We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parsonage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parsonage
Save
You added The Parsonage to your Saves list
198 Haight Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Hayes Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

John and Joan were very welcoming and John really helped to orientate me and helped me find my feet. The Parsonage is in an excellent location, near several bus and tram routes, so that you can go in and out of the City easily. The Parsonage is clean and comfortable and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    29
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
144
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The victorian is exquisite, the hosts warm, the rooms comfortable, the breakfast scrumptious, the location genuine. My husband and I were thrilled with our experience- really the best B&B we have ever stayed in. It is nestled in a neighborhood with easy transportation access, wonderful restaurants, and some shopping nearby. We highly recommend The Parsonage!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our six night stay at the Parsonnage was a delight.

Out if the cold and busy skyscrapers of union square area and the touristy fisherman's wharf, this beautiful Victorian house is perfectly located a few blocks from quaint Hayes street. Two bus lines stop right at the corner of the house to bring you anywhere in town.

Our guests Joan and John are the nicest charming people. The house is filled with beautiful antique furniture, objects of art and tastefully decorated with all the modern facilities.

And last but not least, the breakfast we were served was different every morning and oh so tasteful and refined. Homemade cooking of the best kind.

Thank you Joan and John for your warm reception.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by Joan on arrival and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the basement flat of the Parsonage. Everything we needed was there, except for a corkscrew and John immediately found one for us. He also made me a strong whisky sour which he assured me would cure the cold I had caught in the flight over: it certainly helped.
The flat has such style: the handsome bedrooms, the modern kitchen and bathroom, the comfortable chairs and old wooden furniture. We were able to relish our independence while knowing that as this was our first visit to San Francisco we could ask for help and advice when we needed to. We would have loved to have have stayed far longer and further explored San Francisco from such a comfortable, relaxing base. Thank you Joan and John.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We didn't get the best first impresson as Joan and John were out when we arrived so no one was there. There was a note on the door to say would be back in a few minutes and then Ricky arrived and showed us our room. Ricky was OK but he was in a bit of a rush and could not completely answer our questions (best places to eat being one as it was early evening and after a long drive we were ready to eat). Joan and John are great hosts and were very accomodating with breakfast when we told them that we had an early tour start the next day. They seemed more concerned about us getting out the door in time that we were. John also gave us a lot of tourist advice and was better than any guide that we came across. Great location to see the city with public transport very close. We did find the bed a little hard but other than that the room was very nice. Parking can of course be a challenge so if you do happen to be driving find a good spot and only move your car if you have to. We enjoyed dinners at Samovar (very close), Mazzat (also close by) and Hayes & Kebab (again within walking distance).

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed in the newly available self-contained street level flat. Fantastic accommodation - 2 bedrooms with very comfortable beds, large modern bathroom, kitchen and lounge. Absolutely perfect. Our hosts, John and Joan graciously offered breakfasts (which were excellent) although we could have managed all our meals in the well equipped kitchen. They were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble; John even organised special breakfasts for me when he discovered I was vegetarian. The only downside was the street noise, which mostly ceased around 11pm, but that was managed with earplugs. This is a fabulous location in the Hayes Valley - Joan pointed us in the direction of cute boutiques, charming cafes and bars/restaurants just a few blocks away. The bus to downtown is literally at the door (although the walk is easily managed) and for the grand sum of $2 you can ride for 3 hours. The trolley bus is only a couple of blocks away. The Parsonage is a beautifully appointed grand Victorian mansion, you really get a sense of the city's history. Thanyou John, Joan and the charming Pilar for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon, spending two nights at The Parsonage, and we had an absolutely wonderful time. In fact, having done a lot of sightseeing in the city, we found the bed & breakfast and the owners, Joan, John, and their dog, Pilar, to be the best part of the trip.

The moment we walked into the unassuming Victorian house on the corner of Haight and Laguna, we were blown away by its beauty and charm. Our bedroom was wonderfully romantic with a four-post bed, antique furniture, spacious bathroom with sky lighting, and a claw-foot bathtub.

One of our favorite parts of the stay was breakfast in the morning (the delicious smells filled the house, pleasantly waking you from sleep). When we were there, Joan made soufflé with preserves and sourdough waffles, which were made from John's father's sourdough starter, which has stayed alive for over 50 years. The breakfast was also accompanied with delicious, local, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, oatmeal, and Tartine bread (a local bakery that is internationally known). But what made the breakfast even more exceptional was the fact that all the guests were seated around one table and engaged in conversation. We met a French teacher, his wife and daughter, an IT professional from London, and an immigrant lawyer couple from North Carolina. All wonderful people. All providing wonderful conversation.

The location is also perfectly placed if you're looking to walk to great restaurants and areas. My wife and I were able to walk to the Castro district, Mission district, and Valencia. We ate at Bar Jules, Delfina, Pizzeria Delfina, Tartine Bakery, Rosmunde Sausages and Toronado Bar.

If you're looking for authenticity, charm, beauty, pleasant company and conversation, and a momentary retreats from the city, The Parsonage is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage

Address: 198 Haight Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley , The Haight
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage is an architectural treasure in the heart of San Francisco's historic Hayes Valley, within easy walking distance of the opera house and some of the city's most dynamic restaurants. The elegant bedrooms have excellent queen beds, multiple pillows, superior linens, a marble shower, and good light; some have working fireplaces and/or views; one has a Victorian claw-footed bathtub. With superb access to public transportation, it is within blocks of highway 101, and walking distance of BART. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Parsonage Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parsonage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.