We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in SF!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Orchard Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Orchard Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book a Free Breakfast PKG
Ranked #16 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in SF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Had not been to San Francisco in 19 years and wanted a "non chain" hotel. This one was exceptional. Location could not be better - right next to Chinatown Gate. Deluxe room was spacious and terrific bathroom. Two suggestions: First, skip the breakfast buffet - it's pretty basic - and eat across the street at the Cafe de la Presse. Second, park yourself in the Sutter Stockton Garage. You won't find any better bargain for parking anywhere in the city. We look forward to our next stay at the Orchard Garden.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    354
    70
    21
    12
See reviews for
226
472
87
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Really nice and private All the reviews we read were on the money Can't say enough about the Staff Super friendly and helpful Very clean and quiet We had a great stay and highly recommend this hotel Definitely go to Dotty's True Blue Cafe on Jones St for Breakfast Stay away form the Eagle cafe on Fisherman's wharf tourist rip off WAY over priced A nice little French place not far from the hotel was Rue LePique - highly recommend Also try Venticello- really nice small atmosphere with a killer view of the golden gate at night Ask for the table downstairs by the window Lefy Odoule's turned out to be a really fun place with corned beef and pastrami sandwiches for 6.95 and a piano bar that was raucous Go later in the evening
A really great bargain was the ferry to Sausalito $16 round trip and you get a dynamite boat ride across the bay to Sausalito - goes right past the rock
Watch out for those hills - Last recommendation - GET A TROLLEY PASS for $20 Well worth it They charge $5 a person each way and you WILL ride the trolley a lot
PS Could not leave out Tony's Pizza in north Beach the bartender there is a chemist He'll make you anything and then some
San Francisco is a great city to visit! Enjoy it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I spent 4 nights in this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The location was excellent as it is located right next to the chinatown gate and easy walking distance to the Moscone Center and lots of shopping. Easy trolley ride to Fisherman's Wharf.

The staff here was extremely friendly and took the time to talk to me and give me directions. The rooms were more than adequate. I did find them a little small, but not overly cramped. They do offer movies you can sign out at the front desk which is an added bonus and internet access is free which is a must for me. The room came equipped with a safe, small work area, fridge, DVD player, and the usual toiletries including robes. I thought the towels were great, nice and thick and not some cheap thin useless material. 100% Egyptian cotton.

Definitely a hotel I would return to on my next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the Orchid Garden for 4 nights and found the hotel to be everything we had read on trip advisor. The room was spacious and the staff were very pleasant. Being right on the edge of Chinatown and Union Sq meant we had easy access to everything we wanted to do. We stayed in 4 hotels on this trip total in Northern CA and the Orchid Garden was the nicest for the money!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Just returned from our 17th wedding anniversary celebration trip to SF and Monterey. I used all of the info gathered right here on TripAdviser and I'm SO happy to have had a reliable source. This hotel's location was perfect- so close to the trolley and so easy to get to shops and restaurants. The room was bright and clean and we were rather impressed with the free wifi (high speed had a fee but the lower speed was free and worked great for internet surfing) as well as free movie checkout. We stayed in a very upscale hotel in Monterey which did not offer free wifi nor free movies so, in retrospect, this was a wonderful perk

The only downsides were the bed (a bit hard) and the lack of knowledge that the staff seems to have. No one could recommend where to get great coffee (shrugged their shoulders and suggested Starbucks, which there seem to be two of on every single block).

BUT, for the price, I still rate this hotel quite high. It exceeded our expectations and we would happily recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed here for three nights, and then again in 4 days for the remaining 4 nights of our CA trip. The hotel was great. Highlights were location, cleanliness, and staff. The staff was helpful and very nice. When we returned (after renting a car and driving down the coast and to Yosemite), they upgraded our room to a larger room and gave us turn-down service and chocolates at night, which our teenage kids really liked. The location couldn't have been better. It is right next to Chintown, so we spent much time walking those streets, but we could also easily get to other areas by taxi. (Public transportation is not too great in SF, so for a family of 4, taxi's were best.) There is a great bagel cafe nearby, called Posh Bagel, which we ate at almost everyday for breakfast, except for one day when we had to go to a quaint crepe place we found. ("delicious!", so look for that as well!) We would get extra bagels to go so that if we got hungry while sight-seeing, we each had something to hold us over until a late lunch or early dinner.
The only one thing that I would have preferred is to have either two queen beds in the room, or at least one of them to be queen size. There was plenty of room for the larger beds, and with a family of four we had to share. I am used to a queen bed with my husband!
One additional suggestion: go to the top floor ("garden' or "terrace") for a great view and pictures of some of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This boutique hotel is a gem situated in the best location in San Francisco for discovering the city. This was my third trip to SF in the past year and I've stayed at a different small hotel each time, hoping I'd find one that was perfect. I have! It has 80 rooms which affords both privacy and attention from the staff. The staff goes the extra mile by promptly servicing your room and turning down your bed in the early evening. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are modern with good water pressure. They also have a free DVD movie collection you can borrow from, so I watched Alcatraz after taking a tour of the prison. Many great restaurants are located close by for dining and even when the nearby financial district gets quiet on the weekends, it's a pleasant walk to North Beach or the Embarcadero. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2006, The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing state-of-the-art amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! Built to the national standards of green building developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the hotel is also California's debut of a guest room key card energy control system, which reduces an overall of 20% energy consumption. The Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. Whether you are at our Roots restaurant eating locally sourced foods or relaxing on our rooftop garden, you will be at ease with us. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.