We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in a great, central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parsonage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parsonage
198 Haight Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Hayes Valley)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in a great, central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I hadn't been to San Francisco together in many years, so we decided to do a 4-day weekend there in early December. I found The Parsonage online, and we're so glad I did. Everything about our stay was just right!

First of all, we like the location, because we're diehard walkers. Though the public transit options are plentiful and very convenient to The Parsonage, we just walked all over the city. Each day, we struck out in a different direction. From The Parsonage, we walked to North Beach, ChinaTown, the Financial District, Fisherman's Wharf, Pacific Heights, Hayes Valley, the Mission District, Doloros Park, Haight Ashbury, Golden Gate Park and More. Also, there are some really good restaurants within short distances from the house. (For example, tea drinkers shouldn't miss Samovar, which is only one block away.)

Joan and John are the perfect hosts -- extraordinarily gracious and warm. They anticipate and meet their guests needs, and are available while also unobtrusive. The breakfasts they serve are wonderful, and the conversation is pleasant and interesting.

We stayed on the top floor in the Julia Morgan room. Like all rooms in the house, ours was filled with wonderful antiques. The hosts have good stories about many of the pieces -- as well as even more intersting stories about the history of the house and its former owners.

We've stayed at B&Bs all over the U.S. and in a few other countries. Though we've stayed in some very nice ones, in the past there has always been something that wasn't to our liking. Not so at The Parsonage. We liked everything about it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    28
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
143
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I decided to visit San Fransisco for our 25th wedding anniversary. Our preference was to find a pleasant B&B in which to stay instead of a large hotel. We came upon The Parsonage and right from the outset in making the reservations, to our experience in spending several nights there we only have positive things to say! Pat and Alison are hosting in the absence of the owners who are in Europe right now, and they were very helpful and accommodating in every respect. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms are very nicely appointed! This large home has a very interesting history and is full of ambiance! We highly recommend THE PARSONAGE to anyone who wants an authentic San Fransisco holiday!!
John & Margaret

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herethereandeverywhere
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Couldnt be happier with the location or the room/house. And the other guests were all very interesting. The perfect base for a uniquely San Francisco experience... Beautiful place to start and end the day and walking distance to hayes valley, the haight and mission

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Joan and John are truly kind, gracious hosts who welcomed us so warmly into their charming home and were so considerate of our every need. Pilar the dog is also a gorgeous and welcoming host!

We spent four nights in the Luisa Tetrazinni room and were so comfortable in this large, elegant room with its own fireplace. The super-charged heated towel rail in our bathroom created a warm, cosy room (perfect for San Francisco's colder months) and it also dried our travel clothes overnight (very helpful for any traveler needing to do some quick laundry!).

Joan and John serve a beautiful home-cooked breakfast each morning (we especially loved John's granola!) and we really enjoyed the round-table breakfast conversations with our hosts and the other guests. Apart from breakfast, we were unaware of other guests as this grand 'old lady' house is so large and amazingly sound-proof (modern houses just don't compete with the construction of yesteryear!). It is a privilege to stay in one of these original old houses San Francisco is famous for.

We were not bothered by any street noise, despite our windows opening onto a busy road. There is a bus stop right outside the Parsonage to take you to the wharf. The Parsonage is also within walking distance of several other sites (eg. (in)famous Haight Ashbury) although we did not feel particularly safe wandering some of these San Francisco streets and definitely would not choose to walk any of these streets after dark.

If you are after a personable experience with beautiful hosts in one of San Francisco's charming old houses - look no further! Thank you Joan and John for a wonderful stay - you are two of San Francisco's living treasures!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Joan and John made us feel at home from the moment we walked in. We had travelled to San Francisco, from London, to get married. Our room was beautiful with a working fireplace and four poster bed - the bathroom was heavenly! All of our wedding party were welcomed, and we were allowed to use the parlour to host a champagne reception. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit and a hot option. This bed and breakfast is one of a kind and the gorgeous interior is not to be missed. Thanks for everything! Paul & Phil..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our first stay at The Parsonage. We visit San Francisco three or four times a year and have stayed at many hotels. The Parsonage went above and beyond to make us welcome.
My husband is gluten free and I dairy free.
We were served gluten free cereal gluten free bread and soy milk. I know that many of you may think that would be expected but I cant tell you how many places either do not accommodate or say they will and don't . Our room was beautify decorated as was the rest of the house. I we are lucky enough to get a reservation we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I frequently travel to San Francisco for business - yet my last trip really stood out. John and Joan made it truly memorable - their beautiful home, outstanding breakfasts, enjoyable conversation at the communal table, and also Pilar - their friendly dog. I'm really grateful to them for finding space for me (and thereby giving me tour of the unique rooms of the house over the duration of my stay). Thank you - I hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage

Address: 198 Haight Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley , The Haight
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage is an architectural treasure in the heart of San Francisco's historic Hayes Valley, within easy walking distance of the opera house and some of the city's most dynamic restaurants. The elegant bedrooms have excellent queen beds, multiple pillows, superior linens, a marble shower, and good light; some have working fireplaces and/or views; one has a Victorian claw-footed bathtub. With superb access to public transportation, it is within blocks of highway 101, and walking distance of BART. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Parsonage Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parsonage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Parsonage to your Saves list