We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americano Restaurant and Bar

Americano Restaurant and Bar
8 Mission St, San Francisco, CA 94105-1227 (SoMa)
415-278-3777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Americano Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #435 of 4,523 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoMa
Cross street: Embarcadero
Transit: Muni F line will deliver you to the back of the hotel Two block walk from Embarcadero MUNI/BART station ( walk East on Market and make a right on Steurat Street then left on Mission. Hotel Vitale is on the corner.
CT
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

In the swanky hotel vital the breakfast was fabulous. I had spinach omelette hubby had mushroom scramble. Coffee is excellent service great. We sat at a table with a view. Very comfortable atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san Francisco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“fun and busy palce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

we enjoyed the setting and the very professional but relaxed crowd, seems like a hot spot for after work. We met some fun and friendly locals.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“nice way to spend the holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We dined here on Christmas and thus ordered from a special prix fixe 3 course holiday menu with choices within each course. All selections were excellent. Our entrees included Liberty duck breast, butter braised black cod, and the vegetable medley. Appetizers consisted of Tuscan kale soup and gnocchi with braised oxtail. All dishes were excellent. Desserts were sticky toffee pudding and cara-cara granite. There also is an excellent cocktail list and a very lively bar scene on some evenings. Both the décor and the service were gracious and refined. The dining rooms are very comfortable, but although the restaurant is on the Embarcadero, not all rooms have water views. You can request a water view when reserving.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pizza Salsiccia with house made pork saussage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

an absolute must when you are staying at the hotel or passing by in the area. Food is absolutely great in this place. Staff is super nice. Can only recommend hopping in for a glass of Napa whine and some Pizza/Pasta/Burger.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Very satisfying breakfast menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Mar 14-15, 2014
We enjoyed it so much that we returned the next morning. We had a choice of either Perry's or Americano Restaurant for breakfast. We definitely made a right choice, though Perry's on another visit would be fine. It has the look and the service.
On one day I had the short ribs with 2 poached eggs, and on the second day I had the bowl of special granola with fruit and yogurt. Brilliant choice!--together with a cup of robust coffee.
The food is so good here that it made me want to stay at the Hotel Vitale next time I am in San Francisco.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Americano Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Americano Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americano Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.