We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Superb Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin San Francisco Market Street

Save Saved
You added Westin San Francisco Market Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin San Francisco Market Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now and Save!
Ranked #58 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yountville, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Superb Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The previous couple of trips to SF, we stayed at the Westin's sister hotel, the W. The Westin has a much more convenient location for shops and attractions in and around Union Square. Staff were excellent, very friendly and efficient. Our room was large and very comfortable with wonderful city views. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors. We were on the 31st floor and the views, all the way to Alca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    747
    270
    110
    42
See reviews for
279
465
141
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel twice, and both times had a great stay. Location of this property is great. Customer service was excellent. Both times we asked for an upgrade and both times we got it for free. Once we got a corner room on 27th floor, the view was amazing. I also find smell of the hotel to be really pleasant - green tea. Overall, i definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade, might get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We pulled up to the hotel close to sunset, and were immediately greeted. I asked the gentleman about things we must do, since we were only in town for one day, so he pulled out a map and proceeded to tell me exactly what was must see. Then he told my husband and I if we wanted to, we could likely make a pretty good round of the city before the sun set completely, so took charge of our bags and off we went! When we got back to the hotel, they were able to upgrade us to a corner room...and wow at the view! We had two walls of windows in the room, and loved looking out over the city. The room was immaculate and the service was fantastic! We could not have asked for a better stay!

Room Tip: Even though the corner room has a queen size bed instead of king, the two walls of windows makes it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I've stayed here about 5 times for business, once for a week. The location is convenient and the rooms are fine. Room service is okay, but boring, just the standard salmon, chicken, steak that are okay but nothing special.

The biggest problem I've had is with the room assignment. I usually pay extra for a larger room and a better view. Once, I got a queen handicapped room with no view. The claimed it was an upgrade since it was on the club floor, but it was cramped. They explain the can't guarantee room type, but it seems to me that if they are willing to charge me extra when I reserve a corner suite with a king bed I should get that.

Valet parking it's 50 dollars which seems high for what you get. I know it's a city, but it take 15-25 minutes to get your car, and you leave a voice mail to tell them you want your car because no one answers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were planning to spend a full day sightseeing in San Francisco en route to HKG but due to bad weather and some flight delayed, we were there for some hours only. Checked in around 7pm and surprised that they didn't notice that it was my Husband's birthday (after the front staff lady asked for both of our passports) not that I care but we were in Bangkok 6 nights past his birthday and they sent out a birthday cake to our room! The lobby was modern & sleek. The room was spacious, clean, comfy bed, bathroom was simpe, nothing to brag about for being a Westin.
The location from and to the airport (SFO) is convenient. We took Super Shuttle coming in and we were on the first drop off route and felt bad for the last 6 pax that was staying in the Fisherman's area (traffic that night was horrendous as it was Friday night around 6pm) and we tried the BARTback to the airport that morning since we only have 1 luggage, recommended , user friendly & super fast. We went to have breakfast at a Mel's Drive-ins, when you get out of the lobby, head southeast on 3rd street towards Jessie st and turn right on Mission St,it would be about 0,2miles on the left.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Westin Market street is a very nice hotel in the prime location of downtown San Francisco. Staff were very friendly, personable and attentive to all of our needs during the stay. City tour bus stops right outside the front entrance. Union Street shopping is within walking distance. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the Westin San Francisco Market Street for a conference. I am going to contact the conference coordinators and complain about their selection of this Westin. The location was great but the hotel charges extra for EVERYTHING! Local calls - at least $1 (it's not the price, it's the principle), internet - $15 PER DAY! and no shuttle service to the airport... I would just think if you are spending $200-$300/night on a room the least they can offer you is free internet and local phone calls. Otherwise, of course, it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: upper floors offer great views. Avoid rooms near the elevator - ESPECIALLY if on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin San Francisco Market Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin San Francisco Market Street

Address: 50 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin San Francisco Market Street 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin San Francisco Market Center offers superior style, comfort, superb amenities, and floor-to-ceiling windows boasting breath-taking views. Enjoy easy access to downtown, SOMA, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Westin San Francisco Market Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin San Francisco Market Street Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin San Francisco Market Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.