We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red and White Fleet

Red and White Fleet
Pier 43 1/2, Historic Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94133
4156732900
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$28*
and up
Ranked #88 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1892, the family-owned Red and White Fleet is San Francisco's original sightseeing adventure and only multilingual sightseeing cruise. All of Red and White Fleet's cruises depart from Pier 43½ at the end of Taylor Street, in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf.Sail under the Golden Gate and around Alcatraz aboard the 1-hr Golden Gate Bay Cruise featuring headphone audio about San Francisco sights and history in 12 languages; 8-12 daily cruises starting at 10AM. Or enjoy amazing sunset views, live music and hearty appetizers aboard the relaxed 2-hr California Sunset Cruise with sailings from April-October. Winter departures are offered aboard the California Twilight Cruise from November through March.The 90-min Bridge 2 Bridge Cruise promises spectacular views of the entire San Francisco skyline, from the Golden Gate Bridge all the way to the Bay Bridge with year-round sailings. Tours feature headphone audio in 12 languages.Red and White Fleet also offers a variety of tours on land for sale, from hop-on hop-off tours, to motor coach excursions to the Napa & Sonoma Wine Country, Monterey & Carmel, Muir Woods & Sausalito, and Yosemite.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went on a sunset cruise round the bay, under the Golden Gate bridge, past Alcatraz and Sausalito , it was beautiful. What a way to spend the evening. The staff were excellent as was the singer and buffet, even catering for vegetarians like me, which is sometimes hard to find in the US! I would recommended this trip, well worth it and unforgettable. You won't be disappointed

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    104
    23
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sunset Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Sunset Bay Tour is a must while in SF but wearing warm clothing is a necessity. Great views of the Bay Bridge, Alcatraz, Angel Island and more. The fog was rolling in and fairly established before we made it to the Golden Gate so views were limited. But the buffet, live music, friendly staff, and the 2 hour cruise were perfect!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best view of the bridge structure and sun set”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It is amazing to view the bridge from the ocean... The bridge structure from the bottom is really incredible. Plan this trip in the evening so that you get the sun set view also... with the cold breez, i bet it will be unforgettable trip to SFO.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Bridge 2 Bridge Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We booked the “Bridge 2 Bridge Cruise” for 12:30 pm. They take your picture before you board the boat and sell them later on the dock for $15 each. You are given headsets in English (other languages are available) for the pre-recorded audio tour and there are seats inside the boat and outside on the deck. We decided to sit inside and it became rather stuffy after awhile since there was no air circulating. San Francisco was undergoing a heat wave which is unusual for this area so I guess these boats are not equipped with air conditioning or fans. We just went outside to catch the ocean breeze which was refreshing.

The audio tour was informative and it was amazing to travel below the Golden Gate Bridge and see what a grand man-made marvel it is. We didn’t have a car so driving on the bridge wasn’t an option but this was just as good if not better experience. We passed Alcatraz Island and sailed up to the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge. We purchased this 90 minute cruise from Living Social for $36 for two people which is normally the price for one person. It was a great introduction to the “The City by the Bay” via ferry boat.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“90 Minutes on the Water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Took the 2:30PM tour of both bridges and by Alcatraz. Weather was beautiful. Ship was not over crowded and there was room and time for the money shots everyone wants of the GG Bridge, Alcatraz, Bay Bridge and the skyline of the City. We didn't order any food or drink so I can't comment on that. Overall, it was OK - nice. We were not disappointed when we docked.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red and White Fleet also viewed

 

Been to Red and White Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red and White Fleet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.