We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting selections” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J Tu Cafe

J Tu Cafe
582 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Downtown)
(415) 433-5525
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,475 of 5,005 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting selections”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stopped in here to pick up lunch to bring back to a meeting at the Hotel Rex. I ordered a Greek salad with grilled chicken. Salad was good and chicken freshly made. Cooking the (juicy) chicken took a a while, but it was good. No bread (or pita) offered with it. Pretty average service. Mid-eastern menu choices looked interesting - maybe next time. OK for lunch - but wouldn't seek it out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    17
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irmo, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“New owner - great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The soup was amazing. Service was very quick and overall the restaurant was very good. The new owner came out and visited with us. He was very invested in our meal and discussed planned improvements. We would definitely give this place a try in the future!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor Service; cold food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I want to start off by saying this was the second time in a year that I ate at this resaurant and unfortunately I did not learn from my first experience :( Like the first time service was slow, it took the waitress a good 7-10 minute to acknowledge us after we sat. Furthermore, after being acknoledged it took another 10 minutes to get our drink order. Finally, we get our breakfast order and half of the order was cold; for both of us. The poor service also came with an attitude to match. I have learned from this second experience, I will not be going back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Don't waste your time and money there”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Horrible service. I might as well jump in the kitchen and made it myself. Server was rude, kept forgetting our water and kept on saying "water is comin" food was cold when it finally arrived. I would've been happier at macdonalds

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value and quick service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had all the basics for a good breakfast, quick service and clean appearance. Opened early and very reasonably priced. Good value for your money.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Tu Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to J Tu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Tu Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.