We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Parsonage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parsonage
Save
You added The Parsonage to your Saves list
198 Haight Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Hayes Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
den haag
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Not so good (anymore),
I think for the price you pay you may expect a faultless B&B; but that is not the case;
it all seems a little bit tired, the couple who is running the place, sure acts friendly but it is so obvious a show; probably it was very good before and they liked the work, But not anymore!
1. the breakfast is nice, but not much;
2. in our room there was a well placed note that said: " we appreciate a tip" We should have done that, because the last two days our room wasn't cleaned anymore
3. the rooms are also tired,
4. the bathroom was not so good (very poor we had no hot water
5. the publique area is sloppy and not clean
6. you also have to be a dog lover, because he is the real king of the house and is always present; so be careful....

This B&B has to be your taste I think, we had an wonderful stay in san fransico and definietely are coming back, but definitely not to this B&B. There are so many more and better options!

Room Tip: be very careful by choosing a room, because there is big difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsonette, Owner at The Parsonage, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We regret that you were unhappy with your visit.
We welcome (and frequently implement) constructive suggestions for making
The Parsonage a more welcoming and comfortable place for our guests.
However, the wide-ranging nature of your complaints leaves us perplexed..

John & Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    29
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
149
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights at The Parsonage, while attending a small wedding in the Parlor. It is a beautiful Victorian that has been lovingly restored. The owners, Joan and John took care of our every need, and Pilar the Portuguese Water Dog was very friendly. Breakfasts had several courses and everything was homemade. The breakfast table conversation was entertaining with folks from 3 countries. The location at Haight and Laguna was great, with good bus service at that corner. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you want to remain anonymous & pay over the odds stay in any hotel. Or stay at the Parsonage & have a better holiday!

Being British we paraded down to breakfast with our stiff upper lips, unsure of what to expect from the table conversation. Now wouldn't have it any other way! Presented with fresh fruit, juices, tea, coffee, and a different dish each morning. Absolute perfection & hospitality. We found out so much about the neighbourhood and the city from John, Joan & the other guests. Advice & tips on everything, from getting around to great places to eat. It's almost like we gained an extra day of holiday!

As you'd expect housekeeping superb, beautifully maintained historic building, luxurious surroundings, secure but relaxed. John & Joan really do welcome you into their gorgeous home, what a pleasure to meet such lovely folks.

Thank you to all at The Parsonage, you really made our trip special & we'll be back :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My mother and I just spent the weekend at The Parsonage and had a lovely time! The couple running the B&B are delightful as is their adorable dog. You truly feel like a guest in their beautiful home. The food was wonderful as was the location. It is walking distance to many restaurants, shopping, nightlife and public transportation. We had a wonderful time exploring the city and look forward to returning to The Parsonage!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely B&B in Hayes Valley. Breakfasts are great and the room was lovely, shower hot, water plentiful, bed fabulous, great view from the bedroom window. Pillar the Portuguese water dog an added treat. Easy access by bus to everywhere in SF. And you couldn't ask for nicer hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

On a recent business trip to San Francisco, rather than staying in a large chain hotel where my conference was taking place, i decided to stay at The Parsonage Inn, a bed and breakfast that is a five-minute bus ride from downtown. What's more, the bus, which runs frequently, stops right outside the Parsonage, which is also close to the streetcar. Instead of staying in the hotel where I could barely find a place outside the meeting rooms in which to sit, to eat or to make a phone call, I was able to get respite in this charming, relaxing and elegant Bed and Breakfast with all the amenities. The owners are a delightful and knowledgeable couple, who are helpful in pointing out everything from excellent restaurants to sights and provide maps, as well as directions. The breakfasts are scrumptious and the decor exquisite!The Parsonage has the advantage of being located in a neighborhood filled with "painted ladies," as the Victorian mansions are called, and is itself a beautifully appointed one. As an added bonus, if you happen to have a grown child in San Francisco, as I do, chances are that he or she lives in or near the neighborhood of The Parsonage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. They are all large, sunny, quiet and charmingly decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Gracious, hospitable and interesting hosts, a beautiful historic home, marvelous breakfasts, great location, immaculate rooms, comfortable beds, private baths... a lovely place to stay. The Hayes Valley neighborhood is wonderful to explore with many great shops and restaurants. Louise M. Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco Opera, San Francisco Conservatory of Music, Asian Art Museum, and the Civic Center are all within walking distance. Public transit is easy and just outside the door. The rooms are very private. There is an elevator - a real plus when you are on an upper floor. I thoroughly enjoyed visiting with other guests at breakfast. I highly recommend this charming, elegant and comfortable B&B, and the wonderful couple who welcome you into their home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage

Address: 198 Haight Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage is an architectural treasure in the heart of San Francisco's historic Hayes Valley, within easy walking distance of the opera house and some of the city's most dynamic restaurants. The elegant bedrooms have excellent queen beds, multiple pillows, superior linens, a marble shower, and good light; some have working fireplaces and/or views; one has a Victorian claw-footed bathtub. With superb access to public transportation, it is within blocks of highway 101, and walking distance of BART. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Parsonage Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parsonage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.