We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean budget lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Pacific Motor Inn to your Saves list
Royal Pacific Motor Inn
661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean budget lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Royal Pacific Motor Inn, and although I was nervous based on some reviews, I was happy with our stay. Some reviews mention the seedy area. The overall area isn't bad at all, BUT as we drove down Broadway, I got very nervous - a block or two before the hotel is a small "red-light" area, with a good amount of strip clubs. My 14 yo son thought it was pretty funny, my 11 yo daughter didn't notice. The block it's in is fine, though, with restaurants, another hotel and some markets and stores. You might want to check it out on Google streetview, though, and see if it is in your comfort zone.

The room itself was fine. Since there are 4 of us in a room, it took me a while to find a hotel with queen beds, rather than doubles. The beds are true queens, and big enough for 2 to share. It is rather dated, but scrupulously clean. We got a 5th floor room on the back side, and found it very quiet. The free parking was a huge savings - other hotels were charging around $45 - $55 a night. The free wifi was predictably slow, but that is typical of hotel wifi.

For what it is - a budget hotel in a tourist city - we were very pleased. If you are looking for luxury with lots of amenities, you might need to look elsewhere and pay more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor away from Broadway if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    122
    91
    24
    6
See reviews for
64
115
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We enjoyed our night here in this clean motel steps away from Chinatown and Little Italy. Although parking is free, the lot is tiny and is frequently full, so it cannot be counted on. The room was comfortable and reasonably quiet and the beds were comfortable. Not fancy, but certainly a bargain -- we were pleased.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on the border of Chinatown & Little Italy. There is an abundance of good food within walking distance, but not fast food chains. Room was spotless, front counter staff could not have made us feel more welcome! This is an older property that has been well maintained. Don't judge it by the pictures! Would return again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I spent nearly two weeks here recently. The good: Parking is included! (a bargain for central San Fran). Location is excellent, in china town, 10mins walk to the ferry building, 10mins to Union square and 15mins to Fisherman's Wharf/Pier 39. Free Wifi. Coin operated laundry. The bad: Well there isn't anything bad really which is how I'd like to sum it up. The rooms are dated but clean. Walls are too thin perhaps. No aircon but a very effective and noisy fan heater. It's a 70's motel still sporting a 70's style in the middle of a built up area. Bizarre. Go in with your eyes open. But if you want 1)parking and 2)free wifi at a 3) low price in a 4)very convenient location for discovering San Fran then it's very hard to beat.

Room Tip: Go for a lowish floor - you can use the steps and avoid the elevator then if you so wish. Also choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was intrigued by all the positive reviews I read about this hotel but when my friend and I arrived, we were very disappointed! First of all, for $170 a night for 2 people, accommodations and even location should have been much better. Our room had an awful smell when we came in. It smelled like burnt rubber. We tried to change to another room on a different floor but there was the same smell there too!!! It was so bad that people next door to us were sitting with their door open to "air out the room" because their room had the same smell. Then, my friend went to take a shower and literally got stuck because the shower door was completely broken. I had to rescue her! The door was never fixed and we just kept it open out of frustration. We checked out the very following day and went to a motel that wasn't too far away but was cheaper, much nicer and also had the free parking. Last but not least, in a hurry to get out of there, I forgot my phone charger in the room and when I called an hour or so later, they said they never found anything. I don't really believe they even looked for it which is very sad. Basically, I vote a no on this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband and I chose this as a cheap one-night option for visiting some friends in town on business. The location was perfect and the fact that they had FREE PARKING definitely sealed the deal - the parking even accommodated our big pickup truck! The rooms aren't the nicest ever, but they didn't make my skin crawl like some cheap-o hotels I've stayed in before. I actually loved the fact that it was in Chinatown; so much diversity, movement, markets! Upon stumbling back to our hotel that night we even discovered a hole-in-the-wall burger and pizza joint across the street. We walked into Sam's Burgers and Pizza to discover it was recommended by Anthony Bourdain on his show "The Layover." Not only are the burgers county fair worthy, but the mix of people coming in and out was so much fun! I made friends with an Algerian who spoke French and is often confused for Russian. Ha! You never know what you'll get in the City on the Bay. One downside to the motor inn: they say breakfast included, but that translates to "two packaged honey buns sitting on the table in your room." Oh well, you saved on parking and now you can splurge on breakfast out!

Room Tip: We were tucked back on the first floor behind the office and I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here for two nights with some friends when we came into town for a football game. The Royal Pacific is located at the north end of Chinatown and just south of Little Italy. Staff was very friendly and check-in and check-out was very quick. They also had free maps of the city available in the lobby.

Room had two queen beds, a table with two chairs. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom. A door separated the sink area to the bath tub/toilet. Our room was not noisy at night, and had no problems with temperature. Furniture is a bit outdated, but everything was clean.

We did not have a car but parking is free. A BART station or the trolley system is not within a block, but several bus stops are located right by the hotel.

This may not be the best place to stay for an expensive honeymoon, but is a great deal for the price and location. There are quite a few restaurants and bakeries open late near the hotel. I will stay here again for future trips to the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pacific Motor Inn

Address: 661 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pacific Motor Hotel San Francisco
Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Pacific Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.