We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Positives Than Negatives” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin San Francisco Market Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Westin San Francisco Market Street to your Saves list
Westin San Francisco Market Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #53 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“More Positives Than Negatives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We pulled in to learn valet parking would be more than $70 a night as they rated our rented GMC as oversized. To their credit they suggested we use the parking garage next door for $26 per 24 hours.

The lobby is very loud, busy and not very inviting, fortunately I wasn't sleeping there so I wont let that ruin my overall stay. I found the staff hit and miss, but more miss. I actually had a friendlier welcome from the staff at Four Seasons when I took a shortcut through there. Had issues cashing out a travellers cheque being told they don't cash them and was directed to a bank, I found this a bit annoying as I had cashed one the day before.

When we checked in there were numerous items missing from the mini bar, I mentioned this to the front desk and said don't worry about filling them. On check out they were on my account. They were removed from the account with little to no fuss, but I thought it was ordinary that they hit my account at all.

Fortunately the room was great. We were on level 30 and had a one bedroom suite with four massive windows looking out to two different views. The bed was extremely comfortable as were the furnishings. The room was spotless and modern. Wifi wasn't free and was expensive to buy. Macys had a wifi signal with a free service. Ironically the Macys speed was faster than the speed Westin wanted $15 a night for.

The location is great and has a safe feel about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    791
    296
    114
    42
See reviews for
313
506
145
628
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Im a westin fan, and enjoyed this hotel. No platinum upgrade tho.

It reminded me of the westin in vancouver - A home away from home.

I wasnt a fan of the location though. Had to catch a cab everywhere.

Id stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel itself is in an excellent location, close to many shopping locations and a quick walk (about 15 minutes) to the financial district. Far enough away from the major tourist locations like Fisherman's Wharf that it is very quiet at night. The lobby check in went very fast, and they have plenty of elevators so there is no wait to get up to the rooms. The room was spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. A negative for our room was that the side of the building we were on was facing a small alley, and directly across from our window was a view into the cubicles of the office next door. Asking for a higher floor or a room facing another direction should clear that up. Overall a nice, quiet, stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a newer SPG property. Being new makes it attractive as many of the SF Starwood proprieties are older and in different phases of updating.

While the SOMA location is not quite as convenient as Union Square - proximity to BART, Union Square and the financial district make it a great choice when the price is right. It's a much better choice than the Hilton and the Marriott in my opinion.

All these SF hotels have dynamic pricing so depending on time of year and occupancy the fluctuation can be hundreds per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Westin San Francisco Market Street is nicely located within walking distance of great shopping and restaurants in the heart of the city. The hotel staff is very pleasant and accommodating, from arrival to departure. The only knock on this hotel is the parking - very expensive! But, hey, it's San Francisco!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great service, great rooms, great location! There are a lot of good restaurants close by plus a restaurant in the lobby. It's in a quiet location which is nice....not too touristy. You can get a taxi and for $13 get to fisherman's warf.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Was on a Spring break holiday with the family and spent a few days in San Francisco. Decided to stay at the Westin as it was one of the few hotels with 2 double beds in the room, most seem to only have full size these days. The hotel was clean and it was close to mass transit and a number of good places to eat. There was nothing on this trip which was extremely great nor bad. Just a good clean, quite room which was what was needed.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing as I have seen better selections at other Westins, but all the basics were covered. I guess most of the quests are business travelers just grabbing something at one of the many Starbucks in the area, I know thats what I would be doing if I was on a business trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin San Francisco Market Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin San Francisco Market Street

Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin San Francisco Market Street 4*
Number of rooms: 676
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Francisco Market Center offers superior style, comfort, superb amenities, and floor-to-ceiling windows boasting breath-taking views. Enjoy easy access to downtown, SOMA, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin San Francisco Market Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin San Francisco Market Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.