We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saha

Saha
1075 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Downtown)
(415) 345-9547
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Saha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #276 of 5,012 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Hyde & Larkin
Transit: #2,3,4
El Cerrito, CA.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Creative and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Food for vegans, vegetarians and carnivores. I eat a vegetable based diet and find the food complex and loaded with flavor. No bar, no cocktails (boo-hoo), but great wines. Inside the Hotel Carlton on Sutter St. No outdoor seating. Usually too cold in SF for that anyway. Restaurant space appears a little "tired" but the food is really terrific. Worth a visit for anyone who wants to taste what great vegetarian, vegan food can be when the chef knows what he/she is doing. It's a treat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    49
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pricey , service lack luster.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Saha and both of us feel that we could have easily had a better experience for what we spent for our meal. We thought that the food was good as well as the overall atmoshere of the restaurant but neither of us was in awe as some of the reviewers here evidently were. The portions are definately small plate where as the prices are definately not. We had to wait for water refill, extra bread and easily waited 10 minutes to get our check. In fact, we had to leave the table on two occasions to get service including to ask for our final check. Not a bad place but certainly not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

First experienced this amazing restaurant in 2006. Just returned to San Francisco and couldn't wait to go back...our first dining stop. It is every bit as gorgeous as we remembered. Last time we were here we went back a second time; we will do so again this trip. The decor is soft and Arabic fusion, just like the menu. The food is outstanding and think it a must for anyone who loves Middle Eastern and north African delights or would like to try some.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just off the lobby of the Hotel Carlton was the entrance to Saha. They were open for breakfast and had a large selection. The waitress was friendly and prompt in taking our order and the food was very good and tasty!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A San Francisco favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our third time here and again we loved it! There were five of us so we were able to order and share several of the small plates. The food is arabic fusion and the flavors are amazing. We especially loved the Yemeni Fouel, the Shakshuka and the Salmon Baklava. They also have a lot of vegetarian options. It is a small, cozy place but with a fun, exotic vibe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saha also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Saha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.