We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms with Panaromaic views and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin San Francisco Market Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin San Francisco Market Street to your Saves list
Westin San Francisco Market Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now and Save!
Ranked #62 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice rooms with Panaromaic views and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is one of the best hotels if you are staying in the Downtown San Francisco. A Very central location. Most of the prime areas like union square, Pier 12, Embarcadero are at walkable distance from here. Also some malls and a movie theater right at the back of this hotel. The rooms are nice. I was staying on 33rd floor, so the view was quite superb. Food is great. Overall this hotel is recommended for anyone visiting San Francisco.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors on North East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    758
    289
    112
    41
See reviews for
301
493
143
587
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights last week. The hotel is in a great location but the hotel is old and tired. The rooms are very old, not so clean, and has odd spacings. The bathrooms in particular were not modern. The one that I had was so tiny that closing the door meant I had to move to a certain location to make space for the door to close. Water pressure was generally poor as well. In any case, it's ok for business given the location but not too exciting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent hotel. Rooms are very comfortable and nice. Staff very friendly. Very good location. The only thing that bothered me, is why, in such a price range, the internet is not free. It costs about 20$ a day! Free internet has become a standard in such hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure you have good alternatives for using the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

First time to San Fran and ended up asking a friend to refer us to some hotels - we picked the Westin and were happy we did. The location is great, walking distance to Union Square and lots of stores (great shopping). You can also walk to the MOMA and the Yerba Buena Gardens (go to this park, it's beautiful), we also walked all the way to the pier, it's 6-7 blocks but was great exercise and a fun way to sight see in that area.The staff was friendly and helpful, they helped with a couple dinner reservations - both places had good food. The rooms were nice and clean, as well as the bathroom. We were up on a higher floor and was able to see the bay and watch the sunsets from our room. A tip for anyone staying here... sign up to become a Starwood Preferred Member, you'll get a better room! Would be happy to stay at the Westin again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Westin this past weekend. The lobby smelled delicious from the fresh flowers and the room was great. We were upgraded because we signed up for a preferred status. The beds were extremely comfortable, the view gorgeous. The only constructive criticisms I would have to give are the expensive food in the hotel restaurant adn limited choices (although the food was very delicious) and the fan in the bathroom stayed on the entire time. I sleep well with noise in the background so it wasn't a problem for me but some people need total quiet for a good night's rest. The Concierge was very helpful and the front desk staff professional and kind. Overall I'd say this is an excellent place to stay. We really enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: The higher the better. The views are great from the 28th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our first time in San Francisco and our flight arrived early in the morning, so I was worried we would not be able to check-in early. Jeffery at the front desk was wonderful, super friendly and helpful. We had no complaints with the room. The room service was another story. We had four people in our room. When we first arrived we had to ask for extra towels for everyone. The towels weren't the problem. Housekeeping never once attended to our room. Several times we left the room the housekeepers in the room next to ours, so we are thinking we would be next...NOPE. If I go back to San Francisco, I would consider staying here again. The location is great. You can easily walk to the wonderful highlights including the Ferry building and Chinatown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonesf, Manager at Westin San Francisco Market Street, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I appreciate the kind comments regarding our Front Desk staff and was pleased to hear that we were able to accommmodate your early check-in as well as that you were pleased with your room. I was dissapointed to read about the lack of Housekeeping service you received. Our experienced team is very proud of the levels of service they provide and we are currently researching why your room was missed. I hope we can regain your trust into our services and I would like to be personally avilable to you if your travel bring you back to the Bay Area. Please feel free to contact me at sharms@westinsf.com. We look forward to your return.
Warm Regards, S. Harms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Modern hotel, excellent inter-connecting rooms with amazing views. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Exellent location, hop on hop off bus outside the hotel. Walking distance to union square, Macy's and the tram. Very helpful staff

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin San Francisco Market Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin San Francisco Market Street

Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin San Francisco Market Street 4*
Number of rooms: 676
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Francisco Market Center offers superior style, comfort, superb amenities, and floor-to-ceiling windows boasting breath-taking views. Enjoy easy access to downtown, SOMA, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Westin San Francisco Market Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin San Francisco Market Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.