We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Orchard Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Orchard Garden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Location and Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed 5 days at this great Hotel, next to Chinatown entrance/gate. Across from upscale shopping.A few blocks from Union Square, By Trolley and Cable Cars. Clean, perfect bed (pillows so so). Free WiFi and computer and printer fridge, alarm clock. Great restaurants nearby. Desk staff very helpful....seem to enjoy their jobs.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for front south view, West/East side views are all good. Ice only on certain fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review, we are thrilled to read you have enjoyed your stay. Good to see the property and amenities were to your liking and you got to do some sightseeing and shopping. So many times I witness guests do so much shopping they need to purchase another suitcase, just to get everything back home.
All of us here sincerely enjoy hospitality, I feel very fortunate to work with such an enthusiastic team. We hope you visit us again for your next San Francisco adventure.
Regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    611
    315
    57
    19
    10
See reviews for
201
423
78
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really pleased with the location and quality of the rooms. Staff very helpful, all made for a great stay. Would strongly recoomend this Hotel to people who want a good central location with easy access to Chinatown, Union Square and quality restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the very kind review. I could not agree more about the location. It is very central, with lots of things to do just outside the door and many more sites easily accessible. All of us here are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our housekeeping and maintenance team works diligently to ensure rooms are in the best of shape and that appliances are in working order. The front office team thoroughly enjoys sharing their knowledge of San Francisco and making sure our guests have a quality time.
Thanks again.
Cheers
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tividale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived here for a seven night stay late on the Saturday during a holiday weekend, so we spent the first night of our stay in a room which was just a bit too small for our needs. However, a chat with the charming front desk staff the following morning saw us moved to a larger room without any problems. The room was away from any street noise at the back/side of the building and was light and airy. The bed was super comfy and the housekeeping was immaculate. This area of town is mostly focused on business, so as leisure travellers we found it quiet during the holiday weekend, but it was close enough to walk or take public transport to other parts of the city which were more tourist centred. We paid more for this hotel than we would usually expect in any other city, but it was comparable in price to the other options we considered in San Francisco so maybe this was due to the holidays and the America's Cup events.

Room Tip: Our replacement room was a number 05 and was airy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for choosing to stay at the Orchard Garden Hotel for your 7 day getaway. I am very pleased to read that the front office team was able to assist you in finding another room more suitable to your needs. We truly enjoy enhancing our guest’s experience and making sure they get the most out of their stay. Comfort is an essential element of vacationing, especially when most of the day is spent touring and seeing the sites. Hopefully you got to see some of the Americas Cup races and watch the U.S. come from behind to win the “Auld Mug”. I had not followed any sail boat racing in the past but I found it be very exciting the way the catamarans zipped across the bay.
We hope to see you again the next time you decide to visit San Francisco.
Kind regards,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We started our recent holiday with 2 nights at the Orchard Garden Hotel and then on our return to San Francisco at the end of our holiday we spent 2 nights at the Orchard Hotel.

The hotels are quite different but I would highly recommend either of them. The Orchard Garden’s décor and bedrooms are more contemporary than its sister hotel which I preferred but whilst we were given a warm welcome by both hotels, the Orchard Hotel’s staff were more proactively friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Both hotels are situated on Bush Street, which gives them a good location to travel around San Francisco from, however they are some way from Fisherman’s Wharf and we used public transport (bus/cable car) to get to that area.

We only had breakfast at the Orchard Garden Hotel and that was extremely enjoyable, so much so that we ate there both mornings, which was not our original intention.

Before booking hotels in San Francisco I did a lot of research on other hotels and their rates and now having stayed at these hotels I can say that I am pleased that we choose the ones we did. They are reasonably priced (for San Francisco), with an excellent level of customer service. The room we had at both hotels (Orchard Garden – Superior Room with King bed, Street view and Garden Hotel - Deluxe Room – 1 King Bed) were spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable. At both hotels I requested a quiet room on a high floor which I was allocated.

As I have already said, I would highly recommend both the Orchard Garden Hotel and the Orchard Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for the stellar review. We are happy to hear you had the opportunity to experience both of our properties. I get to work at both locations as well and could not tell you which I prefer because I enjoy them equally. The breakfast at each property is nearly identical, my favorite is the Brioche French Toast; it is delightful. All of us here hope you enjoyed the rest of your California excursion and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Orchard Garden hotel is a comfortable and well positioned hotel for visiting San Francisco. The hotel is located on Bush Street which has that ‘San Francisco’ vibe, on the edge of the financial district, next to the China Town gateway and walking distance from Union Square, the Cable Cars and Market Street.

First Impressions are good and the hotel has a nice kerb side appeal and a welcoming lobby. Reception is efficient and public areas were clean and well maintained. Rooms are a good size and well quipped and everything was spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds. We had a standard room which was at the rear of the hotel. Our friends who we were travelling with had a deluxe city view room which faced Bush Street and had a sofa. Other than that they were identical. Due to its downtown location I don’t think there are any rooms with far reaching city views.

The hotel and a restaurant with a bar but we didn’t use it. It didn’t look anything special and there are loads of place for breakfast, coffee and dinner within a short walk mainly towards Union Square. There is also a small gym in the basement, but I didn’t use that either.

It worked perfectly for us as a comfortable base from which to enjoy our three days in San Francisco and by what I remember it was excellent value.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying a little bit extra for a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review and for sharing your experience. I am happy to read the hotel played the role as a good home base for you during your San Francisco adventure. It looks like you were able to check off everything off the to-do list.
All of us here are thrilled you enjoyed stay. Thank you for commending us on our efforts. Our Housekeeping team works diligently to guarantee public areas and rooms are spotless. The Maintenance crew inspects thoroughly to ensure everything is in working order.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 5 nights on the 10th floor we had a lovely room spotless a very comfy bd with quality bed linen and a beautiful bathroom . The staff were all very pleasant and helpful iwould definately stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review and for choosing to stay with us for your 5 day San Francisco vacation. I am delighted to read that the hotel and location were to your liking. Our housekeeping team works thoroughly to ensure rooms are spotless and we at the front desk are always happy to assist with recommendations. We can't wait for your next trip out to the city.
Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden
Address: 466 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.