We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toast

Toast
1748 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94131
(415) 282-4328
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #603 of 4,919 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

When I go to the US, I always have one or two "american" breakfast, with everything on it! Toast was close to my hotel and looked like a typical american dinner. Food was great, plenty and tasty. Service was amazing too. A little expensive for my budget, but will come back for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    15
    25
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Coming from the UK, we don't really have diners as such and so don't really have anything to compare it to. However, we ate breakfast here everyday when we visited SF back in Sept 2011 and it was absolutely fantastic. The scrambled eggs, banana pancakes and eggs Benedict were first class. My wife was so taken with her food that she took photos of her breakfast every morning! Everything is great value too plus free coffee re-fills (another thing we don't get in the UK)!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Actually ate breakfast there twice. It is a hole in the wall with no atmosphere but the food is good and has a good value. It is really a local place.

One day the service was great the second day it was terrible as the servers were too busy talking to each other to wait on the customers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good little dinner in SF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very excellent breakfast menu, and prices are quite reasonable, considering the neighborhood. Atmosphere isn't great, but for a good meal at a reasonable price in SF, this place is the one to go for breakfast

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Above average diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Cute ambience and friendly, attentive service. Had the grilled cheese sandwich and fries which - though simply prepared - was great comfort food on a windy day. Shoestring fries were good too, nice crunch and not greasy. Was pretty busy when I was there, but they seated me immediately and service was very prompt. Definitely worth stopping by if you're in the neighborhood and looking for a quick bite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Toast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.