We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Orchard Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Orchard Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast on US Package!
Ranked #20 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellence in Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This small hotel was a real surprise. Located in a very central location next to the China Town Gate. The room was a bit small but it was very comfortable and contained everything you need, including coffee maker, iron & board. Free Wi-Fi available. The staff were very friendly, professionally trained and helpful. I have noted that this hotel has won some awards for environment friendliness. Breakfast was not included in my room charge so I had to buy it at the restaurant and it was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Your review was great, thank you ever so much for the nice feedback. I will agree, our location is fantastic with easy access to most of the famous sightseeing spots. We are glad you also felt our room and guest amenities have liked up to your expectations. Thank you for your compliments about the staffs. Our team is truly one of a kind. Caring, sincere and always willing to help our guests for any of their needs. We are the first Green certified hotel here in San Francisco. We are so proud of our continued efforts in providing an environment friendly atmosphere to our guests and the community. Thanks again for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    380
    80
    22
    13
See reviews for
240
499
90
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were very pleased that the room was ready although we arrived with an early flight. The room (two queen) was clean and well maintained. The location, right next to the Chinese Gate, is perfect. Staff was very attentive and helpful in any kind. We definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We appreciate very much your kind words about the hotel and staffs. We are pleased that you liked the hotel location and found our room clean and well maintained. As you mention, our team is truly one of a kind. Caring, sincere and always willing to help a guest in any way that they could possibly manage. Thanks again for the review. We are so glad to hear that you will come back to stay with us in future. See you soon!
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Orchard Garden Hotel is located in a great spot. The rooms are very clean and pleasent, although a bit small. Some issues: 1. There was no such thing as official housekeeping service. Each time I called for service I got an answerig machine!!! and was told that after 5pm there is no service. So I called the front desk who did their best to provide whatever was necessary. All other little problems were related to the lack in professional housekeeping services. The day before we left they didnt make up the room let alone provide "turn down" room services. I wanted another cover/quilt and was told I can't get one - just a blanket. My husband and I each like our own covers...There are dispensers in the shower which I believe are for "environment" reasons (as opposed to sample bottles) but things like moisturizer were never provided after the first time. I personnaly think dispensers are more for low class motel or hotels. . They did compensate my mother with a suite after they couldn't open her room at check in. Staff is OK depends who'se at the desk. Overall we had a good time

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you liked our room and found it very clean and pleasant. We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment of our Housekeeping Services and guest amenities. Please rest assured, we have taken your feedback very seriously to heart and have addressed them to the right hand of the personnel and department for the attentions and improvements. We are very glad that your overall stay has been a good one. Thanks again for the review. We hope to see you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We arrived very late, almost midnight, due to flight and ground delays.

The next day, when we asked the front desk person, Angie, for a slight extended checkout (1 PM instead of 12 noon), she stated that they did not allow extended checkout without paying a half days charge. Even though we explained that we arrived very late and just needed a little more time, they would not budge. I even explained that I have never been to a hotel, especially one in San Francisco that costs more than $250 per night, to not be able to allow their guests who arrive late a little more time in the morning.

What a terrible experience for our anniversary getaway. In addition, the room had about the worst view I have seen, even for a downtown hotel, of a parking lot, and the couch in the room and overall room decor/carpet was quite grungy, like an old rental. It was not like other boutique hotels we have been to that have a cleaner fresher appearance.

Green Features: We have been to environmentally friendly hotels that somehow use better shower heads to increase pressure. This one was poor pressure.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry to hear that your overall experience was disappointing due to deficiencies in some areas during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology on the way your request for a latter check out was being handled by our associate. In no way this represents the level of service we aim to provide for our guest. We assured you that your comments have been addressed to the concerned personnel and department for their immediate attentions and improvement. We value gusts’ feedback, positive and negative, allows us to improve our service an offering to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectation. To regain your faith to the Orchard Garden Hotel, I invite you to contact me directly in making arrangement for your next visit, and I will personally see to it that you will be pleased with you room accommodation and that your stay will be enjoyable. We look forward to having the opportunity to sever you again in the nearest future, and your experience of true Orchard Garden Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here on business. Rooms were perfectly decent and mine was pretty large. Fitness room somewhat odd - just a regular hotel room containing three cardio machines. However, I was thankful of this facility and used it a few times. Location fine, service good, just all a little non-descript.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent business trip to San Francisco. While we are happy to hear that your overall experience about the hotel was good, and that you have liked our decent and spacious guest room. Glad that the hotel location suits with your business plan and appreciate very much your comment about our service. Thanks again for the words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Horn, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We found the hotel to be calming and soothing after coming in from the hustle and bustle of SF. Our room was clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. Some comments we read stated that the size of the rooms were small, but we found it was quite enough for two people. Even though we were on a lower floor, overlooking a busy street, the room was very quiet. The location was very convenient for what we wanted to do. The fitness center was very clean and in good working order. Whatever we asked of the staff, e.g. help with our car, restaurant guidance, they were accommodating and friendly.

Green Features: The environmentally-friendly practices were easy to implement.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We have to agree with you 100% regarding the hotel location. Considering we are positioned at the center of this busy city, our guest could still be able to experience our quiet and relax atmosphere during their stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you have liked our tastefully appointed guest room; and enjoyed our work out facilities. Appreciate your kind words about our staff, will share your feedback with the team here. Thanks again for the patronage. We look forward to seeing you back to the Orchard Garden Hotel soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A pretty, comfortable place with very accommodating staff. Well located if there is such a thing in San Francisco. Rooms were small but nice, bathrooms clean beds comfortable. Glad we were there. Glad we found it.

Green Features: A totally "green" hotel. Worked very well.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! A big thank you for choosing to give the Orchard Garden Hotel a shot! There are many a lot of hotels to choose from in San Francisco, so that means a lot….We are thrilled to hear we have met and possibly exceeded your expectations. We sincerely hope having the opportunity to see you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#20 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 2006, The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing state-of-the-art amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! Built to the national standards of green building developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the hotel is also California's debut of a guest room key card energy control system, which reduces an overall of 20% energy consumption. The Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. Whether you are at our Roots restaurant eating locally sourced foods or relaxing on our rooftop garden, you will be at ease with us. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.