We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Westin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin San Francisco Market Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Westin San Francisco Market Street to your Saves list
Westin San Francisco Market Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #51 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent Westin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed in fancier Westin's, but this one was OK. Hotel was in a great location, nice staff, great facilities, nice gym. The room I got wasn't as clean as it should have been, but the staff was overly accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    796
    298
    114
    42
See reviews for
314
510
146
633
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently stayed here for a 3 night business conference. The hotel staff were great, but I thought my room was actually below average for a Westin. The decor was mediocre, my bathroom could have been cleaner and most of the furniture was a little worn. My bed was comfy. I'm not sure I would stay here again based on the per night value since Westin is expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Westin San Francisco Market Street, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Heathbul,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate the feedback. I'm sorry that you thought your stay was only mediocre as we are actually very proud of our guestrooms and especially their cleanliness. I do hope you will give us another opportunity. Be Well, Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Pluses:
Westin is located very conveniently for all kinds of transport in San Francisco and it is basically in the middle of all the shopping. We had breakfast at La Boulange on Mission St every morning which offered good Organic Coffee and various pastries and sandwiches with free jams and spreads. Westfield Food Court is handy for close-by lunch/dinner options.
The staff is really nice and helpful.
The minuses:
One of the beds was not comfortable at all (we stayed at Sheraton before here and it was really Heavenly, as advertised).
There was a barking dog in the room next door on the 1st night, which was annoying. I do not really like the idea of sharing rooms with pets anyway.
The duvet did not look very clean, and it was 'sandwiched' between two pieces of sheets, rather than being enclosed properly in a duvet cover.
The hotel claims to be 'green' and runs promotions for that, but they had 5 pillows on each bed! (10 pillowcases for two beds!) Such a waste.
Overall, it was an OK stay and I would still consider going back if it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I love Westin because of the great beds. In this particular one is the people who work there. Our room is in the 22nd floor and it has great view of the city. The windows are floor to ceiling and We had a great view of the city. The beds are great abd the room is bigger than usual. I would highly recommedn this hotel if you are visiting San Francisco

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was my fourth stay at this hotel over several years and my first as an SPG property owner. After comparing rates to others in the area such as Courtyard by Marriott, I realized it was worth paying a little more for the Westin, taking into account the automatic SPG room upgrade and comped internet service. Plus, it was about the only downtown hotel I could find that had rooms with two queen beds for the three of us. We paid $232/night.

The rooms are what you would expect from a Westin: comfortable, well appointed and with all of the necessary amenities, although if there was a hair dryer I couldn't find it. Fully stocked mini-bar. Floor-to-ceiling windows. The water pressure was good. Plenty of hot water. The "heavenly bed" was not as heavenly as I remembered it. Maybe it was because there were two queens, instead of a king that I've had on the previous occasions, but the mattresses felt firmer than I recall.

The window treatments provided full blackout at night. The room was quiet, except when children across the hall were being children. The internet signal in the room was reasonably reliable, a definite improvement since my last visit. The buffet breakfast was $27, typical of a major market downtown hotel and the quality and selection was excellent. The fitness center has a few cardio machines (some of which can't be used by tall people because of the low ceiling) and the weight area is lame, with only two machines and a rack of dumbbells. We were there during the last weekend of June while some remodeling was happening and the business center was closed, however they had set up a computer workstation in the lobby, which was suitable for printing boarding passes but not for working. The front desk staff was courteous and helpful. The location is convenient for the Market St. streetcars and subway, and fast food and casual dining restaurants, including a CPK across the street and a Super Duper Burger (yum!) a couple minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our room was quite large by SF standards! We had 2 queen beds and a pretty city view from the 26th floor. The location was great- less than a 10 min. walk to Union Square. Felt safe walking back to the hotel at 11:00 pm. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westin Market St. for a business trip that we took the whole family to. The hotel is just a few blocks from everything in Union Square and an easy walk. There is lots to do in the immediate area. The property has a nice patio for outdoor dinning and happy hour.

Room Tip: There is a public parking lot between the Westin and Four Season (directly behind Westin) that is mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin San Francisco Market Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin San Francisco Market Street

Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin San Francisco Market Street 4*
Number of rooms: 676
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Francisco Market Center offers superior style, comfort, superb amenities, and floor-to-ceiling windows boasting breath-taking views. Enjoy easy access to downtown, SOMA, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin San Francisco Market Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin San Francisco Market Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.