We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Presidio Social Club

Presidio Social Club
563 Ruger St, San Francisco, CA 94129-1771
415-885-1888
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Presidio Social Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #771 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lombard
Transit: Muni 28, 29, 41, 43, 45 and all SF Golden Gate Transit except 50
El Dorado Hills, CA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice place but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food is average and as a result the price should be dropped about 20 - 25%. You do have to remember that this is San Francisco and thus the prices will be higher. That does not mean that they should be higher. The menu is limited and they were out of a few items the evening we dined. The service was also average. The wine list was very limited, but nicely priced. When busy, it is almost impossible to carry on a conversation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    56
    28
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Memorable food, questionable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our large group had a memorable dinner here, taking advantage of the chef's evening special. What's odd is that their website quotes a 3-course meal for $29, which we were told was "not available any longer." We called up the website, showed them it was currently posted as such, and were still made to feel like we were out of our minds for asking. Shamed, in fact. We were told the website needs updating. I'd say so.

Had we not already planned for friends to meet us, we would have gone elsewhere. We did enjoy a handcut pasta dish and a nicely prepared salad along with sides of peas and spinach that left everyone content with the meal. But would we visit again? Not with so many other options nearby.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A great historic setting in the old barracks, love the simple decor that is sympathetic to the history. We had cocktails and a very good dinner. Was popular even for a Monday night and a pretty and nice easy walk from our hotel, The Inn on the Presidio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service and food all top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The first time I ate at this restaurant, you could hardly get a table. Now it's fairly easy to get a reservation and the only reason I can think of is that the crowds are trying newer places...who knows, all I can say is this is a gem of a place that hasn't disappointed me yet. I went here on a double date with another couple that loved it so much the first time we all went back on July 6th, about 2 months from the last time we were there. It's a wonderful atmosphere, the menu changes seasonally so there are new items on the menu in addition to the old standards. The cocktails are creative, the food fresh and the service is excellent. Huge windows across one entire wall of the restaurant make for nice views of the Presidio, and there are walking paths through the grounds where you can see the Golden Gate Bridge. It's not cheap, but I still consider it a great value for the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Noisy, pricey, pushy and much better nearby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This as local to where we were staying but is clearly frequented by those who drive (very large 4X4 vehicles from looking at the car park) because it has a dedicated car park. It is a good use of former military buildings in a nice setting in the Presidio grounds - that says about all the positives. The food was OK overall. The soup (corn chowder) and prawns were good but the meatloaf was dry and over spiced. We avoided dessert.

The place has little sound deadening material and is full of noisy groups. The most bizarre part - for Europeans and New Zealanders like us - was the ridiculous 5 minute-plus ritual the waitress had to go through explaining all the specials and what was in them/how they were cooked - cant this restaurant produce a typed sheet of specials to go with the menu so we can read and consider in peace instead of listening to this spiel at our table and then at al lthe neighbouring tables? Infuriating and stupid since it is impossible to remember all the details.

It was also clear that they operate a timetable apporach to tableoccupation and we felt "processed" through our very short evening. Incomparison with the excellent quality food and good service at nearby Liverpool Lil's on the previous night this was a very bad deal altogether. Good only for the view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Presidio Social Club also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Presidio Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidio Social Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.