We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in heart of SF Chinatown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Pacific Motor Inn to your Saves list
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in heart of SF Chinatown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I ended up staying at this hotel for a conference at the Moscone Center after my original hotel near Union Square got overbooked. It was a pretty solid walk to the Moscone Center (25-30 min) but it's also really easy to catch one of several buses that go straight downtown. This hotel is also very close to many markets and restaurants in Chinatown and North Beach (essentially Little Italy). An awesome view from Coit Tower is also a short walk away. The hotel itself was decent. It's nothing fancy and the rooms are a bit dated, but it was clean and the staff was very nice, which are 2 of the most important things.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    139
    107
    33
    9
See reviews for
79
136
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Love this place...free parking! And he up graded my visit. Staff is very nice and i love the location...where in the city can you go across the street and get an amazing dinner for 12.69$! That would be Man Kee..!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful when asked for directions etc, but we did have to ask (ie businesslike rather than hospitable). Great to get free parking here but it can take some manoeuvring to park a mid size car (I'm told this is still better than many other central motels in SF). Once at the motel you don't need a car much anyway as this is a very handy location with good public transport connections. Neighbourhood is interesting, with a lively night life on the weekend. The motel appears to attract a wide mix of guests, including a significant number young men in party mood - not that they caused any problems. The motel is close to the red light district but street noise was only noticeable one night out of three (Saturday before Halloween) and we felt quite safe. If noise worries you you probably shouldn't stay in Chinatown, but the immediate street front of the motel is actually relatively quiet most of the time. Rooms seem to have adequate noise insulation.
Hint: wander around the back streets of Chinatown a little - much more interesting than the tourist strip.

Room Tip: Street frontage rooms are probably noisier as they are not far off the road/sidewalk but they do mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location with easy access to restaurants and pbars (Columbus Avenue) and sightseeing. Parking is included! Room was clean and better than what was expected on other reviews. We faced the street and the street noise was minimal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were greeted with a friendly smile! Check in was quick and easy, we liked the free parking!We received a room on the 5th floor that was clean and a nice size (12' X12.4') not including the bathroom which was clean and looked like it had been updated recently. The bed is comfy too. There was traffic noise but for the location, we did OK for the night. Ken, one of the office staff helped us open a bottle of wine. We will stay again!

Room Tip: Bring your own feather pillow if you like them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in September 2012. It's an old style motel with a large car park and a very small lobby and doesn't look much from the street, but it was clean and comfortable and we loved the location. We had a large room facing the street with a shared balcony and view across Chinatown to the Oakland Bay Bridge in the middle distance. Our room had tea and coffee making facilities and an old TV. The bathroom was ok, with a good hot water service.
The surrounding area is quite run-down and most of the residents are elderly Chinese. It 's an interesting area to explore on foot, and is about 15 minutes walk downhill to Union Square. We also walked to the excellent Cable Car Museum and to Portsmouth Square, and you can walk through Little Italy to Fishermen's Wharf.
The staff were friendly and will print boarding passes for you. The free wifi worked very well in the lobby, but was a bit on-and-off in our room.
The area is quite dirty and noisy during the day, but we are used to such areas and it wasn't a problem for us. The traffic noise dies down about 11 pm and starts up around 5 am.
It was a bit expensive at A$176 per night with no breakfast, but it's worth it for the convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Central Location in SF, 20 minutes to Fishermans Wharf and 20 minutes to Union Square with plenty of other things to see in the vicinity.
The hotel staff were very accommodating when we decided to stay an extra night and moved other bookings around so we could stay in our same room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#114 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Union Square
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#120 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#117 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#124 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#111 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#108 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Pacific Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.