We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE RP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Pacific Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
2 reviews
“THE RP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Love this place...free parking! And he up graded my visit. Staff is very nice and i love the location...where in the city can you go across the street and get an amazing dinner for 12.69$! That would be Man Kee..!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    110
    72
    20
    5
See reviews for
56
101
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful when asked for directions etc, but we did have to ask (ie businesslike rather than hospitable). Great to get free parking here but it can take some manoeuvring to park a mid size car (I'm told this is still better than many other central motels in SF). Once at the motel you don't need a car much anyway as this is a very handy location with good public transport connections. Neighbourhood is interesting, with a lively night life on the weekend. The motel appears to attract a wide mix of guests, including a significant number young men in party mood - not that they caused any problems. The motel is close to the red light district but street noise was only noticeable one night out of three (Saturday before Halloween) and we felt quite safe. If noise worries you you probably shouldn't stay in Chinatown, but the immediate street front of the motel is actually relatively quiet most of the time. Rooms seem to have adequate noise insulation.
Hint: wander around the back streets of Chinatown a little - much more interesting than the tourist strip.

Room Tip: Street frontage rooms are probably noisier as they are not far off the road/sidewalk but they do mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location with easy access to restaurants and pbars (Columbus Avenue) and sightseeing. Parking is included! Room was clean and better than what was expected on other reviews. We faced the street and the street noise was minimal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were greeted with a friendly smile! Check in was quick and easy, we liked the free parking!We received a room on the 5th floor that was clean and a nice size (12' X12.4') not including the bathroom which was clean and looked like it had been updated recently. The bed is comfy too. There was traffic noise but for the location, we did OK for the night. Ken, one of the office staff helped us open a bottle of wine. We will stay again!

Room Tip: Bring your own feather pillow if you like them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in September 2012. It's an old style motel with a large car park and a very small lobby and doesn't look much from the street, but it was clean and comfortable and we loved the location. We had a large room facing the street with a shared balcony and view across Chinatown to the Oakland Bay Bridge in the middle distance. Our room had tea and coffee making facilities and an old TV. The bathroom was ok, with a good hot water service.
The surrounding area is quite run-down and most of the residents are elderly Chinese. It 's an interesting area to explore on foot, and is about 15 minutes walk downhill to Union Square. We also walked to the excellent Cable Car Museum and to Portsmouth Square, and you can walk through Little Italy to Fishermen's Wharf.
The staff were friendly and will print boarding passes for you. The free wifi worked very well in the lobby, but was a bit on-and-off in our room.
The area is quite dirty and noisy during the day, but we are used to such areas and it wasn't a problem for us. The traffic noise dies down about 11 pm and starts up around 5 am.
It was a bit expensive at A$176 per night with no breakfast, but it's worth it for the convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Central Location in SF, 20 minutes to Fishermans Wharf and 20 minutes to Union Square with plenty of other things to see in the vicinity.
The hotel staff were very accommodating when we decided to stay an extra night and moved other bookings around so we could stay in our same room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ideally situated,friendly staff,clean room. Not a 4 star but excellent value for money. As we spent all day etc sight seeing, suited us fine. Part of our 5 week California, Hawaai tour, The Pacific was a Budget few days in SF. Laundrette on ground floor worked well. Gave up our car for this part of tour, Hotel was handy for Bus, Tram to City Centre, Fishermans Wharf etc.
Would recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for inside room over car park, not street facing, could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Pacific Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.