We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cutural Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parsonage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parsonage
Save
You added The Parsonage to your Saves list
198 Haight Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Hayes Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Nott's
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Cutural Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed here with my family in Aug/Sept 2013 for 6 nights we were trying to find a place that wasn’t a bland hotel and had character, boy did we strike gold. The location for the bay, downtown and music venues over in Fillmore was excellent with local bus links stopping just a few metres from the front door. The location is within a few hundred metres of Hayes Valley where there were several excellent restaurants. John & Joan made us extremely welcome with a relaxed manner and excellent conversation around the breakfast table of a morning. I might add that the breakfast also excellent and sufficient to satisfy a hungry 18 year hockey player! Would I go again? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    29
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
149
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Loved this home and lovely hosts-thank you both for everything- this was a lovely way to finish of our honeymoon in california. We loved the house (we liked to pretend it was ours we loved it!)

They were very helpful hosts and we loved breakfast each morning chatting with other guests. The home is beautiful and has been restored amazingly. The soufle, pankakes and eggs were all yummy,

Really loved that this was just 5 mins walk to main hayes valley area- perfect for dinner. Ohh one day we would love to return.

It felt like being part of real san fran, amongst the proper homes and the absolute best part of san fran to us was the "neighbourhood" vibe it had in the pretty streets and lovely homes- if we had stayed in a hotel we would not have experienced this.

Thank you again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

John and Joan were very welcoming and John really helped to orientate me and helped me find my feet. The Parsonage is in an excellent location, near several bus and tram routes, so that you can go in and out of the City easily. The Parsonage is clean and comfortable and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The victorian is exquisite, the hosts warm, the rooms comfortable, the breakfast scrumptious, the location genuine. My husband and I were thrilled with our experience- really the best B&B we have ever stayed in. It is nestled in a neighborhood with easy transportation access, wonderful restaurants, and some shopping nearby. We highly recommend The Parsonage!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Our six night stay at the Parsonnage was a delight.

Out if the cold and busy skyscrapers of union square area and the touristy fisherman's wharf, this beautiful Victorian house is perfectly located a few blocks from quaint Hayes street. Two bus lines stop right at the corner of the house to bring you anywhere in town.

Our guests Joan and John are the nicest charming people. The house is filled with beautiful antique furniture, objects of art and tastefully decorated with all the modern facilities.

And last but not least, the breakfast we were served was different every morning and oh so tasteful and refined. Homemade cooking of the best kind.

Thank you Joan and John for your warm reception.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by Joan on arrival and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the basement flat of the Parsonage. Everything we needed was there, except for a corkscrew and John immediately found one for us. He also made me a strong whisky sour which he assured me would cure the cold I had caught in the flight over: it certainly helped.
The flat has such style: the handsome bedrooms, the modern kitchen and bathroom, the comfortable chairs and old wooden furniture. We were able to relish our independence while knowing that as this was our first visit to San Francisco we could ask for help and advice when we needed to. We would have loved to have have stayed far longer and further explored San Francisco from such a comfortable, relaxing base. Thank you Joan and John.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We didn't get the best first impresson as Joan and John were out when we arrived so no one was there. There was a note on the door to say would be back in a few minutes and then Ricky arrived and showed us our room. Ricky was OK but he was in a bit of a rush and could not completely answer our questions (best places to eat being one as it was early evening and after a long drive we were ready to eat). Joan and John are great hosts and were very accomodating with breakfast when we told them that we had an early tour start the next day. They seemed more concerned about us getting out the door in time that we were. John also gave us a lot of tourist advice and was better than any guide that we came across. Great location to see the city with public transport very close. We did find the bed a little hard but other than that the room was very nice. Parking can of course be a challenge so if you do happen to be driving find a good spot and only move your car if you have to. We enjoyed dinners at Samovar (very close), Mazzat (also close by) and Hayes & Kebab (again within walking distance).

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage

Address: 198 Haight Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage is an architectural treasure in the heart of San Francisco's historic Hayes Valley, within easy walking distance of the opera house and some of the city's most dynamic restaurants. The elegant bedrooms have excellent queen beds, multiple pillows, superior linens, a marble shower, and good light; some have working fireplaces and/or views; one has a Victorian claw-footed bathtub. With superb access to public transportation, it is within blocks of highway 101, and walking distance of BART. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Parsonage Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parsonage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.