We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China Town Action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Royal Pacific Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“China Town Action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location with easy access to restaurants and pbars (Columbus Avenue) and sightseeing. Parking is included! Room was clean and better than what was expected on other reviews. We faced the street and the street noise was minimal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    110
    70
    19
    5
See reviews for
53
101
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were greeted with a friendly smile! Check in was quick and easy, we liked the free parking!We received a room on the 5th floor that was clean and a nice size (12' X12.4') not including the bathroom which was clean and looked like it had been updated recently. The bed is comfy too. There was traffic noise but for the location, we did OK for the night. Ken, one of the office staff helped us open a bottle of wine. We will stay again!

Room Tip: Bring your own feather pillow if you like them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in September 2012. It's an old style motel with a large car park and a very small lobby and doesn't look much from the street, but it was clean and comfortable and we loved the location. We had a large room facing the street with a shared balcony and view across Chinatown to the Oakland Bay Bridge in the middle distance. Our room had tea and coffee making facilities and an old TV. The bathroom was ok, with a good hot water service.
The surrounding area is quite run-down and most of the residents are elderly Chinese. It 's an interesting area to explore on foot, and is about 15 minutes walk downhill to Union Square. We also walked to the excellent Cable Car Museum and to Portsmouth Square, and you can walk through Little Italy to Fishermen's Wharf.
The staff were friendly and will print boarding passes for you. The free wifi worked very well in the lobby, but was a bit on-and-off in our room.
The area is quite dirty and noisy during the day, but we are used to such areas and it wasn't a problem for us. The traffic noise dies down about 11 pm and starts up around 5 am.
It was a bit expensive at A$176 per night with no breakfast, but it's worth it for the convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Central Location in SF, 20 minutes to Fishermans Wharf and 20 minutes to Union Square with plenty of other things to see in the vicinity.
The hotel staff were very accommodating when we decided to stay an extra night and moved other bookings around so we could stay in our same room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ideally situated,friendly staff,clean room. Not a 4 star but excellent value for money. As we spent all day etc sight seeing, suited us fine. Part of our 5 week California, Hawaai tour, The Pacific was a Budget few days in SF. Laundrette on ground floor worked well. Gave up our car for this part of tour, Hotel was handy for Bus, Tram to City Centre, Fishermans Wharf etc.
Would recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for inside room over car park, not street facing, could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

There is nothing royal in this hotel! The staff was very friendly, but when we made complaints about our room, they could not do anything, just gave us a paper to fill in which they could then forward to the owner. The room was very small, not very clean and we had no refridgerator. Our wardrobe's door was broken. The bed was quite uncomfortable. Gladly the location was perfect for us, short distance to Union Square and all the nice bars in the North Beach area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First of all the positives, the hotel is situated in a great spot, about 15-20 minutes walk to Fishermans Wharf, and right next to Chinatown and Little Italy. Mostly everything was within walking distance.
The room was clean and there was free parking included which is a big bonus, however this was a very expensive hotel with next to no facilities.We paid 698 dollars for 3 nights stay at the end of September! Which was more than we were quoted at the beginning. There was no air conditioning, it was EXTREMELY noisy, there was no fridge (which we could have done with) or microwave, the T.V. was not up to much, although to be fair we were not there to watch T.V., the wi-fi was not very good and it is close to the local fire station so there are sirens going very often including half the night and the walls are thin, so you can hear other guests including when their showers were turned on as well as all the street noise.
It is very basic, and scruffy, although clean inside the room.
The maid leaves a couple of danish pastries and there is a coffee maker in the bathroom with coffee, whitener, and sugar but that's it. We travelled for two weeks up the Californian coast from L.A. to San Francisco and this was the most expensive and least value for money place we had stayed including Hollywood, Long Beach, Santa Barbara and many more.
Even with the location and parking we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, not the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Pacific Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.