covered in stains and rubbish,it's obviously never cleaned or even hoovered and absolutely reeks of urine!
The rooms are slightly better but i had to go across the road and buy cleaning supplies and BUG SPRAY the floor was covered in sticky dirt and there was a cockroach on my mirror!!
I told the guy at reception about it and he just shrugged saying nothing,not even an apology!they obviously don't care about the state of the place,its beyond help.
The shower is really gross too the whole thing was covered in mould and the floor and walls were all dirty,obviously never cleaned i honestly don't know how they get away with it!
The bed linen seems clean at least but thats probably all it has going for it.
It's on a busy street with lots of loud bars,drunks,drug addicts and homeless people i could not recommend it any less please don't waste your money on this place however cheap it seems its seriously not worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Capitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Capitan Hotel

Address: 2361 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94110
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Capitan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Capitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Capitan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.